Ameen Al-Iraq Islamic Bank for Investment & Finance
This page sets out what the record shows about Ameen Al-Iraq Islamic Bank for Investment & Finance. It names the owners and managers, gives the dollars the bank bought from the Central Bank in the years whose records survive, lists the requests that the Central Bank refused and describes the action that regulators took against the bank.
مصرف أمين العراق الإسلامي للاستثمار والتمويل
Name, licence and status
- Name in English
- Ameen Al-Iraq Islamic Bank for Investment & Finance
- Name in Arabic
- مصرف أمين العراق الإسلامي للاستثمار والتمويل
- Type
- Islamic bank
- Iraq Stock Exchange ticker
- BAME
- Established
- 12 December 2017
- Licence
- No. 28334/3/9 of 1 April 2019
- Regulatory measures
- Reported barred from dollar dealing (February 2025); the Central Bank denied it and no document confirms it
- Website
- www.aib.iq
- Securities Commission page
- Iraq Securities Commissionisc.gov.iq
Ownership
The Iraq Securities Commission page names one significant individual holder: مثنى قادر عبدالله طياوي with 12%. The page was read on 25 September 2026.
Owners and managers
| Name | Role | Share | As of | Legal status | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
Chairman | Not stated | Not stated | Not charged as of the date of writing | Iraq Stock ExchangeIraq Securities CommissionCentral Bank of Iraq[1][2] | |
Shareholder | 12% | Not stated | Not charged as of the date of writing | Iraq Stock ExchangeIraq Securities CommissionCentral Bank of Iraq[1][2] |
Dollars bought from the Central Bank
Dollars bought from the Central Bank, by year
In millions of dollars. Verified rows of the Central Bank's daily records.
| Year | Dollars bought | Cash | Transfers abroad | Share of the year's named sales | Refused | Value of the price gap |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2019 | $26.1m | $120,000 | $25.9m | 0.2% | Not stated | $227,466 |
| 2020 | $3m | $0 | $3m | 1.6% | Not stated | $97,561 |
| Total | $29.1m | $120,000 | $28.9m | Not stated | $325,027 |
Share of the year's named sales: the bank's part of all the dollars that the surviving records attribute to a named bank in that year.
Refused: the requests that the Central Bank's committee turned down. Its minutes survive only from January 2013 to February 2015. An empty cell means that no minutes survive for that year. The yearly figures come from the yearly ledger. The figure at the top of the page comes from the committee's minutes. The two can differ.
What the Central Bank refused
The committee's surviving minutes, from January 2013 to February 2015, record no refusal for this bank.
Enforcement actions
- 16 February 2025Central Bank of Iraq (reported by Reuters; the Central Bank denied)Reported ban on dollar transactions
Against: Al-Mashreq Al-Arabi Islamic Bank; United Bank for Investment; Al-Sanam (Sinam) Islamic Bank; Misk Islamic Bank; Ameen (Amin) Iraq Islamic Bank; and the payment firms Amwal, Al-Saqi Payment, Aqsa Payment
Reuters (two sources) reported the ban; the Central Bank denied that US sanctions had been imposed (The New Arab, 17 February 2025). Status of implementation not confirmed by a primary document; Al-Mashreq Al-Arabi was later named (July 2026) among restricted banks cleared to return to non-dollar channels. The Wall Street Journal (31 May 2025) later reported that the US Treasury 'blacklisted' three Iraqi card issuers suspected of militia ties, including Al Saqi Electronic Payment Company, without naming a legal instrument; OFAC's list does not name these companies as of the date of writing.
Current position: Reported and disputed. The record holds no Central Bank list that confirms it.
Original
Sources
- Iraq Stock ExchangeAccessed 25 September 2026Tier BISX company profiles (companyprofile.html) for 49 listed banks: establishing date, listing date, capital, managing director
e.g. BHAM مصرف حمورابي: تاريخ التأسيس 26/08/2020؛ تاريخ الإدراج 04/08/2024 | BTRI مصرف عبر العراق للاستثمار: تاريخ التأسيس 21/05/2006 | BLAD مصرف العطاء الاسلامي: تاريخ التأسيس 06/07/2006 | BBAY مصرف بابل: المدير المفوض احمد عباس احمد / الوصي
- Iraq Securities CommissionAccessed 25 September 2026 (the page does not show the dates of disclosure)Tier BIraq Securities Commission (هيأة الأوراق المالية) listed-company pages: 'النسب المؤثرة' (significant shareholdings) and 'أعضاء مجلس الإدارة' (board) for banks
مصرف الاتحاد العراقي ... النسب المؤثرة: 1 عقيل مفتن خفيف البيضاني 13% ... 3 محمد مفتن خفيف البيضاني 13% | أعضاء مجلس الإدارة: عبد الكريم ابراهيم علي رئيس مجلس الادارة ...
Translation: Union Bank of Iraq ... Significant holdings: Aqeel Meften Khafeef al-Baidhani 13%; Mohammed Meften Khafeef al-Baidhani 13% | Board: Abdul Kareem Ibrahim Ali, chairman ...
- Central Bank of IraqAccessed 25 September 2026Tier Bالمصارف الاهلية المحلية (Private local banks: licence numbers/dates, managers, status marks)
الأقليم التجاري للاستثمار والتمويل ( اميرالد سابقا ) ... 408/3/9 2007/3/1 | الهدى ( ممنوع من التعامل بالدولار ) ... 136/3/9 2008/1/14 | مصرف بابل ( تصفية ) ( ممنوع من التعامل بالدولار ) ... المصفي، د.أحمد عباس أحمد | دار السلام للأستثمار ( حراسة قضائية ) | الشمال للتمويل والاستثمار ( وصاية ) | الطيف الإسلامي للإستثمار… Read the rest
والتمويل ( وصاية )( ممنوع من التعامل بالدولار ) | المال الإسلامي للإستثمار ( ممنوع من التعامل بالدولار ) ... 845/3/9 في 2018/12/9(punctuation adjusted)Translation: Region Trade Bank for Investment & Finance (formerly Emerald) ... licence 408/3/9 of 1 Mar 2007 | Al-Huda (barred from USD dealing) ... licence 136/3/9 of 14 Jan 2008 | Babylon Bank (liquidation) (barred from USD) ... liquidator Dr Ahmed Abbas Ahmed | Dar Es Salaam (judicial receivership) | North Bank (guardianship) | Al-Taif Islamic (guardianship)(barred from USD) | Al-Mal Islamic (barred from USD) ... licence 845/3/9 of 9 Dec 2018
Original - Central Bank of Iraq23 October 2025Tier Aالنشرة الإحصائية السنوية / Annual Statistical Bulletin (2024 data; PDF created 23 Oct 2025), banks' establishment year, total assets, paid-up capital (pages 116 to 117) and ISX listing table (p.113)
Region Trade Bank for Investment 2007 1,051,981 300,000 مصرف الاقليم التجاري( اميرالد) | AL-Huda Bank 2008 412,604 250,000 | Erbil Bank 2010 | International Development Bank 2011 | Hammurabi Commercial Bank 2020 | Ur Islamic Bank 2018 334,815 250,000
Original