Iraq's Corruption
People & Institutions

Director of a company contracted to build steel-frame schools, a former bank director (unnamed)

مدير شركة متعاقدة لبناء المدارس الحديدية ومدير مصرف سابق (لم يُذكر اسمه)

This page sets out what the documents in this archive record about this person: the legal status on the date shown, the cases, the official registers and the sources.

Legal status as of 20 October 2026

Convicted (reported)

Reported convicted by credible media or an official statement; the judgment itself not seen.

What the documents say

The Integrity Commission said on 19 March 2023 that he had been sentenced in absentia (the case was not stated; the judgment, arrest warrant and seizure order against him were issued through the Karrada misdemeanour court) and that it had stopped a Ministry of Education payment of IQD 1.437 billion due to his company for the steel-frame schools, after the cheque had been handed to his son. The judgment was not seen; the payment was held pending investigation.

Kind
Person
Roles
  • Director of a company contracted with the Ministry of Education to build steel-frame schools; formerly a bank director

Cases

These are the cases in this archive that name this entry, with the status in each case on the date shown.
Cases
CaseRoleStatus in this caseDetailAs of
The "steel-frame schools" (Duwaliya) school-building programme: most of the money spent, most schools unfinished (from 2008 to 2021)Director of a company contracted with the Ministry of Education to build steel-frame schools; formerly a bank directorConvicted (reported)The Integrity Commission said on 19 March 2023 that he had been sentenced in absentia (the case was not stated; the judgment, arrest warrant and seizure order against him were issued through the Karrada misdemeanour court) and that it had stopped a Ministry of Education payment of IQD 1.437 billion due to his company for the steel-frame schools, after the cheque had been handed to his son. The judgment was not seen; the payment was held pending investigation.19 October 2026

Dated events

Each recorded step in the legal record of this entry is listed here in order of date.
  1. 19 March 2023
    Convicted (reported)Described by the Integrity Commission as sentenced in absentia; payment of IQD 1.437 billion stopped

Documents

These are the documents behind this entry. Each quote is given in the language of the document.
  1. Baghdad Today (Integrity Commission statement)19 March 2023Official statement reported by the mediaTier B

    النزاهة تضبط معاملة صرف لبناء المدارس الحديدية "سيئة الصيت"

    صرف مبلغ (1،437،000،000) مليار دينار إلى أحد المدانين المحكومين غيابياً (صاحب مدير مصرف سابقاً ومدير إحدى الشركات حالياً) المتعاقدة مع وزارة التربية
    Original address