Iraqi Islamic Bank for Investment & Development
This page sets out what the record shows about Iraqi Islamic Bank for Investment & Development. It names the owners and managers, gives the dollars the bank bought from the Central Bank in the years whose records survive, lists the requests that the Central Bank refused and describes the action that regulators took against the bank.
المصرف العراقي الإسلامي للاستثمار والتنمية
Name, licence and status
- Name in English
- Iraqi Islamic Bank for Investment & Development
- Name in Arabic
- المصرف العراقي الإسلامي للاستثمار والتنمية
- Type
- Islamic bank
- Iraq Stock Exchange ticker
- BIIB
- Established
- 19 December 1992
- Licence
- No. ت.ص/6893 of 20 April 1993
- Regulatory measures
- No sanction, ban or fine recorded as of the date of writing
- Website
- www.iraqiislamicb.com
- Securities Commission page
- Iraq Securities Commissionisc.gov.iq
Ownership
The Iraq Securities Commission page names one significant individual holder: عبد السلام مراد جويعد ناهض with 10%. The page was read on 25 September 2026. The corporate holder in the record is شركة بنك الصفوة الاسلامي with 10%.
Owners and managers
| Name | Role | Share | As of | Legal status | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
Chairman | Not stated | Not stated | Not charged as of the date of writing | Iraq Stock ExchangeIraq Securities CommissionCentral Bank of Iraq[1][2] | |
غالب عبد القادر المفتي | Vice-chairman | Not stated | 28 September 2026 | Not charged as of the date of writing | mubasher.info |
همام ثامر كاظم العطار | Managing director | Not stated | 28 September 2026 | Not charged as of the date of writing | mubasher.info |
عبد السلام مراد جويعد | Board member | Not stated | 28 September 2026 | Not charged as of the date of writing | mubasher.info |
احسان علي كاظم العبيدي | Board member | Not stated | 28 September 2026 | Not charged as of the date of writing | mubasher.info |
نغم حسن عزيز | Board member | Not stated | 28 September 2026 | Not charged as of the date of writing | mubasher.info |
Shareholder | 10% | Not stated | Not charged as of the date of writing | Iraq Stock ExchangeIraq Securities CommissionCentral Bank of Iraq[1][2] | |
شركة بنك الصفوة الاسلامي(company) | Shareholder | 10% | Not stated | Not charged as of the date of writing | Iraq Stock ExchangeIraq Securities CommissionCentral Bank of Iraq[1][2] |
نهضة العاصمة للتجارة والمقاولات العامة | Shareholder | 9.817% | 28 September 2026 | Not charged as of the date of writing | mubasher.info |
عبد السلام مراد جويعد | Shareholder | 9.808% | 28 September 2026 | Not charged as of the date of writing | mubasher.info |
فوز الخليج للتداول الالكترونى والتجارة العامة | Shareholder | 9.71% | 28 September 2026 | Not charged as of the date of writing | mubasher.info |
وليد أحمد سعيد على | Shareholder | 9.61% | 28 September 2026 | Not charged as of the date of writing | mubasher.info |
محمد وليد أحمد سعيد | Shareholder | 9.61% | 28 September 2026 | Not charged as of the date of writing | mubasher.info |
الخاتم الفضي للتجارة العامة والاستثمارات العقارية | Shareholder | 9.60% | 28 September 2026 | Not charged as of the date of writing | mubasher.info |
وسن وليد أحمد سعيد | Shareholder | 9.56% | 28 September 2026 | Not charged as of the date of writing | mubasher.info |
لمعة الحرير للتجارة العامة | Shareholder | 9.46% | 28 September 2026 | Not charged as of the date of writing | mubasher.info |
الجرار للاستثمارات العقارية | Shareholder | 9.20% | 28 September 2026 | Not charged as of the date of writing | mubasher.info |
منافذ الاستثمار للتجارة والمقاولات العامة | Shareholder | 7.68% | 28 September 2026 | Not charged as of the date of writing | mubasher.info |
Dollars bought from the Central Bank
Dollars bought from the Central Bank, by year
In billions of dollars. Verified rows of the Central Bank's daily records.
| Year | Dollars bought | Cash | Transfers abroad | Share of the year's named sales | Refused | Value of the price gap |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2013 | $1.8bn | $96.3m | $1.7bn | 3.9% | $787.6m | $76.6m |
| 2014 | $896.1m | $820.1m | $76m | 2.6% | $210.6m | $17.1m |
| 2015 | $1.2bn | $238.6m | $941.4m | 3.7% | $9.9m | $58.1m |
| 2016 | $1.1bn | $135m | $968.9m | 4.2% | Not stated | $74m |
| 2017 | $716.2m | $129.6m | $586.6m | 3.6% | Not stated | $32.8m |
| 2018 | $3.1m | $0 | $3.1m | 2.0% | Not stated | $98,698 |
| 2019 | $367.5m | $0 | $367.5m | 3.2% | Not stated | $1.9m |
| 2020 | $6m | $0 | $6m | 3.3% | Not stated | $195,122 |
| Total | $6.1bn | $1.4bn | $4.7bn | $1bn | $260.8m |
Share of the year's named sales: the bank's part of all the dollars that the surviving records attribute to a named bank in that year.
Refused: the requests that the Central Bank's committee turned down. Its minutes survive only from January 2013 to February 2015. An empty cell means that no minutes survive for that year. The yearly figures come from the yearly ledger. The figure at the top of the page comes from the committee's minutes. The two can differ.
What the Central Bank refused
From January 2013 to February 2015 the Central Bank's committee recorded, day by day, which requests for dollars it turned down and why. Its minutes record 188 occasions on which the committee refused all or part of a request by this bank. On those occasions the bank asked for $2.3 billion, and $1 billion of it was refused.
The largest refusals
| Date | Asked for | Refused | The reason, as the committee wrote it | Category |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 29 December 2014 | $18.9m | $18.9m | 18,900,000 الاغراض تدايقية | Held for audit |
| 19 June 2013 | $17.4m | $17.4m | عدم كفاية رصيد المصرف | Funds did not cover the request |
| 23 June 2013 | $16.9m | $16.9m | لعدم كفاية رصيد المصرف | Funds did not cover the request; Missing or defective documents |
| 4 July 2013 | $15.3m | $15.3m | لقيام المصرف بأستخدام الختم الجديد بدلأ من الموعد المحدد لأستخدامه في 6/7/2013 | Other |
| date unreadable | $15.2m | $15.2m | لعدم كفاية رصيد المصرف | Funds did not cover the request; Missing or defective documents |
| 9 June 2013 | $15.1m | $15.1m | لعدم كفاية رصيد المصرف | Funds did not cover the request; Missing or defective documents |
| 6 November 2013 | $14.9m | $14.9m | Not stated | Not stated or unreadable |
| 11 June 2013 | $14.4m | $14.4m | لعدم الالتزام بموعد تقديم الطلب | Missing or defective documents |
| 28 May 2013 | $14.2m | $14.2m | لتقديمه الطلب يوم امس وهذا يخالف جدول استلام الطلبات | Other |
| 20 January 2013 | $13.5m | $13.5m | لاختلاف ختم المصرف وتغيره من شكل بيضوي الى مستطيل دون اعلام اللجنة | Name or data do not match |
| 21 October 2013 | $13.4m | $13.4m | لعدم توقيع الكتب من قبل المدير المفوض | Missing or defective documents |
| date unreadable | $12.9m | $12.9m | يستبعد لعدم تقديم السويفتات | Missing or defective documents |
Each reason is quoted in Arabic, in the committee's words. Where a reason is marked “punctuation adjusted”, only its punctuation was changed. The category is ours.
Enforcement actions
No enforcement action against this bank is recorded here.
Sources
- Iraq Stock ExchangeAccessed 25 September 2026Tier BISX company profiles (companyprofile.html) for 49 listed banks: establishing date, listing date, capital, managing director
e.g. BHAM مصرف حمورابي: تاريخ التأسيس 26/08/2020؛ تاريخ الإدراج 04/08/2024 | BTRI مصرف عبر العراق للاستثمار: تاريخ التأسيس 21/05/2006 | BLAD مصرف العطاء الاسلامي: تاريخ التأسيس 06/07/2006 | BBAY مصرف بابل: المدير المفوض احمد عباس احمد / الوصي
- Iraq Securities CommissionAccessed 25 September 2026 (the page does not show the dates of disclosure)Tier BIraq Securities Commission (هيأة الأوراق المالية) listed-company pages: 'النسب المؤثرة' (significant shareholdings) and 'أعضاء مجلس الإدارة' (board) for banks
مصرف الاتحاد العراقي ... النسب المؤثرة: 1 عقيل مفتن خفيف البيضاني 13% ... 3 محمد مفتن خفيف البيضاني 13% | أعضاء مجلس الإدارة: عبد الكريم ابراهيم علي رئيس مجلس الادارة ...
Translation: Union Bank of Iraq ... Significant holdings: Aqeel Meften Khafeef al-Baidhani 13%; Mohammed Meften Khafeef al-Baidhani 13% | Board: Abdul Kareem Ibrahim Ali, chairman ...
- Central Bank of IraqAccessed 25 September 2026Tier Bالمصارف الاهلية المحلية (Private local banks: licence numbers/dates, managers, status marks)
الأقليم التجاري للاستثمار والتمويل ( اميرالد سابقا ) ... 408/3/9 2007/3/1 | الهدى ( ممنوع من التعامل بالدولار ) ... 136/3/9 2008/1/14 | مصرف بابل ( تصفية ) ( ممنوع من التعامل بالدولار ) ... المصفي، د.أحمد عباس أحمد | دار السلام للأستثمار ( حراسة قضائية ) | الشمال للتمويل والاستثمار ( وصاية ) | الطيف الإسلامي للإستثمار… Read the rest
والتمويل ( وصاية )( ممنوع من التعامل بالدولار ) | المال الإسلامي للإستثمار ( ممنوع من التعامل بالدولار ) ... 845/3/9 في 2018/12/9(punctuation adjusted)Translation: Region Trade Bank for Investment & Finance (formerly Emerald) ... licence 408/3/9 of 1 Mar 2007 | Al-Huda (barred from USD dealing) ... licence 136/3/9 of 14 Jan 2008 | Babylon Bank (liquidation) (barred from USD) ... liquidator Dr Ahmed Abbas Ahmed | Dar Es Salaam (judicial receivership) | North Bank (guardianship) | Al-Taif Islamic (guardianship)(barred from USD) | Al-Mal Islamic (barred from USD) ... licence 845/3/9 of 9 Dec 2018
Original - Central Bank of Iraq23 October 2025Tier Aالنشرة الإحصائية السنوية / Annual Statistical Bulletin (2024 data; PDF created 23 Oct 2025), banks' establishment year, total assets, paid-up capital (pages 116 to 117) and ISX listing table (p.113)
Region Trade Bank for Investment 2007 1,051,981 300,000 مصرف الاقليم التجاري( اميرالد) | AL-Huda Bank 2008 412,604 250,000 | Erbil Bank 2010 | International Development Bank 2011 | Hammurabi Commercial Bank 2020 | Ur Islamic Bank 2018 334,815 250,000
Original