Skip to content
Accountability

The watchdogs

Iraq has bodies whose job is to uncover corruption: the Federal Integrity Commission, which investigates cases; the Federal Board of Supreme Audit, which audits the state's accounts; and parliament's committees. This page shows what they found, with their figures and reports, and how much money has been recovered.

The Federal Integrity Commission

Figures as reported for each year. The source of each row is linked.
YearCriminal casesAccusedAccused of ministerial rankConvicted of ministerial rankAccused, director-general or aboveConvicted, director-general or aboveConvictedSource
202531,355810(not final)370 final judgmentsTier D Press report of the annual report Original
202436,50520,299446338261,384Tier D Press report of the annual report Original
202327,17014,08455350Tier D Press report of the annual report Original
202221,070341,088Tier D Press report of the annual report Original
202111,60554142232Tier D Press report of the annual report Original
202013,4828,89163444929854Tier D Press report of the annual report Original
201913,88610,143504480451,231Tier D Press report of the annual report OriginalTier D Press report of the annual report Original
201812,3989,32831438541Tier C Submission by a third party quoting the Commission Original
201611,825Tier D Press report of the annual report Original
201513,015Tier D Press report of the annual report Original
20111,661Tier D Press report of the annual report Original
20083,02797Tier A Annual report Original
20061Tier A Annual report OriginalTier A US State Department report Original
20051Tier A US State Department report Original
Source: Federal Integrity Commission annual reports, and press and official reports of them. Each row links to its source.

The Federal Board of Supreme Audit

  • The Trade Bank of Iraq, a state bank, deposited $5.44 billion in 2019, $11.80 billion in 2020, and $12.26 billion in 2021 abroad through a go-between company with only $5 million of capital, without the approval that a Central Bank letter required (the Board's report No. 5913 of 2 March 2025, in its annual report). Tier A Original
  • The Central Bank's statements show 27 accounts held for the Finance Ministry in 2019, but the state's final accounts for that year show only 9. Among the missing accounts are the account for oil-export deposits and the tax-deposit accounts (the Board's report on the final accounts for 2019). Tier A Original
  • In August 2021 the Board stopped checking refunds from the tax-deposit accounts, after parliament's finance committee proposed it. The first cheque in the tax-deposit case was cashed on 9 September 2021 (the Board's own statement; press investigations). Tier C Original Original
  • An audit of the cash dollars sold to travellers in 2023 found 151,940 more recorded journeys than border crossings. At the traveller's allowance of $4,000 this is about $608 million (our arithmetic). The audit is known from a press account of its documents. Tier D Original

The reports

What the Board and parliamentary committees found, report by report, with the evidence tier of each line and a link to it.
  1. 2026Oil revenue and the oil marketing companyTier D
    IEITI non-response to the Board of Supreme Audit audit queries (Oil Ministry internal-control memo, Mar to Apr 2026)

    Documents obtained by Al-Aalem (11 Jul 2026) show that the Oil Ministry's internal-control department (memo of 31 Mar 2026) found the Iraq EITI secretariat had not answered the Board of Supreme Audit queries. The IEITI executive director had claimed it was not subject to the Board of Supreme Audit audit, contrary to Diwani Order 86 of 2024. The department recommended an audit team and suspending IEITI funding, and the minister approved this on 6 Apr 2026. IEITI replied (19 Jul 2026) that its final accounts are subject to the Board of Supreme Audit audit and had been referred to the Board of Supreme Audit. This is not a Board of Supreme Audit finding: it concerns the Board of Supreme Audit's audit access to the EITI body.

  2. 2026Other mattersTier C
    Board of Supreme Audit deputy head lists past audit findings, incl. North Oil Company (Jul 2026)

    The Board of Supreme Audit deputy head Qaisar Ghazi said in an interview (per Al-Aalem, 28 Jul 2026) that the Board of Supreme Audit had issued audit reports on large files: weak revenue collection at the Electricity Ministry, stalled Baghdad projects, suspected financial irregularities in Salahuddin, encroachment on state-owned property, and North Oil Company's failure to respond to the Board of Supreme Audit reports on spending of about IQD 1.3 trillion. He said these got little attention in parliament. Report years not specified.

  3. 2025The Central Bank and the dollar saleTier A
    Central Bank did not answer the Board of Supreme Audit report No. 9373 (10 Apr 2025) on the Central Bank's results of work (the Board of Supreme Audit list of unanswered reports, Mar 2026)

    Annex Table 1 of the Board of Supreme Audit 2025 annual report lists reports whose audited bodies had not answered by 6/3/2026. It includes the Central Bank's 'results of work' report No. 9373 of 10/4/2025. The annual report does not summarise that report's content. Under Art. 2/4 of the Board of Supreme Audit law, failing to answer the Board of Supreme Audit reports is itself a financial violation. The annual report contains no section on the currency window or platform: the only 'auction' references concern treasury-bill auctions in the public-debt tables. The Board of Supreme Audit issued 42 reports on the Central Bank in 2025.

  4. 2025The Trade Bank of Iraq and state banksTier C
    Board of Supreme Audit Annual Report 2025: IQD 205 billion embezzlement by bank staff, as raised by an MP (bank later identified)

    MP Haider al-Mutairi said (Aug 2026, per Alsumaria) that the Board of Supreme Audit 2025 annual report recorded what he described as embezzlement by employees of their own bank of up to IQD 205 billion, and failure to recover debts of about IQD 37 billion; he said he would write to the Integrity Commission. Alsumaria's headline asked which bank it was. The report itself answers this: the state-owned Agricultural Cooperative Bank, Maysan branch 736. These are audit findings, not court rulings.

  5. 2025The Trade Bank of Iraq and state banksTier A
    Board of Supreme Audit inspections of Rasheed Bank branches (2025 annual report): IQD 4 billion investment loan with IQD 750 million repaid; IQD 5.3 billion owed by 693 defaulters

    A branch lent IQD 4 billion to an investor against three mortgaged properties. Only IQD 750 million was repaid, and the branch neither sued nor enforced the mortgages. It also took no legal action on unpaid instalments of small-project loans (IQD 489.6 million) and car loans (IQD 744.6 million). Overdue debts of IQD 695.4 million had not been pursued, and 693 defaulting borrowers owed about IQD 5.26 billion. The Board of Supreme Audit recommended recovery under the Government Debt Collection Law. Branch-level collection failures; no fraud finding.

  6. 2025Oil revenue and the oil marketing companyTier A
    Board of Supreme Audit Annual Report 2025: ship-to-ship transfers in Iraqi waters (Taj al-Bahr contract, SOMO, ports)

    The Board of Supreme Audit Second Region Audit Directorate letter No. 3476 of 4/2/2025 concerned smuggling of crude and fuel oil through illegal sales and loading in territorial waters at the al-Mikhtaf area, run by Taj al-Bahr. The General Company for Ports of Iraq signed contract No. 21/1032 on 26/5/2019 for STS handling, jointly operated for 12 years, without coordinating with SOMO. The Oil Ministry (letter W/407 of 9/11/2020) said STS "contributes to smuggling". The ports company applied no contractual penalties, although the contractor never installed the required navigation-control devices. It never asked the navy for security. It gave the Board of Supreme Audit neither the location nor the quantities of STS operations. Taj al-Bahr worked with the tanker La Rosa (IMO 9159660), which Kpler/SeaWeb showed selling fuel oil from Khor al-Zubair although not on SOMO loading lists; per the ministry that fuel oil was smuggled. The contract was ended on 11/11/2020, and the Board of Supreme Audit got no reasons. The AIS tracking system was out of service. The certificate of origin (No. 10399, 13/8/2020) for a fuel-oil cargo on the Proud Nadia was not genuine; Taj al-Bahr was the ship's agent.

  7. 2025Oil revenue and the oil marketing companyTier A
    Board of Supreme Audit report No. 30983 (26 Nov 2025) on the Iraq-Lebanon fuel-oil agreement (SOMO contracts)

    The Board of Supreme Audit audited the fuel-oil sale agreement of 23/7/2021, signed by Iraq's Finance Minister and Lebanon's Energy Minister (cabinet decision 417/2021), and the SOMO contracts implementing it. At Banque du Liban, the Central Bank kept a Lebanese-pound account alongside the USD account, contrary to the agreement, which allowed a USD account only. The agreement has no late-payment penalty or interest clause. Lebanon paid late or not at all: part of the overdue amount was received after its due date, and the rest had not been received when the report was written, some over 365 days late. The Board of Supreme Audit recommended penalty clauses in such agreements. The report is in the Oil Ministry section of the 2025 annual report.

  8. 2025Oil revenue and the oil marketing companyTier A
    Board of Supreme Audit report No. 17545 (10 Jul 2025) on SOMO fuel-oil and naphtha export contracts with Venus (Lebanon/Syria swap files)

    The Board of Supreme Audit audited two SOMO export contracts with the Iraqi company Venus, fuel oil MP/AGS/2024/XS/21 and naphtha MP/N/2024/XS/16, made to close the barter files with Lebanon and Syria, and recommended an investigation. Findings: Venus ignored SOMO requests to reconcile quantities and penalties, and SOMO took no legal action. Venus paid IQD 39.6 billion in cash into SOMO's dinar account at the Trade Bank of Iraq for the last four fuel-oil cargoes, instead of an incoming USD transfer from abroad as the USD-priced contract required. SOMO said Venus sold the product abroad but was paid inside Iraq in dinars, and that a settlement followed a Prime Minister-office instruction of 22/12/2024. The Board of Supreme Audit said this indicates Venus profited from the gap between the market and official dollar rates.

  9. 2025Oil revenue and the oil marketing companyTier A
    Board of Supreme Audit 2025 annual report, Table 31: state oil companies not paying the treasury share of profits (Basra Oil IQD 2.0 trillion; South Refineries IQD 1.47 trillion)

    Annex Table 31 of the Board of Supreme Audit 2025 annual report lists state companies that did not pay the treasury its share of their profits. Oil Ministry companies dominate: Basra Oil Company (report No. 24546 of 22/9/2025, the Board of Supreme Audit asked for an investigation), South Refineries Company (No. 29204 of 5/11/2025) and Dhi Qar Oil Company (No. 28361 of 28/10/2025). The Board of Supreme Audit president Ammar Subhi al-Mashhadani put total unpaid treasury share across the state at about IQD 24 trillion.

  10. 2025Oil revenue and the oil marketing companyTier C
    Deputy head of the Board of Supreme Audit, Qaisar Ghazi: the Board reported violations linked to the detained deputy oil minister Adnan al-Jumaili, and the Oil Ministry did not respond (July 2026)

    On 27 July 2026 the deputy head of the Board of Supreme Audit, Qaisar Ghazi, said, as reported by 964media, that the violations linked to Adnan al-Jumaili, the detained deputy oil minister for refining, began in 2025. He said the Board had formally informed the Oil Ministry of the violations and that the ministry did not respond as audit rules require. He cited spending of IQD 1.3 trillion by the North Oil Company in 2024, and said the company had opened a bank branch inside its headquarters. He said the Board's 2026 annual report will cover the file in detail. Adnan al-Jumaili is detained and under investigation. He has not been convicted. In the same article a member of parliament, Ahmed al-Musawi, alleged that more than IQD 11 trillion had been taken. That figure is his allegation.

  11. 2025The state's final accountsTier C
    Board of Supreme Audit president Ammar Subhi al-Mashhadani: IQD 100 trillion of advances unsettled since 2004; IQD 24 trillion unpaid treasury share (Jul 2026)

    In a TV interview (23 Jul 2026, per 964media) on the Board of Supreme Audit 2025 annual report, the Board of Supreme Audit president said unsettled advances (salaf) accumulated since 2004 total IQD 100 trillion. That matches the report's final-account tables: IQD 100.9 trillion at end-2017 and IQD 101.6 trillion at end-2019. He also cited about IQD 24 trillion of unpaid treasury share of state-company profits, about IQD 4 trillion of uncollected damages (tadmin), and an Electricity Ministry plant-operation contract costing IQD 2 trillion. He said the Board of Supreme Audit covers about 4,500 entities with about 3,600 staff.

  12. 2025The Board's annual reportTier C
    Board of Supreme Audit 2025 report to parliament on its contribution to deterring and combating corruption (debated 21 Jul 2026)

    Parliament debated the Board of Supreme Audit 2025 report on its anti-corruption contribution on 21 Jul 2026 with the Board of Supreme Audit president Ammar Subhi present. MP Ahlam al-Kakaei (per Alsumaria) called it weak, without figures, and said it noted a flaw in some provinces relating to the oil file but did not address corruption files. Al-Aalem (28 Jul 2026) reported that the Board of Supreme Audit deputy head Qaisar Ghazi said the session became an unlawful interrogation. No figures from the report itself.

  13. 2025The Board's annual reportTier A
    Board of Supreme Audit Annual Report 2025 (published July 2026; delivered to Supreme Judicial Council Aug 2026)

    Published by the Board of Supreme Audit on 22 Jul 2026; handed to Supreme Judicial Council head Faiq Zaidan on 10 Aug 2026 per Supreme Judicial Council media/Al-Aalem). The Board of Supreme Audit says it issued 7,950 reports in 2025, of which 42 concerned the Central Bank, 480 the Ministry of Finance and 719 the Ministry of Oil. Contents: letters to the Supreme Judicial Council and Integrity Commission (including the ship-to-ship smuggling letter); the Board of Supreme Audit reports on the final accounts of the Republic of Iraq for 2017, 2018 and 2019, all issued in 2025; budget-law duties (including the Kurdistan Region revenue audits); legality-audit findings by ministry, among them the Trade Bank of Iraq, Rafidain, Rasheed, the Agricultural Cooperative and Real Estate banks, the tax commission and SOMO; annex tables such as unanswered reports and unpaid treasury share.

  14. 2025The Board's annual reportTier D
    Rudaw analysis of the Board of Supreme Audit 2025 annual report: 530 impropriety cases worth IQD 39 trillion, 70% of the value in the Oil Ministry

    Rudaw's own tally of the 713-page Board of Supreme Audit 2025 report (Jul 2026, Arabic and English): 530 cases of financial impropriety worth IQD 39 trillion (about $29.7 billion). The Oil Ministry accounts for 42 cases worth IQD 27.5 trillion (70% of the value), Electricity for 20 cases (IQD 5.7 trillion) and Wasit for 49 cases (IQD 2.1 trillion). Of the 530, 239 concern contracting and procurement, and only three are explicitly classed as corruption or bribery. Speaker Haibat al-Halbousi, by contrast, complained that the report listed only three Oil Ministry violations.

  15. 2024The tax-deposit caseTier A
    Board of Supreme Audit report No. 12216 (8 May 2025): tax commission Babil branch receiving tax deposits without taxpayer names (2024 accounts)

    The Board of Supreme Audit found that the tax commission's Babil branch received tax-deposit monies into its current account as lump sums without taxpayers' names, because bank notices carried no names. The Board of Supreme Audit said this risks losing taxpayers' rights and makes it impossible to clear their liabilities. The branch had prepared no bank reconciliation (Form 44), and said none existed since the accounts unit started on 9/5/2013. The report gives no amount.

  16. 2024Oil revenue and the oil marketing companyTier A
    Board of Supreme Audit report No. 27674 (22 Oct 2025) on SOMO heavy-fuel-oil contract MP/HFO/2024/XS/19 with Majan

    The Board of Supreme Audit found SOMO's bid committee recommended awarding a heavy-fuel-oil export tender to Majan Oil Products Transport Co. The company is not an oil-trading specialist and had been dormant with no revenue from 2022 to 2023. Per its managing director it held no bank accounts and dealt in cash. SOMO signed without the required tax-clearance, social-security and similar-work documents or a 5% performance bond. SOMO reversed its 8/8/2024 cancellation after accepting a certified Bank of Babylon cheque. The Trade Bank of Iraq returned the cheque as unreadable, and on 19/8/2024 Majan withdrew the money. Report 2025.

  17. 2024The Board's annual reportTier D
    Board of Supreme Audit annual report on audit results for FY2024 (published in the official gazette, May 2025)

    Crisis-management expert Ali Jabbar (quoted by Al-Aalem, 11 Aug 2026) says the Board of Supreme Audit report on FY2024 audit results, published in Al-Waqa'i al-Iraqiya in May 2025, runs to over 7,950 pages and contains over 27,000 audit reports. He says audited bodies have not completed their responses. His sample of 15 files totals over IQD 95 trillion: uncollected electricity revenue, stalled Baghdad projects, undisclosed advances and letters of credit at a chemical company, Grand Faw port design damages, uncollected tax from oil licensing-round companies, unrecovered loans to state bodies, companies and individuals, and stalled balances not returned to the treasury. He also cites 20,000+ encroached state properties and the Board of Supreme Audit staffing: about 2,100 staff for 4,700+ main spending units. The USD conversion is his. Several figures match those given by the Board of Supreme Audit deputy head Qaisar Ghazi. We have not obtained the report itself. This account comes from Al-Aalem al-Jadeed.

  18. 2023The Central Bank and the dollar saleTier D
    Board of Supreme Audit audit of Central Bank cash-dollar sales to travellers (Feb to Sep 2023)

    The Board of Supreme Audit audit documents obtained by Al-Aalem al-Jadeed (Apr 2024). The Board of Supreme Audit compared the Central Bank e-platform with border data for 1 Feb-8 Jul 2023: the platform recorded 151,940 more travellers than actually crossed. The Board of Supreme Audit said the matching excess cash of about $607.76 million "indicates" dollars were sold at the official rate without the buyers travelling. It found invalid passport-number entries, and that some Central Bank staff bought travel dollars twice a month, inside and outside the platform. It said sales to Central Bank staff were left out of the window database, so the announced cash-sales total is inaccurate. The Central Bank gave the Board of Supreme Audit only total fines, and the passport and intelligence services gave totals, not names, so names could not be cross-checked. The headline word "embezzlement" is Al-Aalem's; the Board of Supreme Audit's wording is an indication of sales without verified travel.

  19. 2023The Trade Bank of Iraq and state banksTier A
    Board of Supreme Audit reports No. 2121 (22 Jan 2025) and No. 22184 (2 Aug 2025): IQD 205.6 billion embezzled by staff of the Agricultural Cooperative Bank, Maysan branch, never pursued

    The branch took no legal action over money embezzled by its own employees, which is booked in the overdue-debtors account at IQD 205,558,416,945 under Finance Ministry order No. 2207 (letter 27910 of 3/6/2019). A further IQD 37.27 billion of commercial, development and soft loans has been overdue for years with no action, and IQD 261.8 million of staff advances was unrecovered at 4/6/2023. The same IQD 205.6 billion item appears under the Board of Supreme Audit report on the bank's 2023 accounts (No. 2121). This is the bank behind the '205 billion' figure MP Haider al-Mutairi cited in Aug 2026. 'Embezzled' is the Board of Supreme Audit's description of the booked balance; no court ruling is cited, and the embezzlement itself dates from before the 2019 ministerial order. The Integrity Commission said on 13 Jul 2025 (per Rudaw Arabic) that it had arrested the branch's former manager over embezzlement and waste of about IQD 211.7 billion. She had already been sentenced in absentia under Art. 316 to 37 years in total, with 10 more cases pending. So criminal convictions exist while, per the Board of Supreme Audit, the booked debt has not been pursued. The two figures (IQD 205.6 billion the Board of Supreme Audit, IQD 211.7 billion Commission) differ slightly.

  20. 2023The Trade Bank of Iraq and state banksTier A
    Board of Supreme Audit report No. 644 (9 Jan 2025) on Rafidain Bank 2023 accounts and branch inspections: IQD 15 billion owed by borrowers who never paid, IQD 184 billion Bismayah loans poorly secured

    Rafidain took weak action against borrowers who never paid a single instalment (IQD 14.99 billion in total). Its Bismayah housing-project loans (IQD 183.7 billion, 4,506 borrowers) were poorly secured: action against defaulters was late, borrowers had not pledged the flats to the bank, and the guarantor requirement had been dropped in 2017. A branch inspection (report No. 2556, Abu al-Khasib branch) found IQD 1.157 billion of damaged banknotes kept in the vault and never sent to the Central Bank, and 131 borrowers behind on IQD 463.9 million. Branch-level control failures, not allegations of theft.

  21. 2023 to 2025Oil revenue and the oil marketing companyTier A
    Board of Supreme Audit audits of Kurdistan Region oil and non-oil revenue under the budget law (2025 annual report)

    Under the 2023 to 2025 budget law (Art. 12), the Board of Supreme Audit must audit federal-Kurdistan Regional Government financial dues for 2004 to 2022 with the Kurdistan Regional Government audit board. It must also certify the Kurdistan natural-resources ministry's monthly data on crude shipped to the federal Oil Ministry (at least 400,000 barrels a day) and audit the non-oil revenue owed to the treasury. The Board of Supreme Audit says it issued 'many reports' on the Region's oil and non-oil revenue and expenses for 1/1/2023 to 31/3/2025, plus a quarter 2 of 2024 audit, but the annual report gives no amounts from them.

  22. 2023Oil revenue and the oil marketing companyTier C
    Board of Supreme Audit statement on steps against the Kurdistan Region after the Federal Supreme Court oil-and-gas ruling (Feb 2023)

    The Board of Supreme Audit statement (6 Feb 2023, per 964media and Shafaq). To enforce the Federal Supreme Court ruling of 15/2/2022, which annulled the Kurdistan Regional Government Oil and Gas Law of 2007 and obliged the Kurdistan Regional Government to let the Oil Ministry and the Board of Supreme Audit review all its oil contracts, the Board of Supreme Audit had formed a committee to audit Kurdistan Regional Government oil contracts (order No. 7017 of 30/3/2022). It had also written to the Cabinet secretariat (14/6/2022) and the Oil Ministry (26/7/2022) to obtain the contracts. No audit results or amounts are given.

  23. 2023The Board's annual reportTier C
    Board of Supreme Audit president Salah Nouri Khalaf: the Board of Supreme Audit issues 4,000 to 5,000 reports a year (Dec 2023)

    The Board of Supreme Audit president Salah Nouri Khalaf told Al-Sabah (relayed by non14, 11 Dec 2023) that the Board of Supreme Audit issues 4,000 to 5,000 reports a year on financial statements, results of work and contracts. Context for output figures: 7,950 reports in 2025 (the Board of Supreme Audit annual report); 27,000+ reports claimed for FY2024 by an expert quoted by Al-Aalem.

  24. 2022The tax-deposit caseTier C
    Board of Supreme Audit statement on the tax-deposits theft: it backed the Finance Committee proposal that the tax commission audit refunds (Oct 2022)

    The Board of Supreme Audit statement (20 Oct 2022, per Shafaq News). Parliament's Finance Committee letter No. 2121 of 13 Jul 2021, sent to the Finance Ministry with a copy to the Board of Supreme Audit, proposed that the General Commission for Taxes audit tax-deposit refunds itself and bear full legal responsibility. The Board of Supreme Audit put the proposal to the body that had tasked it (the Prime Minister's office) and supported it 'to confirm its commitment to its law'. Only on 4 Nov 2021 did the Finance Minister require his own approval before refunds (letter No. 3198). The Board of Supreme Audit's own statement thus confirms its step back from refund audits in mid-2021. The IQD 3.7 trillion ($2.5 billion) figure is the acting Finance Minister's.

  25. 2022Oil revenue and the oil marketing companyTier A
    Board of Supreme Audit report No. 25257 (29 Sep 2025) on Oil Pipelines Company 2022 statements: IQD 8.7 trillion owed by crude and product consumers booked without legal basis

    At 31/12/2022 the company's public-sector debtors account stood at IQD 9.88 trillion, of which IQD 8.68 trillion (88%) was amounts owed by state bodies that consume crude oil and oil products, for dues to the supplying companies. These were booked in the company's records with no legal basis, and a matching IQD 8.68 trillion 'public-sector suppliers' balance was likewise booked without supporting documents. This is an intra-state accounting problem: unpaid fuel and crude bills between state entities sitting in the wrong books. It is not a finding of theft. Rudaw's analysis (Jul 2026) described it as a IQD 9.8 trillion 'unaccounted' balance.

  26. 2022Other mattersTier C
    Board of Supreme Audit finding: manipulation in Maysan Oil Company expenditure (Nov 2022)

    The Board of Supreme Audit statement (15 Nov 2022, per Alsumaria): the Board of Supreme Audit detected "major manipulation" of about IQD 3.5 billion in Maysan Oil Company expenditure and referred the report to the judiciary.

  27. 2021The tax-deposit caseTier D
    Reported cabinet exemption of the Board of Supreme Audit audit of General Commission for Taxes accounts (2020 to 2021)

    Al-Aalem al-Jadeed (Oct 2022) reported that circulated documents showed parliament's previous Finance Committee recommending that the Kadhimi cabinet exempt the Board of Supreme Audit from auditing the tax commission's accounts, and that the cabinet quickly agreed. It linked this to the appointment of the tax director in 2020. The same article says the Karkh Integrity investigation court summoned a former Finance Committee member for intentional harm to public funds (Art. 340) for recommending that tax deposits be paid before oversight bodies finished their audits. We have not obtained the report itself. This account comes from Al-Aalem al-Jadeed.

  28. 2021The tax-deposit caseTier D
    Board of Supreme Audit removed from auditing tax-deposit refund requests weeks before the theft (Jul to Aug 2021)

    Middle East Eye (21 Nov 2022) reviewed the Finance Ministry's confidential investigative report and correspondence. It reports that Prime Minister Haider al-Abadi tasked the Board of Supreme Audit in 2017 with auditing refunds of tax and customs deposits. In July 2021 Finance Committee head Haitham al-Jubouri wrote to Finance Minister Ali Allawi proposing that the tax commission (the tax commission) do the audit and the Board of Supreme Audit be limited to its "basic tasks". On 27 July 2021 the Board of Supreme Audit head wrote to Prime Minister Kadhimi's office supporting the proposal and asking whether the Board of Supreme Audit should continue these audits. On 2 Aug 2021 the the tax commission director general ordered the new procedure, and Allawi agreed by end-August. The investigative report said this removal was one of the main reasons the thefts went undetected. AP (via The Independent) confirms the Board of Supreme Audit was removed weeks before the first cheques. Allawi said the Board of Supreme Audit scrutiny might not have stopped a theft that left no paper trail. Jubouri denies responsibility. The theft figures are from the Finance Ministry report, not the Board of Supreme Audit.

  29. 2021The state's final accountsTier C
    Board of Supreme Audit president on causes of delay in auditing final accounts (Dec 2021)

    The Board of Supreme Audit president Rafil Yassin Khudair said (Dec 2021, per Al-Aalem al-Jadeed) that final accounts were delayed because the Board of Supreme Audit receives data as paper records and documents, not electronically. Same article: Prime Minister adviser Mazhar Mohammed Salih said parliament must first vote on the 2013 and 2014 final accounts, which were prepared within the Board of Supreme Audit audit work, and then later years in sequence. No the Board of Supreme Audit figures given.

  30. 2019 to 2023The Trade Bank of Iraq and state banksTier A
    Board of Supreme Audit report No. 5913 (2 Mar 2025) on Trade Bank of Iraq investments 2019 to 2023: up to $12.3 billion a year placed abroad through an unapproved intermediary with $5 million capital

    The Trade Bank of Iraq used an intermediary company (third party) to manage investment abroad within its 'term deposits abroad' account without obtaining approval, contrary to a Central Bank letter of 26/6/2018. The Board of Supreme Audit found nothing to show the firm's soundness, no guarantees for the invested funds, and no defined commission mechanism, contrary to the Trade Bank of Iraq's own investment policy. It flagged high risk because the sums placed through the intermediary were far above its $5 million capital, while returns were low (interest of roughly 0.35 to 0.75% a year, the Board of Supreme Audit table). The intermediary is not named in the annual-report summary. Separately, the Trade Bank of Iraq had IQD 49.7 billion in long-term stakes (mainly Al-Nasik Islamic Bank, IQD 35.5 billion) made without feasibility studies and earning nothing except IQD 750 million in 2019. These are audit findings; the Board of Supreme Audit asked for an investigation.

  31. 2019The tax-deposit caseTier A
    Board of Supreme Audit final-account 2019 report: tax-deposit (amanat al-dara'ib) balances and tax-deposit accounts at the Central Bank

    The same the Board of Supreme Audit report (No. 32981) gives the balance of the "tax deposits" account in the 2019 final account, current and investment budgets, rising from 2018. It shows the Central Bank holding Finance Ministry accounts for dinar tax deposits (70019), refunded tax deposits (30099 and 70600) and dollar tax deposits (300319), which do not appear among the 9 accounts in the Finance Ministry final account. The Board of Supreme Audit recommended reconciling all Finance Ministry accounts at the Central Bank. This gives the pre-theft (end-2019) size of the tax-deposit balances later drawn down from 2021 to 2022; the Board of Supreme Audit does not link the two here.

  32. 2019The state's final accountsTier A
    Board of Supreme Audit report No. 32981 (17 Dec 2025) on the Final Account of the Republic of Iraq for 2019

    The Board of Supreme Audit (2025 annual report): Finance Ministry submitted the 2019 final account on 19/10/2023 and resubmitted it on 21/5/2025, against a legal deadline of 15 April of the following year. Nine abolished or frozen departments are still carried. There is again no report reconciling revenue and expenditure with deficit financing. Cash advances rose 7.5% despite repeated the Board of Supreme Audit recommendations. Public debt in the final account does not match the Public Debt Dept for domestic or external debt, and the Accounting Dept "lacks" debt data. Unsettled (non-Paris Club) debts are still booked at $40,902 million. Foreign-currency cash differs from the Central Bank balance letter. Deposits (amanat) keep rising, and a DFI deposits balance runs contrary to its nature. The Kurdistan Regional Government received no 2019 petrodollar dues because it sent no production statements. the 18 Central Bank-held Finance Ministry accounts missing from the ministry's list of 9 include account 300400 'oil export deposits', the four tax-deposit accounts, Kurdistan Regional Government non-oil revenue (70018), confiscated-funds accounts and a Chinese-agreement investment account at JP Morgan (300362). The Board of Supreme Audit recommended reconciling all Finance Ministry accounts held at the Central Bank.

  33. 2018Oil revenue and the oil marketing companyTier C
    Board of Supreme Audit letter No. 10494 (7 May 2019) on Iraqi Oil Tankers Company fuel-oil sales to Arab Maritime Petroleum Transport: discounts and price-formula changes (IQD 460 billion loss per MP)

    Oil & Energy Committee member Jamal al-Muhammadawi (press conference, 15 Jun 2019, per Alsumaria) quoted the Board of Supreme Audit letter No. 10494 of 7 May 2019, which answered his request for an audit. Per the MP, the Board of Supreme Audit established that the Iraqi Oil Tankers Company, under its partnership (from 1 Jul 2017) with the Arab Maritime Petroleum Transport Co., sold fuel oil exclusively to the Arab company without any auction. It granted discounts and changed the pricing formula, and an audit of 2018 sales showed the lowest price option was always chosen. The MP said the Board of Supreme Audit report established waste of about IQD 460 billion at exports of 600,000 t a month. We have not obtained the report itself. This account comes from Alsumaria.

  34. 2018The state's final accountsTier A
    Board of Supreme Audit report No. 30573 (23 Nov 2025) on the Final Account of the Republic of Iraq for 2018

    The Board of Supreme Audit noted that government units keep planning deficit budgets despite low execution. 2018 ended in an actual surplus, but the Board of Supreme Audit warned of the risk that the accumulated surplus would erode (2011 to 2018 table of planned deficits, actual revenue, expenditure and surplus/deficit). Revenue relied on oil. Finance Ministry has not tallied profitable public companies that have not paid the treasury share since 2003. The Board of Supreme Audit could not verify that 2017 media and telecom commission revenues were transferred to the treasury, as the data was not provided. It found overspending, spending with no allocation and low execution. The current accounts for financing keep swelling, with balances contrary to their accounting nature, which the Board of Supreme Audit says it flagged in earlier reports.

  35. 2017The Central Bank and the dollar saleTier C
    Board of Supreme Audit reports on Central Bank currency-sale violations shown to parliament Integrity Committee (2017)

    Talal al-Zobaie, chair of parliament's Integrity Committee, said after meeting the Board of Supreme Audit president (25 Oct 2017) that most the Board of Supreme Audit reports reviewed concerned the Defence Ministry, the religious endowments and "the Central Bank's working mechanisms and violations in currency sales". Reports not published; no figures given. We have not obtained the report itself. This account comes from Alsumaria.

  36. 2017The tax-deposit caseTier D
    Board of Supreme Audit 2017 audit (as cited in the parliamentary fact-finding report): over IQD 4.9 trillion of tax deposits had built up in one tax-commission account at Rafidain

    Middle East Eye (6 Mar 2023) reported the final report of parliament's fact-finding committee on the tax-deposits theft. Per that report, the Board of Supreme Audit had found more than IQD 4.9 trillion (about $4 billion) of tax deposits accumulated in a General Commission for Taxes account at Rafidain Bank's al-Ahrar branch. More than IQD 4 trillion was later moved from the old account to a new one controlled by a commission official, and the 2021 to 2022 cheques were drawn on it. This is the pre-theft size of the pool. We have not obtained the report itself. This account comes from Middle East Eye.

  37. 2017The state's final accountsTier A
    Board of Supreme Audit report No. 5944 (2 Mar 2025) on the Final Account of the Republic of Iraq for 2017

    The Board of Supreme Audit (in its 2025 annual report) found spending above revised 2017 allocations at section and chapter level, investment spending above project allocations, and spending on investment projects with no allocation at all. The final account left out the legally required report reconciling revenue and expenditure with deficit financing. The cash-advances (salaf) balance of current and investment budgets stayed "high" with no action to clear it (2011 to 2017 series given). IQD 23.8 billion of 2017 "advances" were, per the Finance Ministry Accounting Dept, Central Bank deductions for payment-system commissions booked as advances rather than expenses. Old suspended advance balances remained, including external-remittance advances. The Minister of Finance did not use the 2017 budget-law power (Art. 13-A) to write off pre-2017 advances after the Board of Supreme Audit audit. The Board of Supreme Audit also reproduced Finance Ministry figures: actual revenue, expenditure and deficit.

  38. 2015The Central Bank and the dollar saleTier C
    Customs deposits deducted from currency-auction purchases in 2015 (audited by the Board of Supreme Audit, per Customs)

    The General Customs Authority said (Oct 2022, per Al-Aalem) that there are no current "customs deposits" for individuals or companies. It said a 2015 cabinet letter imposed a 5% deduction on currency-auction purchases for only 40 days. The proceeds went partly to the treasury under Art. 26(1) of the Financial Management Law and partly back to owners from 2015 to 2020, and the authority said all of it was audited by the Board of Supreme Audit. This is the Customs Authority's claim. We have not obtained the report itself. This account comes from Al-Aalem al-Jadeed.

  39. 2014Other mattersTier C
    Board of Supreme Audit performance audit of Oil Ministry policy on refined-product imports (2014)

    The Board of Supreme Audit statement (Oct 2014, relayed by Al-Aalem al-Jadeed): a performance evaluation found imports covered 14% of domestic gas (LPG) and 38% of gasoline needs; no integrated refinery built in three decades; naphtha added to exported crude instead of being processed; low completion rates of refinery projects in the 2012 to 2013 investment budgets; failure to choose reputable firms instead of middlemen. Detailed report sent to the Oil Ministry.

  40. 2013The Central Bank and the dollar saleTier C
    Board of Supreme Audit president (as acting Central Bank governor) on auction oversight gaps (2013)

    Abdul Basit Turki, the Board of Supreme Audit president and acting Central Bank governor, said on Alsumaria TV (June 2013) that the problem diagnosed under former governor Sinan al-Shabibi was insufficient oversight: only three Central Bank staff monitored 33 banks and daily sales of $280 million; he said the Central Bank still had not fully controlled the validity of auction transactions and planned an electronic link with Customs and the Tax Commission. Statement made in his Central Bank capacity.

  41. 2012The Central Bank and the dollar saleTier C
    Board of Supreme Audit 2012 report on Central Bank currency-auction transactions (Jan to Aug 2012)

    Abdul Basit Turki (the Board of Supreme Audit president, named acting Central Bank governor on 16 Oct 2012) told Alsumaria that the Board of Supreme Audit report sent to parliament's Integrity Committee examined currency-auction transactions from 1 Jan to early Aug 2012, found cases of absent follow-up and monitoring of private banks, and expressed reservations about some auction transactions. We have not obtained the report itself. This account comes from Alsumaria.

  42. 2011The Trade Bank of Iraq and state banksTier D
    Joint Integrity Commission/the Board of Supreme Audit/Finance Ministry investigative committee on the Trade Bank of Iraq (2011)

    In February 2015 Al-Aalem al-Jadeed recalled that on 2 September 2011 the Prime Minister, Nouri al-Maliki, announced a joint investigative committee on the Trade Bank of Iraq. Its members came from the Integrity Commission, the Board of Supreme Audit and the Finance Ministry. The announcement followed the departure of the bank's head, Hussein al-Uzri, for Beirut in June 2011 after he was accused of corruption. The committee reported violations at the bank, and its report was referred to the judiciary. The article gives neither the findings nor any amounts.

  43. 2011The state's final accountsTier C
    The Board of Supreme Audit on status of federal final accounts 2010 to 2012 (Dec 2013)

    The Board of Supreme Audit president Abdul Basit Turki told Alsumaria (relayed by Al-Aalem, 7 Dec 2013) that the Board of Supreme Audit had finished auditing the 2010 final accounts and sent them to the Council of Ministers with a copy to parliament. The 2011 accounts were in their final stage, delayed by advances (salaf) paid to employees without budget cover or allocation. The 2012 accounts had been received in preliminary form and were under audit. No amounts given.

Source: Tier A: we hold the report itself. Tier C: a statement by an official or a member of parliament. Tier D: a press account of a report we have not obtained.

Anyone named here may send a reply with documents. It will be published next to the record. Write to the publisher through the address on the About page.

Money recovered

What official bodies said they recovered, in dollars, with the source of each figure.
YearRecoveredFromDetailsSource
2026$13 millionFranceIraq Asset Recovery Fund recovered USD 13m of Iraqi funds frozen and seized in French banks under judicial decisions; transferred in full to Finance Ministry accounts in coordination with the Arab Bank (Switzerland); followed PM's visit to FranceOriginal
2026$347.8 millionCUMULATIVE amounts recovered by the Iraq Asset Recovery Fund 'to date' (USD component); total all currencies ~USD 379,344,897; ~39 judicial-assistance (MLA) requests organised against non-cooperating holdersOriginal
2026$379.3 millionCUMULATIVE total recovered by the Iraq Asset Recovery Fund, all currencies converted (~USD 379.3m)Original
2026$3 millionLebanonZina (Zeina) Saud / Baghdad Municipality embezzlement (~IQD 17bn): USD 3,014,457 recovered after enforcement of a Lebanese court ruling, deposited to the Iraqi embassy account at Rafidain Bank Beirut branch; transfer of a Beirut apartment under way; earlier USD 9,384,499 recovered from five Lebanese banksOriginal
2026$11 millionIraq2026 Dawn Assault campaign, Adnan al-Jumaili (deputy oil minister for refining) probe: USD 11m seized in addition to >IQD 98bnOriginal
2025$17.4 millionIntegrity Commission: USD 17,438,620 of corruption proceeds recovered 'in the past period' through coordination with judicial/oversight bodies and competent international bodies (GlobE network, goAML window, ICASS, INTERPOL databases)Original
2025$17 millionIntegrity Commission announced recovery of more than USD 17m of corruption proceeds in 2025 after its Recovery Department expanded cooperation with the global operational network of law-enforcement authorities (GlobE), goAML window, I-CASS, direct INTERPOL database accessOriginal
2025$150 millionAsset Recovery Fund (since 2012) 'recently' recovered USD 150m from a former-regime figure who was a director-general in the Intelligence Service, spread across properties, farms, yachts and othersOriginal
2025$17.4 millionKuwait; Switzerland; RussiaUNDP Asset Recovery Report: Integrity Commission announced recovery of >USD 17.4m during 2025 via international cooperation (INTERPOL, goAML, ICASS) and return of >50 accused persons; successful cases cited with Kuwait, Switzerland and the Russian FederationOriginal
2024$1.9 millionIraqIraq Asset Recovery Fund returned USD 1,918,486 (IQD 2,267,645,000) from a dormant account of the General Company for Railways (plan projects) at Rafidain Bank to the Finance MinistryOriginal
2023$70.6 millionSwitzerlandUSD 70,610,843 recovered from a Swiss bank, held by the former-regime Intelligence Service director of relations (deceased abroad); announced at press conference on the achievements of the Iraq Asset Recovery FundOriginal
2023$26 millionIraqAl-Huda company for religious tourism (former Intelligence Service): USD 26m that had been hidden in Rasheed BankOriginal
2023$10 millionIraq'Where did you get this?' illicit-enrichment campaign: >USD 10m and >IQD 100bn recovered (see IQD row)Original
2023$80 millionPM's office announced authorities recovered 'more than USD 80m' of stolen funds and returned them to the treasury (country not stated in this report)Original
2023$80 millionCouncil of Ministers: competent authorities recovered more than USD 80m of stolen funds and returned them to the treasury, as part of the government programme to recover Iraq's money smuggled abroadOriginal
2023$20.4 millionKuwaitUSD 20,437,157 of Iraqi embassy funds (1990, after relations were cut) held/seized at the National Bank of Kuwait recovered in full and returned to the treasury via the CBI, following a tip to the Iraq Asset Recovery Fund; talks with a Swiss law firm to locate Iraqi money, gold and bullion in SwitzerlandOriginal
2023$70.5 millionSwitzerland70.5m USD recovered from a Swiss bank: 'second portfolio' of the former director of relations of the (pre-2003) Intelligence Service; recovered by the asset recovery fund (صندوق استرداد المال العام) per Integrity Commission chair Haidar HanounOriginal
2023$26 millionIraq26m USD of Al-Huda company for religious tourism (شركة الهدى للسياحة الدينية; founded 2000, transported Iranian pilgrims; said to belong to the former Intelligence Service); per Baghdad Today the money had been hidden in Rasheed BankOriginal
2022$200 millionIraq Asset Recovery Fund: about USD 200m returned from abroad, ~8% of frozen funds; 'recently' >USD 185m recovered from three countries and EUR 11m from SpainOriginal
2022$185 millionIraq Asset Recovery Fund: >USD 185m recovered from three (unnamed) countries in the recent periodOriginal
2022$9.4 millionLebanonZeina Saud (convicted ex-Baghdad Municipality employee, life sentence): First President of Beirut Court of Appeal granted exequatur and ordered USD 9,384,499 plus an apartment in Ras Beirut handed to the Iraqi government; funds had been in five Lebanese banks under aliases; file worked since 2013 via MLA requestOriginal
2021$24 millionGermanyForeign Ministry: more than USD 24m of frozen Iraqi funds recovered from Germany 'earlier'; moves under way to recover large Iraqi funds frozen for years in Swiss banks (Swiss FM visit, MoU signed 3 Apr 2021)Original
2020$1.4 billionCUMULATIVE to end-2020: funds recovered from inside and outside Iraq + court-ordered + seized (USD component); plus 14 properties and 5 company shares seizedOriginal
2020$17.7 millionIntegrity Commission Recovery Department own results (cumulative to end-2020): ~USD 17.7m recovered; ~USD 4.17m seized in other countries awaiting recovery (separate row)Original
2019$1.4 billionCUMULATIVE since creation of the Integrity Commission's Recovery Department to end-2019: funds recovered from inside and outside Iraq + funds ordered recovered by courts + seized (USD component); 210 recovery files worked in 2019 (5 minister-level, 52 special-grade/DG)Original
2018$500,000LebanonAbout half a million USD in a Lebanese bank account of a former director of a Military Industrialization company (former regime) and his wife, transferred to Iraq's account in the Development Fund for Iraq under UNSCR 1483/1518Original
2013$3 millionLebanonZeina Saud Freih, former Baghdad Municipality (Amanat Baghdad) employee convicted (life sentence, confiscation, ordered to repay ~IQD 14bn); Rafidain Bank branch in Lebanon to receive USD 3,004,000 from Banque du Liban under a settlementOriginal
2010$5 millionLebanonLebanon extradited ex-Baghdad Municipality official Zina Saud al-Timimi and four relatives (19 Jun 2010); ~USD 5m believed stolen by her recovered, USD 600k missing but offset by confiscated vehicles/propertyOriginal
2009$11 millionUnited StatesOscar J. Wyatt Jr. (Coastal Corporation founder; Oil-for-Food illegal payments, plea 2007, 1 year prison): USD 11,023,245.91 restitution transferred to the Development Fund for IraqOriginal
2008$1.5 billionCUMULATIVE from DFI inception (2003) to 31 Dec 2008: USD 1.5bn deposited in the Development Fund for Iraq as proceeds from frozen (former-regime) assets; IAMB urged Iraq to intensify follow-up on frozen assets abroad, possibly via a separate entityOriginal
2008$50 millionUnited StatesOil-for-Food (Volcker inquiry) US court proceedings: fines on companies/individuals paid to the DFI, about USD 50m deposited during financial year 2008Original
2008$9 millionUnited StatesDavid B. Chalmers Jr. / Bayoil companies (Oil-for-Food kickbacks, guilty pleas Aug 2007): Order of Restitution 25 Mar 2008, USD 9,016,151.40 to the Development Fund for IraqOriginal
2007$20 millionUnited StatesChevron Corporation (UN Oil-for-Food surcharges): Non-Prosecution Agreement Nov 2007; USD 20m forfeited to SDNY for transfer to the Development Fund for Iraq as restitution (total settlement USD 30m incl. DANY, OFAC, SEC)Original
2007$5.5 millionUnited StatesEl Paso Corporation (UN Oil-for-Food kickbacks): Non-Prosecution Agreement with SDNY (5 Feb 2007); USD 5,482,363 forfeited and transferred to the Development Fund for Iraq as restitution to the Iraqi peopleOriginal
2007$13 millionUnited StatesVitol S.A. (Swiss oil trader) pleaded guilty in New York to grand larceny over Oil-for-Food kickbacks (~USD 13m surcharges paid to the former regime); USD 13m restitution to the people of Iraq via the DFIOriginal
2005$2.6 billionUnited States; IraqGAO: combined former-regime assets vested by the US (frozen in US banks since 1990, vested Mar 2003) and seized by coalition forces inside Iraq totalled about USD 2.65bn, largely obligated/disbursed by June 2004Original
2004$2.5 billionWhite House 'Iraq Fact of the Day': nearly USD 6bn of former-regime assets frozen worldwide; more than USD 2.5bn transferred from the US and international partners for the Iraqi peopleOriginal
2004$182 millionUnited KingdomUnited Kingdom transferred USD 182m of frozen Iraqi assets to the DFIOriginal
2004$235 millionJordanJordan transferred USD 235m of frozen Iraqi assets to the DFI; >1,600 Iraqi-controlled accounts in eight Jordanian banks identified and frozen pending review of claimsOriginal
2004$8 millionTunisiaTunisia transferred USD 8m of frozen Iraqi assets to the DFIOriginal
2004$2.5 billionUnited States; Japan; United Kingdom; Jordan; TunisiaCUMULATIVE since 20 Mar 2003: in total >USD 2.5bn of frozen Iraqi funds transferred back to Iraq by the US, foreign countries and the BIS (incl. ~USD 0.75bn by 10 other countries to the DFI); ~USD 1.3bn cash and valuables recovered inside Iraq (domestic, excluded)Original
2004$751 millionGAO: other countries froze about USD 3.7bn of former-regime assets; as of Mar 2004 more than 10 countries and the Bank for International Settlements had transferred ~USD 751m to the DFI; ~USD 1bn held back to adjudicate claims; hidden regime assets estimated at USD 10 to 40bnOriginal
2003$681 millionUnited StatesUS Treasury: of USD 1.7bn Iraqi (former regime) assets frozen in the US, over USD 681m already returned to Iraq (civil servant/pension payments, ministry working capital, police equipment); Secretary Snow asked finance ministers of 38 countries to transfer frozen Iraqi assets to the DFI under UNSCR 1483Original
2003$98 millionJapanJapan transferred approximately USD 98m of frozen former-regime assets to the Development Fund for Iraq (announced 29 Aug 2003); other countries had identified and frozen over USD 1bnOriginal
2003$1.7 billionUnited StatesAbout USD 1.7bn of Iraqi regime assets frozen in US banks since 1990 vested at the New York Fed on 20 Mar 2003; all but USD 64m shipped to Iraq by Sep 2003 (mainly salaries and pensions)Original
2003$1.9 billionUnited StatesGAO: in 2003 the US vested about USD 1.9bn of former-regime assets; May to Dec 2003 it transferred >USD 1.7bn to Iraq and USD 192m to the DFI (CPA had spent ~USD 1.67bn by Mar 2004)Original
Source: Iraq's Asset Recovery Fund, the Integrity Commission, the US Treasury and others; each line with its source