Skip to content
The Ledger

Bank of Baghdad

This page sets out what the record shows about Bank of Baghdad. It names the owners and managers, gives the dollars the bank bought from the Central Bank in the years whose records survive, lists the requests that the Central Bank refused and describes the action that regulators took against the bank.

مصرف بغداد

$1.6bn
bought from the Central Bank from 2012 to 2020, in the records that survive. This is a minimum.
Tier A
$148.1m
asked for but refused by the Central Bank's committee from January 2013 to February 2015
Tier A
$56.9m
the value of the gap between the official and the market price on the dollars it bought, which went to whoever received the dollars
Tier B

Name, licence and status

Name in English
Bank of Baghdad
Name in Arabic
مصرف بغداد
Type
Private commercial bank
Iraq Stock Exchange ticker
BBOB
Established
18 February 1992
Licence
No. ت.ص/9/9476 of 5 May 1992
Regulatory measures
No sanction, ban or fine recorded as of the date of writing
Securities Commission page
Iraq Securities Commissionisc.gov.iq

Ownership

Iraq Securities Commission: Jordan Kuwait Bank 53%; Euphrates Iraq Fund Ltd 20%; chairman Abdul Karim Alawi al-Kabariti.

Owners and managers

Being listed here records an ownership stake or a post at the bank. It is not an allegation. Next to each name is the exact legal status. Where the encyclopedia holds a record of the name, the status comes from that record. Otherwise it reads “Not charged as of the date of writing”.
Owners and managers
NameRoleShareAs ofLegal statusSource
Chairman
Board member
Not stated
28 September 2026
Not charged as of the date of writingIraq Stock ExchangeIraq Securities CommissionCentral Bank of Iraq[1][2]mubasher.info
ماجد علاوي حسين الساعدي
Chairman
Not stated
28 September 2026
Not charged as of the date of writingmubasher.info
هيثم سميح بدر الدين البطيخي
Vice-chairman
Not stated
28 September 2026
Not charged as of the date of writingmubasher.info
باسل حسام الدين الضاحي
Managing director
Not stated
28 September 2026
Not charged as of the date of writingmubasher.info
مسعود محمود جوهر حيات
Board member
Not stated
28 September 2026
Not charged as of the date of writingmubasher.info
نعمان شاكر نعمان
Board member
Not stated
28 September 2026
Not charged as of the date of writingmubasher.info
دارا نورالدين بهاء الدين
Board member
Not stated
28 September 2026
Not charged as of the date of writingmubasher.info
زهير حمادة أحمد إدريس
Board member
Not stated
28 September 2026
Not charged as of the date of writingmubasher.info
مصطفى سمير الشامي
Board member
Not stated
28 September 2026
Not charged as of the date of writingmubasher.info
البنك الأردني الكويتي، الأردن(company)
Shareholder
53.44%
28 September 2026
Not charged as of the date of writingmubasher.info
البنك الكويتي الاردني(company)
Shareholder
53%
Not statedNot charged as of the date of writingIraq Stock ExchangeIraq Securities CommissionCentral Bank of Iraq[1][2]
Shareholder
20%
Not statedNot charged as of the date of writingIraq Stock ExchangeIraq Securities CommissionCentral Bank of Iraq[1][2]
صندوق الفرات العراق المحدودة
Shareholder
19.94%
28 September 2026
Not charged as of the date of writingmubasher.info

Dollars bought from the Central Bank

Dollars bought from the Central Bank, by year

In millions of dollars. Verified rows of the Central Bank's daily records.

Source: Central Bank of Iraq, daily records of the dollar sale, compiled from the verified rowsTier A
Dollars bought from the Central Bank
YearDollars boughtCashTransfers abroadShare of the year's named salesRefusedValue of the price gap
2013$452.1m$342.7m$109.4m1.0%$112.1m$18.6m
2014$452m$452m$01.3%$36m$9.2m
2015$536.4m$6.4m$530.1m1.7%$0$17m
2016$137.9m$1.1m$136.9m0.5%Not stated$10.2m
2017$52m$0$52m0.3%Not stated$2m
2018$1.5m$0$1.5m1.0%Not stated$48,869
Total$1.6bn$802.2m$829.9m$148.1m$56.9m
Source: Central Bank of Iraq, daily records of the dollar sale, compiled from the verified rowsTier A
Source: the price gap is our calculation from the Central Bank's price and the market priceTier B

Share of the year's named sales: the bank's part of all the dollars that the surviving records attribute to a named bank in that year.

Refused: the requests that the Central Bank's committee turned down. Its minutes survive only from January 2013 to February 2015. An empty cell means that no minutes survive for that year. The yearly figures come from the yearly ledger. The figure at the top of the page comes from the committee's minutes. The two can differ.

What the Central Bank refused

From January 2013 to February 2015 the Central Bank's committee recorded, day by day, which requests for dollars it turned down and why. Its minutes record 83 occasions on which the committee refused all or part of a request by this bank. On those occasions the bank asked for $740.9 million, and $148.1 million of it was refused.

The largest refusals

The largest refusals
DateAsked forRefusedThe reason, as the committee wrote itCategory
31 May 2014$12m$12mالعدم ارفاق المصرف قيد RTGSFunds did not cover the request; Missing or defective documents
17 May 2014$10m$10m10,000,000 الاغراض تدقيقيةHeld for audit
20 January 2013$8.6m$8.6mلاختلاف صيغة الاقرار في الحوالات وعدم ختم وتوقيع كشف النقدName or data do not match
8 July 2013$8m$8mلعدم تقديمة فلاش باسماء الزباننMissing or defective documents
30 October 2013$8m$8mعدم كتابة اسم المصرف على استمارة الشراءPenalty on, or suspension of, the bank
15 December 2013$8m$8mت واختلاف في العلول وخطأ فى الارقدمName or data do not match
date unreadable$8m$8mيداعه قيد RTGS في يوم 3/2 ليو /2014/03 مخالف بذلك تعليمات 588 فFunds did not cover the request
24 June 2013$15.6m$7.6m1. تاريخ الفتورة قديم 2. لتكرار الاسماء في كشف زبائن النقد (punctuation adjusted)Same customer or name repeated
13 June 2013$7.6m$7.6mلعدم الالتزام بالموعد المحدد للتقديمMissing or defective documents
25 February 2013$9.9m$6mزبون مخالف لتعليمات غسيل الاموالCustomer flagged under anti-money-laundering rules
31 January 2013$5.9m$5.9mعدم وجود رقم استماره الشراءMissing or defective documents
12 March 2013$10.5m$5.6mلاغراض تدقيقية تتعلق بالزبونHeld for audit

Each reason is quoted in Arabic, in the committee's words. Where a reason is marked “punctuation adjusted”, only its punctuation was changed. The category is ours.

Source: Central Bank of Iraq, daily minutes of the committee that ran the dollar sale, from January 2013 to February 2015Tier A

All the refusals, day by day

Enforcement actions

No enforcement action against this bank is recorded here.

Sources

The documents behind this page, with the words quoted from each.
  1. Iraq Stock ExchangeAccessed 25 September 2026Tier B
    ISX company profiles (companyprofile.html) for 49 listed banks: establishing date, listing date, capital, managing director
    e.g. BHAM مصرف حمورابي: تاريخ التأسيس 26/08/2020؛ تاريخ الإدراج 04/08/2024 | BTRI مصرف عبر العراق للاستثمار: تاريخ التأسيس 21/05/2006 | BLAD مصرف العطاء الاسلامي: تاريخ التأسيس 06/07/2006 | BBAY مصرف بابل: المدير المفوض احمد عباس احمد / الوصي
  2. Iraq Securities CommissionAccessed 25 September 2026 (the page does not show the dates of disclosure)Tier B
    Iraq Securities Commission (هيأة الأوراق المالية) listed-company pages: 'النسب المؤثرة' (significant shareholdings) and 'أعضاء مجلس الإدارة' (board) for banks
    مصرف الاتحاد العراقي ... النسب المؤثرة: 1 عقيل مفتن خفيف البيضاني 13% ... 3 محمد مفتن خفيف البيضاني 13% | أعضاء مجلس الإدارة: عبد الكريم ابراهيم علي رئيس مجلس الادارة ...

    Translation: Union Bank of Iraq ... Significant holdings: Aqeel Meften Khafeef al-Baidhani 13%; Mohammed Meften Khafeef al-Baidhani 13% | Board: Abdul Kareem Ibrahim Ali, chairman ...

  3. Central Bank of IraqAccessed 25 September 2026Tier B
    المصارف الاهلية المحلية (Private local banks: licence numbers/dates, managers, status marks)
    الأقليم التجاري للاستثمار والتمويل ( اميرالد سابقا ) ... 408/3/9 2007/3/1 | الهدى ( ممنوع من التعامل بالدولار ) ... 136/3/9 2008/1/14 | مصرف بابل ( تصفية ) ( ممنوع من التعامل بالدولار ) ... المصفي، د.أحمد عباس أحمد | دار السلام للأستثمار ( حراسة قضائية ) | الشمال للتمويل والاستثمار ( وصاية ) | الطيف الإسلامي للإستثمار… Read the rest والتمويل ( وصاية )( ممنوع من التعامل بالدولار ) | المال الإسلامي للإستثمار ( ممنوع من التعامل بالدولار ) ... 845/3/9 في 2018/12/9
    (punctuation adjusted)

    Translation: Region Trade Bank for Investment & Finance (formerly Emerald) ... licence 408/3/9 of 1 Mar 2007 | Al-Huda (barred from USD dealing) ... licence 136/3/9 of 14 Jan 2008 | Babylon Bank (liquidation) (barred from USD) ... liquidator Dr Ahmed Abbas Ahmed | Dar Es Salaam (judicial receivership) | North Bank (guardianship) | Al-Taif Islamic (guardianship)(barred from USD) | Al-Mal Islamic (barred from USD) ... licence 845/3/9 of 9 Dec 2018

    Original
  4. Central Bank of Iraq23 October 2025Tier A
    النشرة الإحصائية السنوية / Annual Statistical Bulletin (2024 data; PDF created 23 Oct 2025), banks' establishment year, total assets, paid-up capital (pages 116 to 117) and ISX listing table (p.113)
    Region Trade Bank for Investment 2007 1,051,981 300,000 مصرف الاقليم التجاري( اميرالد) | AL-Huda Bank 2008 412,604 250,000 | Erbil Bank 2010 | International Development Bank 2011 | Hammurabi Commercial Bank 2020 | Ur Islamic Bank 2018 334,815 250,000
    Original

In the press

Articles that name the bank, newest first. Each headline is given in the publication's own words.