Ashur International Bank for Investment
This page sets out what the record shows about Ashur International Bank for Investment. It names the owners and managers, gives the dollars the bank bought from the Central Bank in the years whose records survive, lists the requests that the Central Bank refused and describes the action that regulators took against the bank.
مصرف آشور الدولي للاستثمار
Name, licence and status
- Name in English
- Ashur International Bank for Investment
- Name in Arabic
- مصرف آشور الدولي للاستثمار
- Type
- Private commercial bank
- Iraq Stock Exchange ticker
- BASH
- Established
- 25 April 2005
- Licence
- No. 2627/3/9 of 22 September 2005
- Regulatory measures
- Barred from dollar dealing by the Central Bank (January 2024)
- Website
- www.ashurbank.iq
- Securities Commission page
- Iraq Securities Commissionisc.gov.iq
Ownership
The corporate holder in the record is شركة مصرف الرافدين with 13%.
Owners and managers
| Name | Role | Share | As of | Legal status | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
Chairman | Not stated | Not stated | Not charged as of the date of writing | Iraq Stock ExchangeIraq Securities CommissionCentral Bank of Iraq[1][2] | |
نور نوري الحنظل | Board member | Not stated | 16 June 2025 | Not charged as of the date of writing | mubasher.info |
سلوان حافظ حميد | Board member | Not stated | 16 June 2025 | Not charged as of the date of writing | mubasher.info |
بكر إبراهيم محمود | Board member | Not stated | 16 June 2025 | Not charged as of the date of writing | mubasher.info |
طارق علي جاسم | Board member | Not stated | 16 June 2025 | Not charged as of the date of writing | mubasher.info |
زياد عبدالرزاق سليم | Board member | Not stated | 16 June 2025 | Not charged as of the date of writing | mubasher.info |
هناء علي حسين | Board member | Not stated | 16 June 2025 | Not charged as of the date of writing | mubasher.info |
مصرف الرافدين(company) | Shareholder | 13.28% | 16 June 2025 | Not charged as of the date of writing | mubasher.info |
شركة مصرف الرافدين(company) | Shareholder | 13% | Not stated | Not charged as of the date of writing | Iraq Stock ExchangeIraq Securities CommissionCentral Bank of Iraq[1][2] |
وديع نوري الحنظل | Shareholder | 9.99% | 16 June 2025 | Not charged as of the date of writing | mubasher.info |
سما الهدى للتجارة و المقاولات العامة | Shareholder | 9.99% | 16 June 2025 | Not charged as of the date of writing | mubasher.info |
حردان نوري الحنظل | Shareholder | 9.60% | 16 June 2025 | Not charged as of the date of writing | mubasher.info |
نور نوري الحنظل | Shareholder | 9.02% | 16 June 2025 | Not charged as of the date of writing | mubasher.info |
محمد نوري الحنظل | Shareholder | 9.01% | 16 June 2025 | Not charged as of the date of writing | mubasher.info |
ودود نوري الحنظل | Shareholder | 8.57% | 16 June 2025 | Not charged as of the date of writing | mubasher.info |
عمر وديع نوري | Shareholder | 8.0394% | 16 June 2025 | Not charged as of the date of writing | mubasher.info |
اية وديع نوري | Shareholder | 7.90% | 16 June 2025 | Not charged as of the date of writing | mubasher.info |
Dollars bought from the Central Bank
Dollars bought from the Central Bank, by year
In billions of dollars. Verified rows of the Central Bank's daily records.
| Year | Dollars bought | Cash | Transfers abroad | Share of the year's named sales | Refused | Value of the price gap |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2012 | $12.1m | $75,000 | $12m | 4.5% | Not stated | $211,312 |
| 2013 | $1.3bn | $455m | $893m | 2.9% | $305.9m | $55.8m |
| 2014 | $2.2bn | $943m | $1.3bn | 6.3% | $432.8m | $46m |
| 2015 | $1.7bn | $353.5m | $1.4bn | 5.4% | $102.7m | $81m |
| 2016 | $1.3bn | $349.5m | $925.4m | 4.8% | Not stated | $87.1m |
| 2017 | $825.3m | $330.9m | $494.4m | 4.2% | Not stated | $35.4m |
| 2018 | $6m | $0 | $6m | 3.8% | Not stated | $190,399 |
| 2019 | $195.2m | $1.2m | $194m | 1.7% | Not stated | $921,610 |
| 2020 | $4.6m | $30,000 | $4.6m | 2.5% | Not stated | $150,569 |
| Total | $7.6bn | $2.4bn | $5.2bn | $841.3m | $306.7m |
Share of the year's named sales: the bank's part of all the dollars that the surviving records attribute to a named bank in that year.
Refused: the requests that the Central Bank's committee turned down. Its minutes survive only from January 2013 to February 2015. An empty cell means that no minutes survive for that year. The yearly figures come from the yearly ledger. The figure at the top of the page comes from the committee's minutes. The two can differ.
What the Central Bank refused
From January 2013 to February 2015 the Central Bank's committee recorded, day by day, which requests for dollars it turned down and why. Its minutes record 154 occasions on which the committee refused all or part of a request by this bank. On those occasions the bank asked for $2.6 billion, and $854.8 million of it was refused.
The largest refusals
| Date | Asked for | Refused | The reason, as the committee wrote it | Category |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2 June 2014 | $36.4m | $36.4m | سبب الاستبعاد عسب طلب المصرف بكتابه المرقم م ا/اد 1440 في 2014/6/3 | Penalty on, or suspension of, the bank; At the bank's request |
| 26 February 2014 | $27.9m | $27.9m | سبب الاستبع وشراء العملة الاجنبية | Other |
| 9 December 2013 | $25.1m | $25.1m | سهب الامنتهعا عم كالنية الرميد البادي في حب المصرف | Other |
| 9 February 2015 | $23.2m | $18.7m | استبعاد جزء من المحوالة لاغراض تدائيقية | Held for audit |
| 29 May 2014 | $31.6m | $18.4m | سهب الاستيعاد 18,430,000 يسته ت !1ر3) تؤول فى ثوقت الخاضر لوجوه مشاريات متقاو | Other |
| date unreadable | $18.4m | $18.4m | سبب الاستبعاد إيستبعد ,!يوجل في الوقت الحاضر) لاغراض تدقيقية | Held for audit; Timing or procedure |
| 3 March 2014 | $24.7m | $17.4m | سبب الاستبعة ,ت1)منفلا اجتزة الاستيراد و,ت2) المخراض تقهقية | Other |
| 28 January 2014 | $17.4m | $17.4m | سهب الاستنعار لا غراض تدايقية | Held for audit |
| 3 February 2014 | $29.9m | $17.2m | سبب الاستبعة | Other |
| 10 December 2013 | $17.1m | $17.1m | Not stated | Not stated or unreadable |
| date unreadable | $17m | $17m | سهب الاستبعة الميلغ الستبعد (ت1) لالتهاء كاريخ لفاذ الفاتورة و,ت2) ايراض تدقيقية | Held for audit |
| 18 May 2014 | $15.8m | $15.8m | 15,818,000 لاغراض تدقيقية | Held for audit |
Each reason is quoted in Arabic, in the committee's words. Where a reason is marked “punctuation adjusted”, only its punctuation was changed. The category is ours.
Enforcement actions
- 29 January 2024Central Bank of IraqBarred from the currency window and from dealing in dollars
Against: Investment Bank of Iraq; Union Bank of Iraq; Kurdistan International Islamic Bank; Ashur International Bank; Al-Huda Bank; Al-Janoob Islamic Bank; Al-Arabiya Islamic Bank; Hammurabi Commercial Bank
The Central Bank's list gives 29 January 2024 as the date for all 8 banks. Reuters reported the ban on 4 February 2024.
Current position: Investment Bank of Iraq, Kurdistan International Islamic, Al-Janoob, Al-Arabiya named (anonymous Central Bank source) among seven banks cleared July 2026 to return to non-dollar correspondent channels
Original
Sources
- Iraq Stock ExchangeAccessed 25 September 2026Tier BISX company profiles (companyprofile.html) for 49 listed banks: establishing date, listing date, capital, managing director
e.g. BHAM مصرف حمورابي: تاريخ التأسيس 26/08/2020؛ تاريخ الإدراج 04/08/2024 | BTRI مصرف عبر العراق للاستثمار: تاريخ التأسيس 21/05/2006 | BLAD مصرف العطاء الاسلامي: تاريخ التأسيس 06/07/2006 | BBAY مصرف بابل: المدير المفوض احمد عباس احمد / الوصي
- Iraq Securities CommissionAccessed 25 September 2026 (the page does not show the dates of disclosure)Tier BIraq Securities Commission (هيأة الأوراق المالية) listed-company pages: 'النسب المؤثرة' (significant shareholdings) and 'أعضاء مجلس الإدارة' (board) for banks
مصرف الاتحاد العراقي ... النسب المؤثرة: 1 عقيل مفتن خفيف البيضاني 13% ... 3 محمد مفتن خفيف البيضاني 13% | أعضاء مجلس الإدارة: عبد الكريم ابراهيم علي رئيس مجلس الادارة ...
Translation: Union Bank of Iraq ... Significant holdings: Aqeel Meften Khafeef al-Baidhani 13%; Mohammed Meften Khafeef al-Baidhani 13% | Board: Abdul Kareem Ibrahim Ali, chairman ...
- Central Bank of IraqAccessed 25 September 2026Tier Bالمصارف الاهلية المحلية (Private local banks: licence numbers/dates, managers, status marks)
الأقليم التجاري للاستثمار والتمويل ( اميرالد سابقا ) ... 408/3/9 2007/3/1 | الهدى ( ممنوع من التعامل بالدولار ) ... 136/3/9 2008/1/14 | مصرف بابل ( تصفية ) ( ممنوع من التعامل بالدولار ) ... المصفي، د.أحمد عباس أحمد | دار السلام للأستثمار ( حراسة قضائية ) | الشمال للتمويل والاستثمار ( وصاية ) | الطيف الإسلامي للإستثمار… Read the rest
والتمويل ( وصاية )( ممنوع من التعامل بالدولار ) | المال الإسلامي للإستثمار ( ممنوع من التعامل بالدولار ) ... 845/3/9 في 2018/12/9(punctuation adjusted)Translation: Region Trade Bank for Investment & Finance (formerly Emerald) ... licence 408/3/9 of 1 Mar 2007 | Al-Huda (barred from USD dealing) ... licence 136/3/9 of 14 Jan 2008 | Babylon Bank (liquidation) (barred from USD) ... liquidator Dr Ahmed Abbas Ahmed | Dar Es Salaam (judicial receivership) | North Bank (guardianship) | Al-Taif Islamic (guardianship)(barred from USD) | Al-Mal Islamic (barred from USD) ... licence 845/3/9 of 9 Dec 2018
Original - Central Bank of Iraq23 October 2025Tier Aالنشرة الإحصائية السنوية / Annual Statistical Bulletin (2024 data; PDF created 23 Oct 2025), banks' establishment year, total assets, paid-up capital (pages 116 to 117) and ISX listing table (p.113)
Region Trade Bank for Investment 2007 1,051,981 300,000 مصرف الاقليم التجاري( اميرالد) | AL-Huda Bank 2008 412,604 250,000 | Erbil Bank 2010 | International Development Bank 2011 | Hammurabi Commercial Bank 2020 | Ur Islamic Bank 2018 334,815 250,000
Original