Party and armed group leaders
This register lists the leaders and founders of the parties, coalitions and armed groups that have been active in Iraq since 2003, including the units of the Popular Mobilisation, and their secretaries-general and deputies where a source names them. The organisations and the names come from the tables of the federal and Kurdistan Region elections, from official sources such as the notices of the US Treasury and the US State Department, and from sanctions lists. Roles and years also draw on general reference pages, which are named as such. Each person carries one documented legal status. Where the status is not “Not charged as of the date of writing”, the entry says what it rests on and gives its source. Being listed here is not an allegation.
| Organisation | Name | Role | Years | Legal status | Sources |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Islamic Dawa Party Party | Ibrahim al-Jaafari إبراهيم الجعفري | Leader | Until 2007 | Not charged as of the date of writing | |
| Islamic Dawa Party Party | Nouri al-Maliki نوري المالكي | Secretary-general | From 2007 | Accused by an official bodyOn 17 August 2015 the Council of Representatives voted to refer to the judiciary a parliamentary committee report holding top officials, including former prime… Read the restminister Nouri al-Maliki, responsible for the fall of Mosul (Al Jazeera, 17 August 2015). | Source of the status: aljazeera.com |
| Islamic Dawa Party Party | Haider al-Abadi حيدر العبادي | Deputy leader | From 2007 to 2014 | Not charged as of the date of writing | |
| Islamic Dawa Party Iraq Organisation Party | Hashim al-Musawi (Hashim Al-Mosawy) هاشم الموسوي | Secretary-general | Until 2016 | Not charged as of the date of writing | |
| Islamic Dawa Party Iraq Organisation Party | Khudair al-Khuzai خضير الخزاعي | Leader | Not stated | Not charged as of the date of writing | |
| State of Law Coalition Coalition or electoral list | Nouri al-Maliki نوري المالكي | Leader | From 2009 | Accused by an official bodyOn 17 August 2015 the Council of Representatives voted to refer to the judiciary a parliamentary committee report holding top officials, including former prime… Read the restminister Nouri al-Maliki, responsible for the fall of Mosul (Al Jazeera, 17 August 2015). | Source of the status: aljazeera.com |
| Islamic Supreme Council of Iraq (Supreme Council for the Islamic Revolution in Iraq until 2007) Party | Mohammed Baqir al-Hakim محمد باقر الحكيم | Leader | From 1982 to 2003 | Not charged as of the date of writing | |
| Islamic Supreme Council of Iraq (Supreme Council for the Islamic Revolution in Iraq until 2007) Party | Abdul Aziz al-Hakim عبد العزيز الحكيم | Leader | From 2003 to 2009 | Not charged as of the date of writing | |
| Islamic Supreme Council of Iraq (Supreme Council for the Islamic Revolution in Iraq until 2007) Party | Ammar al-Hakim عمار الحكيم | Leader | From 2009 to 2017 | Not charged as of the date of writing | |
| Islamic Supreme Council of Iraq (Supreme Council for the Islamic Revolution in Iraq until 2007) Party | Humam Hamoudi همام حمودي | Leader | From 2017 | Not charged as of the date of writing | |
| National Wisdom Movement Party | Ammar al-Hakim عمار الحكيم | Leader | From 2017 | Not charged as of the date of writing | |
| Alliance of Nation State Forces Coalition or electoral list | Ammar al-Hakim عمار الحكيم | Leader | From 2021 | Not charged as of the date of writing | |
| Alliance of Nation State Forces Coalition or electoral list | Haider al-Abadi حيدر العبادي | Leader | From 2021 | Not charged as of the date of writing | |
| Victory Alliance Coalition or electoral list | Haider al-Abadi حيدر العبادي | Leader | From 2017 to 2021 | Not charged as of the date of writing | |
| Badr Organisation Popular Mobilisation | Hadi al-Amiri هادي العامري | Leader | From 2009 | Not charged as of the date of writing | |
| Badr Organisation Popular Mobilisation | Bayan Jabr (Baqir Jabr al-Zubeidi, Bayan Jabr Solagh) بيان جبر | Leader | Until 2009 | Accused in credible reportingABC News reported on 10 March 2006 that a United Nations official said the Interior Ministry was responsible for summary executions and torture; Bayan Jabr,… Read the restthen interior minister and a former Badr commander, called the death squad charges a big lie. | Source of the status: abcnews.go.com |
| Fatah Alliance Coalition or electoral list | Hadi al-Amiri هادي العامري | Leader | From 2018 to 2025 | Not charged as of the date of writing | |
| Sadrist Movement Party | Muqtada al-Sadr مقتدى الصدر | Leader | From 2003 | Charged or wantedOn 5 April 2004 the coalition spokesman said an Iraqi judge had issued a warrant for his arrest over the April 2003 killing of Abd al-Majid al-Khoei; he denies… Read the restthe charge (Al Jazeera, 5 April 2004). PBS reported the warrant again on 16 May 2005. | |
| Mahdi Army (Jaysh al-Mahdi) Armed group | Muqtada al-Sadr مقتدى الصدر | Leader | From 2003 to 2008 | Charged or wantedOn 5 April 2004 the coalition spokesman said an Iraqi judge had issued a warrant for his arrest over the April 2003 killing of Abd al-Majid al-Khoei; he denies… Read the restthe charge (Al Jazeera, 5 April 2004). PBS reported the warrant again on 16 May 2005. | |
| Saraya al-Salam Popular Mobilisation | Muqtada al-Sadr مقتدى الصدر | Founder | From 2014 | Charged or wantedOn 5 April 2004 the coalition spokesman said an Iraqi judge had issued a warrant for his arrest over the April 2003 killing of Abd al-Majid al-Khoei; he denies… Read the restthe charge (Al Jazeera, 5 April 2004). PBS reported the warrant again on 16 May 2005. | |
| Sairoon Alliance (Alliance Towards Reforms) Coalition or electoral list | Hassan al-Aquli حسن العاقولي | Leader | From 2018 to 2021 | Not charged as of the date of writing | |
| Sairoon Alliance (Alliance Towards Reforms) Coalition or electoral list | Muqtada al-Sadr مقتدى الصدر | Leader | From 2018 to 2021 | Charged or wantedOn 5 April 2004 the coalition spokesman said an Iraqi judge had issued a warrant for his arrest over the April 2003 killing of Abd al-Majid al-Khoei; he denies… Read the restthe charge (Al Jazeera, 5 April 2004). PBS reported the warrant again on 16 May 2005. | |
| Islamic Virtue Party (Fadhila) Party | Nadim al-Jabiri نديم الجابري | Secretary-general | Until 2006 | Not charged as of the date of writing | |
| Islamic Virtue Party (Fadhila) Party | Abd al-Rahim al-Hasini | Secretary-general | From 2006 | Not charged as of the date of writing | |
| Islamic Virtue Party (Fadhila) Party | Ammar Tu'ma (Ammar Tu'ma Abd-Abbas) عمار طعمة | Leader | Not stated | Not charged as of the date of writing | |
| Iraqi National Congress Party | Ahmed Chalabi أحمد الجلبي | Leader | From 1992 to 2015 | Convicted (reported)A Jordanian court sentenced him in absentia over the collapse of Petra Bank, and Jordan's government spokeswoman said on 23 May 2004 that he was wanted for the… Read the restverdict to be carried out; he denied wrongdoing and called the case political (Al Jazeera, 23 May 2004). | |
| Iraqi National Congress Party | Aras Habib Kareem آراس حبيب كريم | Leader | From 2015 | Under sanctions OFAC designated him on 15 May 2018 as chairman and chief executive of Al-Bilad Islamic Bank for assisting the IRGC Qods Force (Treasury release SM-0385). | Source of the status: Document (saved page)home.treasury.govDocument (saved page)treasury.gov |
| Hezbollah Movement in Iraq Party | Hassan al-Sari حسن الساري | Secretary-general | Not stated | Not charged as of the date of writing | General reference for the role and the years: Wikipedia |
| National Reform Trend Party | Ibrahim al-Jaafari إبراهيم الجعفري | Founder | From 2008 | Not charged as of the date of writing | |
| Iraqi National Accord Party | Ayad Allawi إياد علاوي | Founder | From 1991 | Not charged as of the date of writing | |
| Iraqiya and Al-Wataniya (Iraqi National List 2005, Iraqi National Movement 2009, Al-Wataniya from 2012) Coalition or electoral list | Ayad Allawi إياد علاوي | Leader | From 2005 | Not charged as of the date of writing | |
| Iraqi Islamic Party Party | Mohsen Abdul Hamid (Mohsen Abdel Hamid) محسن عبد الحميد | Secretary-general | Until 2004 | Not charged as of the date of writing | |
| Iraqi Islamic Party Party | Tariq al-Hashimi طارق الهاشمي | Leader | From 2004 to 2009 | Convicted (reported)An Iraqi court sentenced him to death in absentia on 9 September 2012 after finding him guilty of masterminding the killings of a lawyer and a security… Read the restofficial; he denied the charges and called them political (AP, 9 September 2012). | Source of the status: csmonitor.comfoxnews.com |
| Iraqi Islamic Party Party | Osama Tawfiq al-Tikriti أسامة التكريتي | Secretary-general | From 2009 to 2011 | Not charged as of the date of writing | |
| Iraqi Islamic Party Party | Ayad al-Samarrai إياد السامرائي | Secretary-general | From 2011 to 2019 | Not charged as of the date of writing | |
| Iraqi Islamic Party Party | Rashid al-Azzawi رشيد العزاوي | Secretary-general | From 2019 | Not charged as of the date of writing | |
| Iraqi Islamic Party Party | Salim al-Jubouri سليم الجبوري | Deputy leader | From 2011 | Accused by an official bodyIn August 2016 the defence minister accused Speaker Salim al-Jubouri of corruption; on 9 August 2016 the Supreme Judicial Council spokesman said the judicial… Read the restpanel dropped the charges for insufficient evidence (Al Jazeera Arabic, 9 August 2016). | Source of the status: aljazeera.net |
| Iraqi Accord Front Coalition or electoral list | Adnan al-Dulaimi عدنان الدليمي | Leader | From 2005 to 2007 | Under investigationIn August 2009 the chair of parliament's legal committee said the committee held a request to lift Adnan al-Dulaimi's immunity, which he said did not amount to… Read the restan accusation (Global Justice Project: Iraq, 17 August 2009). | |
| Iraqi Accord Front Coalition or electoral list | Ayad al-Samarrai إياد السامرائي | Leader | From 2007 | Not charged as of the date of writing | |
| General Council for the People of Iraq Party | Adnan al-Dulaimi عدنان الدليمي | Leader | From 2005 | Under investigationIn August 2009 the chair of parliament's legal committee said the committee held a request to lift Adnan al-Dulaimi's immunity, which he said did not amount to… Read the restan accusation (Global Justice Project: Iraq, 17 August 2009). | |
| Iraqi National Dialogue Council Party | Khalaf al-Ulayyan خلف العليان | Leader | From 2005 | Not charged as of the date of writing | |
| Iraqi National Dialogue Front Party | Saleh al-Mutlaq صالح المطلك | Leader | From 2005 | Accused by an official bodyOn about 18 February 2016 the Integrity Commission referred four senior figures, including Saleh al-Mutlaq, to the courts on accusations of graft and of… Read the restexploiting their positions to amass wealth illegally (Iraq Oil Report, 20 February 2016). | Source of the status: iraqoilreport.com |
| Al-Arabiya Coalition Coalition or electoral list | Saleh al-Mutlaq صالح المطلك | Leader | From 2014 | Accused by an official bodyOn about 18 February 2016 the Integrity Commission referred four senior figures, including Saleh al-Mutlaq, to the courts on accusations of graft and of… Read the restexploiting their positions to amass wealth illegally (Iraq Oil Report, 20 February 2016). | Source of the status: iraqoilreport.com |
| Muttahidoon Coalition or electoral list | Osama al-Nujaifi أسامة النجيفي | Leader | From 2012 | Accused in credible reportingIraq Business News reported on 10 October 2011, citing Iran's Fars news agency, that senior officials had launched a probe into corruption accusations made in… Read the restIraqi media against the parliament speaker, including the source of 600,000 dollars spent on repairing his house; he was then speaker. | Source of the status: iraq-businessnews.com |
| Al-Hal Party (National Movement for Reform and Development) Party | Jamal al-Karbouli جمال الكربولي | Founder | From 2009 | Convicted (reported) The Supreme Judicial Council announced on 21 September 2026 a sentence of one year in prison, suspended, and an order to pay 4.5 million dollars to the Iraqi Red Crescent (964, 21 September 2026). | Source of the status: 964media.com |
| Azm Alliance Coalition or electoral list | Khamis Farhan al-Khanjar al-Issawi خميس فرحان الخنجر العيساوي | Founder | From 2021 | Under sanctions OFAC designated him on 6 December 2019 under Executive Order 13818 (Global Magnitsky) for corruption (Treasury release SM-847). | Source of the status: Document (saved page)home.treasury.govDocument (saved page)treasury.gov |
| Azm Alliance Coalition or electoral list | Muthanna al-Samarrai مثنى السامرائي | Leader | Not stated | ArrestedOn 28 June 2026 the Iraqi News Agency, citing senior sources, listed him among those arrested on corruption charges in the Green Zone operation (Al Jazeera Net,… Read the rest28 June 2026); a Central Bank letter reported on 28 August 2026 froze assets on the basis of a Karkh appeals court decision of 27 July 2026 (964). | Source of the status: aljazeera.netalmadapaper.net964media.com |
| Sovereignty Alliance Coalition or electoral list | Khamis Farhan al-Khanjar al-Issawi خميس فرحان الخنجر العيساوي | Leader | From 2025 | Under sanctions OFAC designated him on 6 December 2019 under Executive Order 13818 (Global Magnitsky) for corruption (Treasury release SM-847). | Source of the status: Document (saved page)home.treasury.govDocument (saved page)treasury.gov |
| Progress Party (Taqaddum) Party | Mohammed al-Halbousi (Mohamed Al-Halbousi) محمد الحلبوسي | Leader | From 2019 | Accused by an official bodyOn 14 November 2023 the Federal Supreme Court ended his membership of parliament and his term as speaker after a fellow MP sued him, alleging he forged the date… Read the restof a resignation letter; he denied the allegation (Al Jazeera, 14 November 2023; Rudaw, 15 November 2023). On 27 April 2025 his media office said the judiciary had acquitted him of the charges, which AFP and Shafaq News reported (Arab News, 27 April 2025). | Source of the status: aljazeera.comrudaw.netarab.newsshafaq.comthenewregion.com |
| Unity Alliance of Iraq Coalition or electoral list | Jawad al-Bolani (Jawad al-Bulani) جواد البولاني | Leader | From 2010 | Not charged as of the date of writing |