Skip to content
The Ledger

Mansour Bank for Investment

This page sets out what the record shows about Mansour Bank for Investment. It names the owners and managers, gives the dollars the bank bought from the Central Bank in the years whose records survive, lists the requests that the Central Bank refused and describes the action that regulators took against the bank.

مصرف المنصور للاستثمار

$761.3m
bought from the Central Bank from 2012 to 2020, in the records that survive. This is a minimum.
Tier A
$234.1m
asked for but refused by the Central Bank's committee from January 2013 to February 2015
Tier A
$29.2m
the value of the gap between the official and the market price on the dollars it bought, which went to whoever received the dollars
Tier B

Name, licence and status

Name in English
Mansour Bank for Investment
Name in Arabic
مصرف المنصور للاستثمار
Type
Private commercial bank
Iraq Stock Exchange ticker
BMNS
Established
13 September 2005
Licence
No. 368/3/9 of 20 February 2006
Regulatory measures
No sanction, ban or fine recorded as of the date of writing
Securities Commission page
Iraq Securities Commissionisc.gov.iq

Ownership

The corporate holder in the record is بنك قطر الوطني with 54%.

Owners and managers

Being listed here records an ownership stake or a post at the bank. It is not an allegation. Next to each name is the exact legal status. Where the encyclopedia holds a record of the name, the status comes from that record. Otherwise it reads “Not charged as of the date of writing”.
Owners and managers
NameRoleShareAs ofLegal statusSource
Chairman
Not statedNot statedNot charged as of the date of writingIraq Stock ExchangeIraq Securities CommissionCentral Bank of Iraq[1][2]
يوسف النعمة
Vice-chairman
Not stated
28 September 2026
Not charged as of the date of writingmubasher.info
وليد موريس حليم عبد النور
Managing director
Not stated
28 September 2026
Not charged as of the date of writingmubasher.info
احمد نزهت محمد طيب
Board member
Not stated
28 September 2026
Not charged as of the date of writingmubasher.info
زيد عبد الستار البغدادي
Board member
Not stated
28 September 2026
Not charged as of the date of writingmubasher.info
عادل علي المالكي
Board member
Not stated
28 September 2026
Not charged as of the date of writingmubasher.info
خالد أحمد خليفة السادة
Board member
Not stated
28 September 2026
Not charged as of the date of writingmubasher.info
بنك قطر الوطني ش م ع ق(company)
Shareholder
54.1874%
28 September 2026
Not charged as of the date of writingmubasher.info
بنك قطر الوطني(company)
Shareholder
54%
Not statedNot charged as of the date of writingIraq Stock ExchangeIraq Securities CommissionCentral Bank of Iraq[1][2]
بنك الإسكان للتجارة والتمويل، الأردن(company)
Shareholder
7.23%
28 September 2026
Not charged as of the date of writingmubasher.info
نزهت محمد طيب طاهر
Shareholder
5.48%
28 September 2026
Not charged as of the date of writingmubasher.info

Dollars bought from the Central Bank

Dollars bought from the Central Bank, by year

In millions of dollars. Verified rows of the Central Bank's daily records.

Source: Central Bank of Iraq, daily records of the dollar sale, compiled from the verified rowsTier A
Dollars bought from the Central Bank
YearDollars boughtCashTransfers abroadShare of the year's named salesRefusedValue of the price gap
2012$15m$0$15m5.6%Not stated$262,500
2013$543.2m$49.8m$493.4m1.2%$197.5m$21.1m
2014$81.5m$81.5m$00.2%$35.9m$1.5m
2015$43.9m$24.9m$19m0.1%$750,000$1.9m
2016$53.4m$9m$44.5m0.2%Not stated$3.2m
2017$24m$1.8m$22.3m0.1%Not stated$1.3m
2019$240,000$240,000$00.0%Not stated$1,104
Total$761.3m$167.2m$594.2m$234.1m$29.2m
Source: Central Bank of Iraq, daily records of the dollar sale, compiled from the verified rowsTier A
Source: the price gap is our calculation from the Central Bank's price and the market priceTier B

Share of the year's named sales: the bank's part of all the dollars that the surviving records attribute to a named bank in that year.

Refused: the requests that the Central Bank's committee turned down. Its minutes survive only from January 2013 to February 2015. An empty cell means that no minutes survive for that year. The yearly figures come from the yearly ledger. The figure at the top of the page comes from the committee's minutes. The two can differ.

What the Central Bank refused

From January 2013 to February 2015 the Central Bank's committee recorded, day by day, which requests for dollars it turned down and why. Its minutes record 80 occasions on which the committee refused all or part of a request by this bank. On those occasions the bank asked for $414.7 million, and $234.1 million of it was refused.

The largest refusals

The largest refusals
DateAsked forRefusedThe reason, as the committee wrote itCategory
21 May 2013$12.1m$12.1mلتقديمه في تاريخ يوم امسOther
18 May 2014$11.5m$11.5mالحوالة والنقد استبعاد لاختلاف اسم مسؤول وحدة سل الاموال حسب مذكرة الصيرفة المرقمة 1985 في 2014/5/17 وبالنسبة للحوالة اختلاف الممبلغ المطلوب رقما وكتابةName or data do not match; Penalty on, or suspension of, the bank
13 February 2013$11.4m$11.4mعدم وجود توقيع المخول على كشف الحوالاتMissing or defective documents
date unreadable$16.7m$10.7mNot statedNot stated or unreadable
26 February 2013$10.4m$10.4mلعدم وجود توقيع المخول على كتاب التحويلMissing or defective documents; Penalty on, or suspension of, the bank
20 May 2013$9.4m$9.4mلتقديمه في نفس اليومOther
28 May 2013$9.4m$9.4mلعدم كفاية رصيد المصرفFunds did not cover the request; Missing or defective documents
6 June 2013$9.4m$9.4m1. عدم كفاية رصيد المصرف 2. للتقديم في غير الموعد المحدد 1. لاستخدام الفاتورة لأكثر من طلب تحويل تسلسل ,!2(1. في الطلب (punctuation adjusted)Duplicate or reused invoice; Funds did not cover the request
30 July 2013$8.5m$8.5mلانتهاء صلاحية التخويل بموجب كتاب المصرف ق.د/1586 في 8/7/2013Penalty on, or suspension of, the bank
17 February 2013$8m$8mحوالات والاعتمادات في الكشف التحليل للحوالاتOther
21 January 2013$7.3m$7.3mقديمOther
7 January 2014$6.6m$6.6mNot statedNot stated or unreadable

Each reason is quoted in Arabic, in the committee's words. Where a reason is marked “punctuation adjusted”, only its punctuation was changed. The category is ours.

Source: Central Bank of Iraq, daily minutes of the committee that ran the dollar sale, from January 2013 to February 2015Tier A

All the refusals, day by day

Enforcement actions

No enforcement action against this bank is recorded here.

Sources

The documents behind this page, with the words quoted from each.
  1. Iraq Stock ExchangeAccessed 25 September 2026Tier B
    ISX company profiles (companyprofile.html) for 49 listed banks: establishing date, listing date, capital, managing director
    e.g. BHAM مصرف حمورابي: تاريخ التأسيس 26/08/2020؛ تاريخ الإدراج 04/08/2024 | BTRI مصرف عبر العراق للاستثمار: تاريخ التأسيس 21/05/2006 | BLAD مصرف العطاء الاسلامي: تاريخ التأسيس 06/07/2006 | BBAY مصرف بابل: المدير المفوض احمد عباس احمد / الوصي
  2. Iraq Securities CommissionAccessed 25 September 2026 (the page does not show the dates of disclosure)Tier B
    Iraq Securities Commission (هيأة الأوراق المالية) listed-company pages: 'النسب المؤثرة' (significant shareholdings) and 'أعضاء مجلس الإدارة' (board) for banks
    مصرف الاتحاد العراقي ... النسب المؤثرة: 1 عقيل مفتن خفيف البيضاني 13% ... 3 محمد مفتن خفيف البيضاني 13% | أعضاء مجلس الإدارة: عبد الكريم ابراهيم علي رئيس مجلس الادارة ...

    Translation: Union Bank of Iraq ... Significant holdings: Aqeel Meften Khafeef al-Baidhani 13%; Mohammed Meften Khafeef al-Baidhani 13% | Board: Abdul Kareem Ibrahim Ali, chairman ...

  3. Central Bank of IraqAccessed 25 September 2026Tier B
    المصارف الاهلية المحلية (Private local banks: licence numbers/dates, managers, status marks)
    الأقليم التجاري للاستثمار والتمويل ( اميرالد سابقا ) ... 408/3/9 2007/3/1 | الهدى ( ممنوع من التعامل بالدولار ) ... 136/3/9 2008/1/14 | مصرف بابل ( تصفية ) ( ممنوع من التعامل بالدولار ) ... المصفي، د.أحمد عباس أحمد | دار السلام للأستثمار ( حراسة قضائية ) | الشمال للتمويل والاستثمار ( وصاية ) | الطيف الإسلامي للإستثمار… Read the rest والتمويل ( وصاية )( ممنوع من التعامل بالدولار ) | المال الإسلامي للإستثمار ( ممنوع من التعامل بالدولار ) ... 845/3/9 في 2018/12/9
    (punctuation adjusted)

    Translation: Region Trade Bank for Investment & Finance (formerly Emerald) ... licence 408/3/9 of 1 Mar 2007 | Al-Huda (barred from USD dealing) ... licence 136/3/9 of 14 Jan 2008 | Babylon Bank (liquidation) (barred from USD) ... liquidator Dr Ahmed Abbas Ahmed | Dar Es Salaam (judicial receivership) | North Bank (guardianship) | Al-Taif Islamic (guardianship)(barred from USD) | Al-Mal Islamic (barred from USD) ... licence 845/3/9 of 9 Dec 2018

    Original
  4. Central Bank of Iraq23 October 2025Tier A
    النشرة الإحصائية السنوية / Annual Statistical Bulletin (2024 data; PDF created 23 Oct 2025), banks' establishment year, total assets, paid-up capital (pages 116 to 117) and ISX listing table (p.113)
    Region Trade Bank for Investment 2007 1,051,981 300,000 مصرف الاقليم التجاري( اميرالد) | AL-Huda Bank 2008 412,604 250,000 | Erbil Bank 2010 | International Development Bank 2011 | Hammurabi Commercial Bank 2020 | Ur Islamic Bank 2018 334,815 250,000
    Original