Investment licences
This register holds 768 investment licences from the lists of the National Investment Commission and the Baghdad Investment Commission. For each licence it gives the project, the licensee, the place, the body that holds the land, the stated cost and how far the work has gone, as the licensing body recorded them. The stated cost of these licences is about $79.6 billion. That figure is what the licensees declared, not money that was spent.
National Investment Commission
By sector
- Commerce76
- Industry59
- Services50
- Housing42
- Sport and leisure34
- Tourism25
- Energy24
- Agriculture23
- Health23
- Education14
- Transport9
- Telecommunications8
By the state of the project in the list
- Not reported104
- Completed81
- New licence68
- Contract not signed48
- Under way38
- Withdrawn36
- Not started12
By province
- Babil90
- Basra84
- Baghdad66
- Najaf40
- Qadisiyah34
- Dhi Qar19
- Diyala10
- Several provinces7
- Maysan7
- Kirkuk5
Licences by year of grant
Licensees with more than one licence
- دايكو العالمية القابضة المحدودة (8)
- شركة نبع زمزم الدولية المحدودة (6)
- أمير حسن عبد عون (4)
- شركة البشرى العالمية للمقاولات العامة المحدودة (4)
- هياف ياسين عبد النبي (4)
- علاوي حسن جبر (3)
- شركة النور الثاقب للمقاولات العامة المحدودة (3)
- شركة أديم الأرض للمقاولات والتجارة العامة (2)
- سلام علي شنان (2)
- صادق عباس محيبس (2)
- شركة الاتحاد للصناعات الغذائية المحدودة (2)
- شركة غلفتينر المحدودة (2)
- شركة نواة لإدارة الموانئ محدودة المسؤولية (2)
- Himalayas Enterprises (2)
- توفيق مهدي ماجد (2)
- شركة السنايا للمقاولات العامة المحدودة (2)
- عبد الرحمن يوسف عودة (2)
- حيدر علي عبيس (2)
- احمد مهدي مطر (2)
- شركة كار الكتريكال باور برودكشين تريدينغ م.م.ح (2)
- احمد علوان حميد (2)
- جواد سلمان حسين (2)
- أمال عبد المهدي كاظم (2)
- شركة وجه القمر للمقاولات (2)
What was found about the licensees
Among the licences whose research has begun, 12 have a licensee whose legal status is something other than “not charged”, or for whom a published source records a link to a politician, a party, an official or an armed group. For the rest, no charge, judgment, sanction or official finding has been found so far. Where the search is not complete, the entry says so. The button “With a finding or a stated link” below limits the table to these licences.
| Licensee | Project | Sector | Province and holder of the land | Stated cost | State of the project | Legal status |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Al-Bushra International General Contracting Company Ltd شركة البشرى العالمية للمقاولات العامة المحدودة | Sumer sports and recreation complex 364/2020 19 May 2020 | Sport and leisure | Qadisiyah | $1.2 million converted from dinars | Not reported | Not charged as of the date of writing Search not complete |
| Al-Bushra International General Contracting Company Ltd شركة البشرى العالمية للمقاولات العامة المحدودة | Al-Uruba sports and recreation complex 365/2020 17 May 2020 | Sport and leisure | Qadisiyah | $1.3 million converted from dinars | Not reported | Not charged as of the date of writing Search not complete |
| Al-Bushra International General Contracting Company Ltd شركة البشرى العالمية للمقاولات العامة المحدودة | Future Ramadi rest station, descending direction 374/2020 28 June 2020 | Services | Anbar | $5.6 million | Not reported | Not charged as of the date of writing Search not complete |
| Al-Bushra International General Contracting Company Ltd شركة البشرى العالمية للمقاولات العامة المحدودة | Al-Muhammadiyat rest station at 162 km, ascending direction 375/2020 28 June 2020 | Services | Anbar | $5.7 million | Not reported | Not charged as of the date of writing Search not complete |