Directors general and heads of state bodies
This register lists the officials of director-general rank and above since 2003 at the state bodies that handle the most money: the ministries of Finance, Oil, Electricity, Trade and Health, their state companies and banks, the Central Bank of Iraq and the National Investment Commission. This is a first batch, and other bodies will be added. Ministers are in the register of office holders. The names, posts and dates come from official statements and from notices of appointment and dismissal as the press reported them, from news reports and interviews, and from the Central Bank's own pages as the Internet Archive kept them. Posts and years also draw on general reference pages, which are named as such. Each person carries one documented legal status. Where the status is not “Not charged as of the date of writing”, the entry says what it rests on and gives its source. Being listed here is not an allegation. In 26 further cases an official statement describes a director general by the post alone and withholds the name. These cases are kept in the notes of the register and are not attributed to anyone.
| Body | Post | Name | Years | Legal status | Sources |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Central Bank of Iraq | Governor | Sinan al-Shabibi سنان الشبيبي | From 4 September 2003 to 17 October 2012 | AcquittedAfter a reported in-absentia sentence of seven years (Alsumaria, 4 Sep 2014), he was retried and released because the evidence of innocence was stronger,… Read the restaccording to the chair of the parliamentary integrity committee (Alsumaria, 18 Jan 2015). | Source of the status: alsumaria.tv |
| Central Bank of Iraq | Deputy Governor | Mudhir Mohammed Salih مظهر محمد صالح | Until October 2012 | Acquitted The Rusafa misdemeanour court acquitted him on 14 Dec 2014 for lack of sufficient evidence (Alsumaria). | Source of the status: alsumaria.tvOther sources: alsumaria.tv[1][2]iraq-businessnews.com |
| Central Bank of Iraq | Acting Governor | Abdul Basit Turki Saeed عبد الباسط تركي | From 17 October 2012 to 9 September 2014 | Charged or wantedThe judge of the Supreme Criminal Tribunal announced an arrest warrant on 9 Sep 2009 against him, as head of the Board of Supreme Audit, on a charge of… Read the restsquandering public funds under the previous government. He said the timing was suspicious (Alsumaria). No later court outcome was found. | Source of the status: alsumaria.tv |
| Central Bank of Iraq | Governor | Ali Mohsen Ismail al-Allaq علي محسن اسماعيل العلاق | From 7 September 2014 to 14 September 2020 | Accused by an official bodyOn 7 Aug 2024 MP Saud al-Saadi, head of the parliamentary committee investigating violations by the Basra government, filed a complaint with the Public… Read the restProsecution against the Central Bank governor for not cooperating with the committee and for letters of guarantee issued by a bank branch in Basra (964). No outcome was found. | Source of the status: 964media.comOther sources: iraq-businessnews.comweb.archive.orgDocument (saved page)[1]Document (saved page)[2] |
| Central Bank of Iraq | Deputy Governor | Munther Abdulqader Mohammed Darwish al-Sheikhli منذر عبد القادر محمد درويش الشيخلي | From 2016 | Not charged as of the date of writing | Sources for the post and the years: web.archive.orgDocument (saved page)[1]Document (saved page)[2]Document[3] |
| Central Bank of Iraq | Governor | Mustafa Ghaleb Mukheef مصطفى غالب مخيف | From 14 September 2020 to 23 January 2023 | Not charged as of the date of writing | Sources for the post and the years: Document (saved page)web.archive.orgiraq-businessnews.com |
| Central Bank of Iraq | Deputy Governor (acting), technical affairs | Ammar Hamad Khalaf Ibrahim عمار حمد خلف ابراهيم | From February 2021 | Not charged as of the date of writing | Sources for the post and the years: web.archive.orgDocument (saved page)[1]Document (saved page)[2] |
| Central Bank of Iraq | Governor | Ali Mohsen Ismail al-Allaq علي محسن اسماعيل العلاق | From 23 January 2023 to 18 June 2026 | Accused by an official body Same status as for his first term: the complaint of MP Saud al-Saadi to the Public Prosecution of 7 Aug 2024 (964). No outcome was found. | Source of the status: 964media.comOther sources: iraq-businessnews.combaghdadtoday.news |
| Central Bank of Iraq | Deputy Governor | Faisal Wisam al-Haimus فيصل وسام الهيمص | From March 2023 | Not charged as of the date of writing | |
| Central Bank of Iraq | Governor (tasked) | Nizar Nasser Hussein نزار ناصر | From 18 June 2026 | Not charged as of the date of writing | Sources for the post and the years: baghdadtoday.newsiraq-businessnews.com[1][2] |
| Ministry of Finance | Undersecretary (Deputy Minister) | Fadhil Nabi فاضل نبي | Until February 2017 | Not charged as of the date of writing | Sources for the post and the years: alsumaria.tv[1][2][3][4]iraqoilreport.com |
| Ministry of Finance | Undersecretary (acting) | Taif Sami Mohammed طيف سامي | From 14 February 2017 to October 2022 | Not charged as of the date of writing | Sources for the post and the years: kurdistan24.netalsumaria.tv[1][2]shafaq.com |
| Ministry of Finance | Undersecretary (Deputy Minister) | Maher Hammad al-Juhan ماهر حمّاد الجوهان | Until 2019 | Accused by an official bodyOn 7 May 2019 MP Ali al-Sajri accused the undersecretary of being among the most corrupt and of embezzling millions of dollars through fictitious deals, and… Read the restsaid files proved he took 10 to 15 percent of provincial budgets (Alsumaria). No charge or ruling found. | Source of the status: alsumaria.tv |
| Ministry of Finance | Undersecretary (acting) | Masoud Haidar Rustam مسعود حيدر رستم | From 12 January 2023 to 1 December 2023 | Not charged as of the date of writing | Sources for the post and the years: alsumaria.tvobserveriraq.net[1][2] |
| Ministry of Finance | Undersecretary (Deputy Minister) | Rebwar Hamlan ريباز حملان | Until 4 March 2025 | Not charged as of the date of writing | Sources for the post and the years: observeriraq.net |
| Ministry of Finance | Undersecretary (acting) | Ali Karim Hussein علي كريم حسين | From 10 June 2026 | Not charged as of the date of writing | Sources for the post and the years: observeriraq.netmawazin.net |
| Ministry of Finance | Undersecretary (Deputy Minister) | Dhia Habib Faris al-Khayoun ضياء حبيب فارس الخيون | Not stated | Convicted (reported)The Integrity Commission said on 16 Apr 2018 that Jordanian authorities arrested the fugitive convict Dhia Habib Faris al-Khayoun, former director general of… Read the restRafidain Bank, who had three rulings from misdemeanour and felony courts totalling 12 years (Alsumaria). | Source of the status: alsumaria.tvGeneral reference for the post and the years: Wikipedia |
| General Commission for Taxes, Ministry of Finance | Director General (acting) | Shaker Mahmoud Hussain شاكر محمود حسين | Until 2 August 2021 | Not charged as of the date of writing | Sources for the post and the years: alsumaria.tv |
| General Commission for Taxes, Ministry of Finance | Director General (assigned) | Samer Abdul Hadi Qasim سامر عبد الهادي قاسم | From 2 August 2021 | Not charged as of the date of writing | Sources for the post and the years: alsumaria.tv |
| General Commission for Taxes, Ministry of Finance | Acting head (director general of the legal department, in addition to his post) | Mohammed Hamza Mustafa محمد حمزة مصطفى | From 20 September 2022 | Not charged as of the date of writing | Sources for the post and the years: observeriraq.net |
| General Commission for Taxes, Ministry of Finance | Director General (assigned) | Abdul Sattar Hashim Ali عبد الستار هاشم علي | From 29 October 2024 | Not charged as of the date of writing | Sources for the post and the years: observeriraq.net |
| General Commission for Taxes, Ministry of Finance | Director General | Ali Waad Allawi علي وعد علاوي | Until 29 October 2024 | Under investigationThe Integrity Commission said on 28 Oct 2024 that its investigators had begun inquiries into an audio leak attributed to him about manipulating tax records for… Read the restbribes, and the Finance Ministry withdrew his hand for 60 days on 29 Oct 2024 and formed an urgent investigative committee (Alsumaria; Iraq Observer). | Source of the status: alsumaria.tvOther sources: alsumaria.tvobserveriraq.net[1][2] |
| General Commission for Taxes, Ministry of Finance | Director General | Osama Hussam Jawdat أسامة حسام جودت | Not stated | Convicted (reported)The Integrity Commission said on 29 Jun 2026 that the Central Anti-Corruption Criminal Court sentenced in person Osama Hussam Jawdat, former director general of… Read the restthe commission, to ten years for money laundering, with fines and seizure of property, and his wife to five years and one month (Alsumaria). | Source of the status: alsumaria.tv |
| General Commission for Customs, Ministry of Finance | Director General | Kadhim Ali Abdullah كاظم علي عبد الله | Until August 2017 | Accused by an official bodyOn 9 Apr 2016 Hakim al-Zamili, chair of the parliamentary security and defence committee, said the customs director Kadhim Ali Abdullah had corruption… Read the restsuspicions and that he would send a letter to the Integrity Commission (Alsumaria). No charge found. | Source of the status: alsumaria.tvOther sources: alsumaria.tv |
| General Commission for Customs, Ministry of Finance | Director General (assigned) | Munther Abdul Amir Asad منذر عبد الأمير أسد | From August 2017 to 30 July 2019 | Charges dropped or case closed The Federal Court of Cassation annulled the charge and set aside a ruling issued against him in June 2019, according to the court document published by Alsumaria on 31 Jul 2019. | Source of the status: alsumaria.tv |
| General Commission for Customs, Ministry of Finance | Director General | Sadiq Hawaidi Abbas صادق هويدي عباس | From 27 May 2021 to 2 August 2021 | Not charged as of the date of writing | |
| General Commission for Customs, Ministry of Finance | Director General | Shaker Mahmoud Hussain شاكر محمود حسين | From 2 August 2021 | Not charged as of the date of writing | |
| General Commission for Customs, Ministry of Finance | Director General (assigned) | Hassan al-Aqili حسن العكيلي | From 31 January 2023 | Not charged as of the date of writing | Sources for the post and the years: alsumaria.tv |
| General Commission for Customs, Ministry of Finance | Director General | Thamer Qasim Daoud ثامر قاسم داود | From 14 August 2026 | Not charged as of the date of writing | Sources for the post and the years: observeriraq.net |
| Rafidain Bank | Director General | Dhia Habib Faris al-Khayoun ضياء حبيب فارس الخيون | Until 2003 | Convicted (reported)The Integrity Commission said on 16 Apr 2018 that Jordanian authorities arrested the fugitive convict Dhia Habib Faris al-Khayoun, former director general of… Read the restRafidain Bank, who had three rulings totalling 12 years (Alsumaria). | Source of the status: alsumaria.tvGeneral reference for the post and the years: Wikipedia |
| Rafidain Bank | Acting Director General | Basim Kamal Mahdi al-Hasani باسم كمال الحسني | From 20 March 2013 | Not charged as of the date of writing | |
| Rafidain Bank | Director General | Khawla Talib Jabbar خولة طالب جبار | From September 2017 to 2019 | Accused by an official body | |
| Rafidain Bank | Director General | Afrah Mohammed Abd Ali افراح محمد عبد علي | 2020 | Convicted (reported)A judicial source told Alsumaria on 8 Jul 2021 that the Karkh anti-corruption criminal court sentenced Afrah Mohammed Abd Ali, director general of Rafidain… Read the restBank, with two others, to three years under article 316 of the Penal Code for embezzling a large sum. | Source of the status: alsumaria.tv |
| Rafidain Bank | Director General | Sadiq Hawaidi صادق هويدي | From September 2020 | Not charged as of the date of writing | |
| Rafidain Bank | Acting Director General | Hussein Ali Mohaisen حسين علي محيسن | From 30 December 2020 to 9 March 2021 | Convicted (reported)Alsumaria reported on 17 Jan 2025 that the Central Anti-Corruption Criminal Court sentenced the former director of Rafidain Bank, Hussein Ali Mohaisen, to three… Read the restyears' hard imprisonment, according to an official document published with the report. | Source of the status: alsumaria.tv |
| Rafidain Bank | Director General (assigned) | Abdul Hassan Jamal Abdullah عبد الحسن جمال عبد الله | From 5 December 2021 to 6 November 2022 | Not charged as of the date of writing | Sources for the post and the years: alsumaria.tvobserveriraq.net |
| Rafidain Bank | Acting Director General | Mohammed Samir Abbas محمد سمير عباس | From 6 November 2022 | Not charged as of the date of writing | Sources for the post and the years: observeriraq.net |
| Rafidain Bank | Acting Director General | Maher Hussein Rashid ماهر حسين رشيد | From 11 July 2023 | Not charged as of the date of writing | Sources for the post and the years: alsumaria.tv |
| Rafidain Bank | Director General | Ali al-Fatlawi علي الفتلاوي | From 24 March 2025 | Not charged as of the date of writing | Sources for the post and the years: observeriraq.net |
| Rafidain Bank | Director General | Ali Karim Hussein علي كريم حسين | From 21 July 2025 | Not charged as of the date of writing | Sources for the post and the years: observeriraq.net |
| Rasheed Bank | Director General | Mohammed Samir Abbas محمد سمير عباس | Until 30 January 2025 | Not charged as of the date of writing | |
| Rasheed Bank | Director General | Rashad al-Dayni رشاد الدايني | Not stated | Not charged as of the date of writing | |
| Rasheed Bank | Chairman and General Manager | Dhia Habib Faris al-Khayoun ضياء حبيب فارس الخيون | Not stated | Convicted (reported)The Integrity Commission said on 16 Apr 2018 that Jordanian authorities arrested the fugitive convict Dhia Habib Faris al-Khayoun, former director general of… Read the restRafidain Bank, who had three rulings totalling 12 years (Alsumaria). | Source of the status: alsumaria.tvOther sources: Document (saved page)ofac.treasury.govGeneral reference for the post and the years: Wikipedia |
| Trade Bank of Iraq (Iraqi Trade Bank) | President and Chairman (Director General) | Hussein al-Uzri حسين الأزري | Until June 2011 | Charged or wantedIraq Business News reported on 5 Jun 2011, after a raid on the bank, an arrest warrant for its president, who had reportedly fled to Lebanon; Cabinet… Read the restSecretary-General Ali al-Allaq said on 12 Oct 2011 that a court had ordered his return from Beirut, where he fled after being accused of wasting millions of dollars (Alsumaria). | Source of the status: alsumaria.tv |
| Trade Bank of Iraq (Iraqi Trade Bank) | President and Chairman (Director General) | Hamdiya Mahmoud Faraj al-Jaf حمدية محمود فرج الجاف | From June 2011 to June 2016 | Convicted (reported)The Integrity Commission said on 4 Jun 2025 it had recovered from the UAE the convicted fugitive former director general of the Trade Bank of Iraq, sentenced in… Read the rest17 rulings in absentia totalling 115 years (964). | Source of the status: 964media.comOther sources: iraq-businessnews.com964media.comalsumaria.tv[1][2]General reference for the post and the years: Wikipedia |
| Trade Bank of Iraq (Iraqi Trade Bank) | President and Chairman (Director General) | Faisal Wisam al-Haimus فيصل وسام الهيمص | From June 2016 to September 2020 | Not charged as of the date of writing | Sources for the post and the years: iraq-businessnews.comalsumaria.tvGeneral reference for the post and the years: Wikipedia |
| Trade Bank of Iraq (Iraqi Trade Bank) | President and Chairman | Salem Jawad Abdul Hadi al-Jalabi (Salem Chalabi) سالم جواد الجلبي | From September 2020 to January 2023 | Not charged as of the date of writing | |
| Trade Bank of Iraq (Iraqi Trade Bank) | Acting Chairman and President | Bilal Sabah Hussein al-Hamdani بلال صباح حسين الحمداني | From January 2023 to June 2023 | Not charged as of the date of writing | Sources for the post and the years: iraq-businessnews.comGeneral reference for the post and the years: Wikipedia |
| Trade Bank of Iraq (Iraqi Trade Bank) | Chairman and President | Mohammed Mohammed Jawad Kazim al-Dulaimi محمد جواد كاظم | From June 2023 to January 2024 | Not charged as of the date of writing | Sources for the post and the years: alsumaria.tv |
| Trade Bank of Iraq (Iraqi Trade Bank) | Chairman and President | Bilal Sabah Hussein Hamoudi بلال صباح حسين حمودي | From January 2024 to August 2026 | Not charged as of the date of writing | Sources for the post and the years: alsumaria.tviraq-businessnews.com |