Iraq's Corruption
The Ledger

Erbil Bank for Investment & Finance

This page sets out what the record shows about Erbil Bank for Investment & Finance. It names the owners and managers, gives the dollars the bank bought from the Central Bank in the years whose records survive, lists the requests that the Central Bank refused and describes the action that regulators took against the bank.

مصرف أربيل للاستثمار والتمويل

$8.2bn
bought from the Central Bank from 2012 to 2020, in the records that survive. This is a minimum.
Tier A
$1.6bn
asked for but refused by the Central Bank's committee from January 2013 to February 2015
Tier A
$315.9m
the value of the gap between the official and the market price on the dollars it bought, which went to whoever received the dollars
Tier B

Name, licence and status

Name in English
Erbil Bank for Investment & Finance
Name in Arabic
مصرف أربيل للاستثمار والتمويل
Type
Private commercial bank
Iraq Stock Exchange ticker
BERI
Established
20 April 2009
Licence
No. 46/3/9 of 24 June 2010
Regulatory measures
Barred from dollar dealing by the Central Bank (July 2023)
Securities Commission page
Iraq Securities Commissionisc.gov.iq

Ownership

The Iraq Securities Commission page names one significant individual holder: محمد سعدي أحمد سيد محمد سعيد with 10%. The page was read on 25 September 2026.

Owners and managers

Being listed here records an ownership stake or a post at the bank. It is not an allegation. Next to each name is the exact legal status. Where the encyclopedia holds a record of the name, the status comes from that record. Otherwise it reads “Not charged as of the date of writing”.
Owners and managers
NameRoleShareAs ofLegal statusSource
Chairman
Not statedNot statedNot charged as of the date of writingIraq Stock ExchangeIraq Securities CommissionCentral Bank of Iraq[1][2]
Shareholder
10%
Not statedNot charged as of the date of writingIraq Stock ExchangeIraq Securities CommissionCentral Bank of Iraq[1][2]

Dollars bought from the Central Bank

Dollars bought from the Central Bank, by year

In billions of dollars. Verified rows of the Central Bank's daily records.

Source: Central Bank of Iraq, daily records of the dollar sale, compiled from the verified rowsTier A
Dollars bought from the Central Bank
YearDollars boughtCashTransfers abroadShare of the year's named salesRefusedValue of the price gap
2012$10m$0$10m3.7%Not stated$175,000
2013$1.1bn$111.2m$965m2.3%$1.2bn$50.6m
2014$2.6bn$193.7m$2.4bn7.4%$334.5m$55.5m
2015$2.5bn$14.7m$2.5bn7.8%$60.4m$123.5m
2016$992.7m$5.4m$987.4m3.8%Not stated$63.9m
2017$366.7m$6.1m$360.6m1.8%Not stated$18.2m
2018$6.1m$270,000$5.8m3.9%Not stated$192,620
2019$667.3m$1.4m$665.9m5.9%Not stated$3.8m
2020$7m$0$7m3.9%Not stated$227,642
Total$8.2bn$332.9m$7.9bn$1.6bn$315.9m
Source: Central Bank of Iraq, daily records of the dollar sale, compiled from the verified rowsTier A
Source: the price gap is our calculation from the Central Bank's price and the market priceTier B

Share of the year's named sales: the bank's part of all the dollars that the surviving records attribute to a named bank in that year.

Refused: the requests that the Central Bank's committee turned down. Its minutes survive only from January 2013 to February 2015. An empty cell means that no minutes survive for that year. The yearly figures come from the yearly ledger. The figure at the top of the page comes from the committee's minutes. The two can differ.

What the Central Bank refused

From January 2013 to February 2015 the Central Bank's committee recorded, day by day, which requests for dollars it turned down and why. Its minutes record 193 occasions on which the committee refused all or part of a request by this bank. On those occasions the bank asked for $2.7 billion, and $1.6 billion of it was refused.

The largest refusals

The largest refusals
DateAsked forRefusedThe reason, as read from the scanned minutesCategory
8 June 2013$32.7m$32.7mلاغراض تدقيقيةHeld for audit
17 May 2014$28.6m$28.6mالحوالة والنقد لاختلاف اسم المخول لوحدة غسل 28,550,000 الاموال وحسب مذكرة الصيرفة المرقمة 6924/7/9 في 2014/5/6Name or data do not match; Penalty on, or suspension of, the bank
date unreadable$25.3m$25.3mلاغراض تدقيقيةHeld for audit
18 May 2014$24m$24mاستبعاد لاختلاف اسم مسؤول وحدة غضل الاموال حسب مذكرة الصيرفة المرقمة 6924 في 2014/5/6Name or data do not match; Penalty on, or suspension of, the bank
date unreadable$23.1m$23.1m23,100,000 الاختلاف مخول وحدة غل الاسوال عن مذكر صيرفة 6924 فى 014/5/6.Name or data do not match
27 February 2014$21.5m$21.5mامتلعة لحمل الأموافيل مراقب الامتثل يدلا من مديرOther
26 February 2014$20.6m$20.6mلايداعه المبلغ المطلوب قبل يوم واحد خلافا بذلك 20,550,000 للفقرة !أ-15) الاجراءات والضوابط من تعليمات بيع وشراء العملة الاجنبيةOther
3 July 2013$20.2m$20.2mلاغراض تدقيقيةHeld for audit
date unreadable$19.5m$19.5mالا غراض تدقيقيةHeld for audit
date unreadable$22m$18mستبعدت الحوالة لعدم ادراج اسم المصرف في استمارة الشراء ستبعد من النقد لتكرار الاسماء ضمن قوائم المصرف نفسه ومع مصارف الخليج واميرالدSame customer or name repeated; Missing or defective documents
19 June 2013$17.1m$17.1mلاغراض تدقيقيةHeld for audit
30 October 2013$21m$17.1mستبعدت الحوالة لعدم تقديم معلومات السويفت وتسلسل 2 لاغراض تدقيقية استبعد من النقد لتكرار 12 اسم ضمن قوانم نفس المصرف ومع مصرف الاقتصادSame customer or name repeated; Missing or defective documents; Held for audit

The reasons were read from scanned pages of the Central Bank's minutes, the reading may contain errors, and the scanned page is the authority. Each reason is given in Arabic. Where a reason is marked “punctuation adjusted”, only its punctuation was changed. The category is ours.

Source: Central Bank of Iraq, daily minutes of the committee that ran the dollar sale, from January 2013 to February 2015Tier A

All the refusals, day by day

Enforcement actions

  1. 19 July 2023US Treasury and Federal Reserve Bank of New York (as reported)
    Barred from dollar transactions (not announced; reported)

    Against: 14 Iraqi banks (named in the Central Bank's list of 20 July 2023)

    "The ban, which was imposed by the Treasury Department and the Federal Reserve Bank of New York, is part of a crackdown on the siphoning of U.S. currency to Iran" (Reuters summarising The Wall Street Journal).

    Current position: See the Central Bank's list

    Original
  2. 20 July 2023Central Bank of Iraq
    Barred from the currency window and from dealing in dollars

    Against: Al-Mustashar Islamic; Al-Qurtas Islamic; Al-Taif Islamic; Elaf Islamic; Erbil Bank; International Islamic; Iraq Trans (Trans Iraq) Bank; Mosul Bank; Al-Rajih Islamic; Sumer Commercial; Trust International Islamic; Al-Mal Islamic Investment Bank; World Islamic; Zain Iraq Islamic

    The Central Bank's list gives the effective date as 20 July 2023.

    Current position: Listed as of 4 February 2024; Mosul Bank named in July 2026 as one of seven banks cleared to return to non-dollar correspondent channels

    Original

Sources

The documents behind this page, with the words quoted from each.
  1. Iraq Stock ExchangeAccessed 25 September 2026Tier B
    ISX company profiles (companyprofile.html) for 49 listed banks: establishing date, listing date, capital, managing director
    e.g. BHAM مصرف حمورابي: تاريخ التأسيس 26/08/2020؛ تاريخ الإدراج 04/08/2024 | BTRI مصرف عبر العراق للاستثمار: تاريخ التأسيس 21/05/2006 | BLAD مصرف العطاء الاسلامي: تاريخ التأسيس 06/07/2006 | BBAY مصرف بابل: المدير المفوض احمد عباس احمد / الوصي
  2. Iraq Securities CommissionAccessed 25 September 2026 (the page does not show the dates of disclosure)Tier B
    Iraq Securities Commission (هيأة الأوراق المالية) listed-company pages: 'النسب المؤثرة' (significant shareholdings) and 'أعضاء مجلس الإدارة' (board) for banks
    مصرف الاتحاد العراقي ... النسب المؤثرة: 1 عقيل مفتن خفيف البيضاني 13% ... 3 محمد مفتن خفيف البيضاني 13% | أعضاء مجلس الإدارة: عبد الكريم ابراهيم علي رئيس مجلس الادارة ...

    Translation: Union Bank of Iraq ... Significant holdings: Aqeel Meften Khafeef al-Baidhani 13%; Mohammed Meften Khafeef al-Baidhani 13% | Board: Abdul Kareem Ibrahim Ali, chairman ...

  3. Central Bank of IraqAccessed 25 September 2026Tier B
    المصارف الاهلية المحلية (Private local banks: licence numbers/dates, managers, status marks)
    الأقليم التجاري للاستثمار والتمويل ( اميرالد سابقا ) ... 408/3/9 2007/3/1 | الهدى ( ممنوع من التعامل بالدولار ) ... 136/3/9 2008/1/14 | مصرف بابل ( تصفية ) ( ممنوع من التعامل بالدولار ) ... المصفي، د.أحمد عباس أحمد | دار السلام للأستثمار ( حراسة قضائية ) | الشمال للتمويل والاستثمار ( وصاية ) | الطيف الإسلامي للإستثمار… Read the rest والتمويل ( وصاية )( ممنوع من التعامل بالدولار ) | المال الإسلامي للإستثمار ( ممنوع من التعامل بالدولار ) ... 845/3/9 في 2018/12/9
    (punctuation adjusted)

    Translation: Region Trade Bank for Investment & Finance (formerly Emerald) ... licence 408/3/9 of 1 Mar 2007 | Al-Huda (barred from USD dealing) ... licence 136/3/9 of 14 Jan 2008 | Babylon Bank (liquidation) (barred from USD) ... liquidator Dr Ahmed Abbas Ahmed | Dar Es Salaam (judicial receivership) | North Bank (guardianship) | Al-Taif Islamic (guardianship)(barred from USD) | Al-Mal Islamic (barred from USD) ... licence 845/3/9 of 9 Dec 2018

    Original
  4. Central Bank of Iraq23 October 2025Tier A
    النشرة الإحصائية السنوية / Annual Statistical Bulletin (2024 data; PDF created 23 Oct 2025), banks' establishment year, total assets, paid-up capital (pages 116 to 117) and ISX listing table (p.113)
    Region Trade Bank for Investment 2007 1,051,981 300,000 مصرف الاقليم التجاري( اميرالد) | AL-Huda Bank 2008 412,604 250,000 | Erbil Bank 2010 | International Development Bank 2011 | Hammurabi Commercial Bank 2020 | Ur Islamic Bank 2018 334,815 250,000
    Original