Arabia (Al-Arabiya) Islamic Bank
This page sets out what the record shows about Arabia (Al-Arabiya) Islamic Bank. It names the owners and managers, gives the dollars the bank bought from the Central Bank in the years whose records survive, lists the requests that the Central Bank refused and describes the action that regulators took against the bank.
المصرف العربي الإسلامي
Name, licence and status
- Name in English
- Arabia (Al-Arabiya) Islamic Bank
- Name in Arabic
- المصرف العربي الإسلامي
- Type
- Islamic bank
- Iraq Stock Exchange ticker
- BAAI
- Established
- 20 June 2016
- Licence
- No. 9846/3/9 of 20 June 2016
- Regulatory measures
- Barred from dollar dealing by the Central Bank (January 2024); named in July 2026 among banks allowed back into non-dollar business (reported)
- Securities Commission page
- Iraq Securities Commissionisc.gov.iq
Ownership
The Iraq Securities Commission page names these significant individual holders: عبد المنعم مهدي صالح السلاوي with 10% and بيار جرجي بطرس يوسف with 10%. The page was read on 25 September 2026.
Political or armed-group links reported by sources
- 10% holder and director Abdulmunem Mahdi Saleh Al-Salawi co-owned a UK company (UK International Tobacco, 2012 to 2017) with Ali Ghulam; Ghulam's lawyers say he has no role or interest in Al-Arabiya Islamic BankAccording to: The National 5 December 2025 citing Companies HouseTier DThe NationalIraq Securities Commission
Owners and managers
| Name | Role | Share | As of | Legal status | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
Chairman | Not stated | Not stated | Not charged as of the date of writing | Iraq Stock ExchangeIraq Securities CommissionThe NationalCentral Bank of Iraq[1][2] | |
Shareholder | 10% | Not stated | Not charged as of the date of writing | Iraq Stock ExchangeIraq Securities CommissionThe NationalCentral Bank of Iraq[1][2] | |
Shareholder | 10% | Not stated | Not charged as of the date of writing | Iraq Stock ExchangeIraq Securities CommissionThe NationalCentral Bank of Iraq[1][2] |
Dollars bought from the Central Bank
Dollars bought from the Central Bank, by year
In millions of dollars. Verified rows of the Central Bank's daily records.
| Year | Dollars bought | Cash | Transfers abroad | Share of the year's named sales | Refused | Value of the price gap |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2017 | $164.2m | $4.8m | $159.4m | 0.8% | Not stated | $6.9m |
| 2018 | $5.7m | $270,000 | $5.4m | 3.6% | Not stated | $179,927 |
| 2019 | $759.5m | $1.4m | $758.1m | 6.7% | Not stated | $4.3m |
| 2020 | $6m | $0 | $6m | 3.3% | Not stated | $195,122 |
| Total | $935.4m | $6.5m | $928.9m | Not stated | $11.6m |
Share of the year's named sales: the bank's part of all the dollars that the surviving records attribute to a named bank in that year.
Refused: the requests that the Central Bank's committee turned down. Its minutes survive only from January 2013 to February 2015. An empty cell means that no minutes survive for that year. The yearly figures come from the yearly ledger. The figure at the top of the page comes from the committee's minutes. The two can differ.
What the Central Bank refused
The committee's surviving minutes, from January 2013 to February 2015, record no refusal for this bank.
Enforcement actions
- 29 January 2024Central Bank of IraqBarred from the currency window and from dealing in dollars
Against: Investment Bank of Iraq; Union Bank of Iraq; Kurdistan International Islamic Bank; Ashur International Bank; Al-Huda Bank; Al-Janoob Islamic Bank; Al-Arabiya Islamic Bank; Hammurabi Commercial Bank
The Central Bank's list gives 29 January 2024 as the date for all 8 banks. Reuters reported the ban on 4 February 2024.
Current position: Investment Bank of Iraq, Kurdistan International Islamic, Al-Janoob, Al-Arabiya named (anonymous Central Bank source) among seven banks cleared July 2026 to return to non-dollar correspondent channels
Original - 18 July 2026Central Bank of Iraq / US Treasury (understanding)Partial return: restricted banks allowed back into correspondent banking in currencies other than the dollar
Against: Seven restricted banks (named by an anonymous Central Bank source): Al-Janoob Islamic; International Development Bank; Mosul Bank; Al-Mashreq Al-Arabi Islamic; Investment Bank of Iraq; Kurdistan International (Islamic) Bank; Al-Arabiya Islamic
The Central Bank's statement confirms the understanding but does not name banks; names come from Asharq Bloomberg's anonymous Central Bank source. Access to dollars not yet restored as of the statement.
Current position: Pending eligibility for dollars
Original
Sources
- Iraq Stock ExchangeAccessed 25 September 2026Tier BISX company profiles (companyprofile.html) for 49 listed banks: establishing date, listing date, capital, managing director
e.g. BHAM مصرف حمورابي: تاريخ التأسيس 26/08/2020؛ تاريخ الإدراج 04/08/2024 | BTRI مصرف عبر العراق للاستثمار: تاريخ التأسيس 21/05/2006 | BLAD مصرف العطاء الاسلامي: تاريخ التأسيس 06/07/2006 | BBAY مصرف بابل: المدير المفوض احمد عباس احمد / الوصي
- Iraq Securities CommissionAccessed 25 September 2026 (the page does not show the dates of disclosure)Tier BIraq Securities Commission (هيأة الأوراق المالية) listed-company pages: 'النسب المؤثرة' (significant shareholdings) and 'أعضاء مجلس الإدارة' (board) for banks
مصرف الاتحاد العراقي ... النسب المؤثرة: 1 عقيل مفتن خفيف البيضاني 13% ... 3 محمد مفتن خفيف البيضاني 13% | أعضاء مجلس الإدارة: عبد الكريم ابراهيم علي رئيس مجلس الادارة ...
Translation: Union Bank of Iraq ... Significant holdings: Aqeel Meften Khafeef al-Baidhani 13%; Mohammed Meften Khafeef al-Baidhani 13% | Board: Abdul Kareem Ibrahim Ali, chairman ...
- The National5 December 2025Tier DIraqi tycoon to fight against US sanctions from London base
OriginalHe took control of Middle East Investment Bank in 2014 and also controls Al Ansari Bank and Al Qabidh Bank. ... Mr Ghulam's lawyers said he "denies ever knowingly engaging in any of the activities alleged by the US Treasury" ... Accounts show an individual named Abdulmunem Mahdi Saleh Al Salawi owned 51 per cent of the… Read the rest
shares and Mr Ghulam held the rest. Mr Al Salawi, 58, is a director and shareholder of Al Arabiya Islamic Bank ... Their client "does not have any role at or interest in Al Arabiya Islamic Bank" - Central Bank of IraqAccessed 25 September 2026Tier Bالمصارف الاهلية المحلية (Private local banks: licence numbers/dates, managers, status marks)
الأقليم التجاري للاستثمار والتمويل ( اميرالد سابقا ) ... 408/3/9 2007/3/1 | الهدى ( ممنوع من التعامل بالدولار ) ... 136/3/9 2008/1/14 | مصرف بابل ( تصفية ) ( ممنوع من التعامل بالدولار ) ... المصفي، د.أحمد عباس أحمد | دار السلام للأستثمار ( حراسة قضائية ) | الشمال للتمويل والاستثمار ( وصاية ) | الطيف الإسلامي للإستثمار… Read the rest
والتمويل ( وصاية )( ممنوع من التعامل بالدولار ) | المال الإسلامي للإستثمار ( ممنوع من التعامل بالدولار ) ... 845/3/9 في 2018/12/9(punctuation adjusted)Translation: Region Trade Bank for Investment & Finance (formerly Emerald) ... licence 408/3/9 of 1 Mar 2007 | Al-Huda (barred from USD dealing) ... licence 136/3/9 of 14 Jan 2008 | Babylon Bank (liquidation) (barred from USD) ... liquidator Dr Ahmed Abbas Ahmed | Dar Es Salaam (judicial receivership) | North Bank (guardianship) | Al-Taif Islamic (guardianship)(barred from USD) | Al-Mal Islamic (barred from USD) ... licence 845/3/9 of 9 Dec 2018
Original - Central Bank of Iraq23 October 2025Tier Aالنشرة الإحصائية السنوية / Annual Statistical Bulletin (2024 data; PDF created 23 Oct 2025), banks' establishment year, total assets, paid-up capital (pages 116 to 117) and ISX listing table (p.113)
Region Trade Bank for Investment 2007 1,051,981 300,000 مصرف الاقليم التجاري( اميرالد) | AL-Huda Bank 2008 412,604 250,000 | Erbil Bank 2010 | International Development Bank 2011 | Hammurabi Commercial Bank 2020 | Ur Islamic Bank 2018 334,815 250,000
Original