Iraq's Corruption
The Ledger

National Bank of Iraq (NBI)

This page sets out what the record shows about National Bank of Iraq (NBI). It names the owners and managers, gives the dollars the bank bought from the Central Bank in the years whose records survive, lists the requests that the Central Bank refused and describes the action that regulators took against the bank.

المصرف الأهلي العراقي

$3.3bn
bought from the Central Bank from 2012 to 2020, in the records that survive. This is a minimum.
Tier A
$412.7m
asked for but refused by the Central Bank's committee from January 2013 to February 2015
Tier A
$134m
the value of the gap between the official and the market price on the dollars it bought, which went to whoever received the dollars
Tier B

Name, licence and status

Name in English
National Bank of Iraq (NBI)
Name in Arabic
المصرف الأهلي العراقي
Type
Private commercial bank
Iraq Stock Exchange ticker
BNOI
Established
2 January 1995
Licence
No. ص.أ/3/3277 of 28 March 1995
Regulatory measures
No sanction, ban or fine recorded as of the date of writing
Securities Commission page
Iraq Securities Commissionisc.gov.iq

Ownership

The corporate holder in the record is شركة بنك المال الاردني with 62%.

Owners and managers

Being listed here records an ownership stake or a post at the bank. It is not an allegation. Next to each name is the exact legal status. Where the encyclopedia holds a record of the name, the status comes from that record. Otherwise it reads “Not charged as of the date of writing”.
Owners and managers
NameRoleShareAs ofLegal statusSource
Chairman
Not statedNot statedNot charged as of the date of writingIraq Stock ExchangeIraq Securities CommissionCentral Bank of Iraq[1][2]Al Rabiaa TV
داوود محمد داوود الغول
Vice-chairman
Not stated
28 September 2026
Not charged as of the date of writingmubasher.info
ايمن عمران ابو دهيم
Managing director
Not stated
28 September 2026
Not charged as of the date of writingmubasher.info
خليل إبراهيم عبد الكريم المشاهدي
Board member
Not stated
28 September 2026
Not charged as of the date of writingmubasher.info
نبيل سمير علي مكاحلة
Board member
Not stated
28 September 2026
Not charged as of the date of writingmubasher.info
نغم حسين المياح
Board member
Not stated
28 September 2026
Not charged as of the date of writingmubasher.info
علي مصطفى حسن
Board member
Not stated
28 September 2026
Not charged as of the date of writingmubasher.info
شركة بنك المال الاردني(company)
Shareholder
62%
Not statedNot charged as of the date of writingIraq Stock ExchangeIraq Securities CommissionCentral Bank of Iraq[1][2]Al Rabiaa TV
بنك المال الأردنى(company)
Shareholder
61.85%
28 September 2026
Not charged as of the date of writingmubasher.info
بنك القاهرة عمان، الأردن(company)
Shareholder
9.90%
28 September 2026
Not charged as of the date of writingmubasher.info
عباس فاضل أحمد الشمري
Shareholder
5.00%
28 September 2026
Not charged as of the date of writingmubasher.info
شركة أركيديا ذ م م(company)
Shareholder
5.00%
28 September 2026
Not charged as of the date of writingmubasher.info

Dollars bought from the Central Bank

Dollars bought from the Central Bank, by year

In billions of dollars. Verified rows of the Central Bank's daily records.

Source: Central Bank of Iraq, daily records of the dollar sale, compiled from the verified rowsTier A
Dollars bought from the Central Bank
YearDollars boughtCashTransfers abroadShare of the year's named salesRefusedValue of the price gap
2012$4m$0$4m1.5%Not stated$70,000
2013$652.4m$139.7m$512.7m1.4%$230.4m$31.3m
2014$1.3bn$289.6m$963.5m3.6%$172.4m$24.7m
2015$285.9m$22m$263.8m0.9%$7m$13.2m
2016$655.3m$2.2m$653.1m2.5%Not stated$45.9m
2017$406.7m$3.4m$403.3m2.0%Not stated$18.2m
2018$3m$0$3m1.9%Not stated$94,115
2019$39.7m$0$39.7m0.3%Not stated$228,022
2020$7m$0$7m3.9%Not stated$227,642
Total$3.3bn$457m$2.9bn$409.8m$134m
Source: Central Bank of Iraq, daily records of the dollar sale, compiled from the verified rowsTier A
Source: the price gap is our calculation from the Central Bank's price and the market priceTier B

Share of the year's named sales: the bank's part of all the dollars that the surviving records attribute to a named bank in that year.

Refused: the requests that the Central Bank's committee turned down. Its minutes survive only from January 2013 to February 2015. An empty cell means that no minutes survive for that year. The yearly figures come from the yearly ledger. The figure at the top of the page comes from the committee's minutes. The two can differ.

What the Central Bank refused

From January 2013 to February 2015 the Central Bank's committee recorded, day by day, which requests for dollars it turned down and why. Its minutes record 157 occasions on which the committee refused all or part of a request by this bank. On those occasions the bank asked for $1.2 billion, and $412.7 million of it was refused.

The largest refusals

The largest refusals
DateAsked forRefusedThe reason, as read from the scanned minutesCategory
28 December 2014$13.4m$13.4m13,356,000 إلاعراض تدقيقيةHeld for audit
3 June 2014$23.8m$12.2mن النقد لتكرار ,6) اسماء من حصة المصرة بموجب كتاب وزارة التجارة واشركة العامة المعارض والخدمات /قسم الاستيراد المرقم 3320 فيSame customer or name repeated; Ministry of Trade letter; Penalty on, or suspension of, the bank
2 January 2013$11.7m$11.7mلعدم وجود ختم المصرف على اقرار المصرف للحوالاتMissing or defective documents
23 June 2013$11m$11mلعدم استكمال راس مال المصرف الى 150 مليارBank capital requirement; Missing or defective documents
22 January 2013$18.9m$10.5mالنقد لعدم توقيع كشف النقد من قبل مخولين اثنينMissing or defective documents
14 April 2014$16.4m$10.1mمن النقد لتكرار ,19)اسم مع مصرف ايلاف 10,095,000 أونفس قوانم انمصرف إمن الحوالة لا غراض تدقيقيةSame customer or name repeated; Held for audit
15 May 2014$10m$10mNot statedNot stated or unreadable
11 February 2013$10.9m$10mوجود زبائن مخالفين لتعليمات غسيل الاموالCustomer flagged under anti-money-laundering rules
date unreadable$17.5m$9.5mمن النقد لتكرار ,!4)اسماء مع التنمية وايلاف الحوالة لتقديمه الطلب بفرق يوم وعده التزامه بالتعليمات 588 في 2014/02/16Same customer or name repeated
2 September 2014$18.4m$8.4mالحوالة حسب طلب المصرث المرقم 4447 في 2014/08/31 من النقد لتكرار ,!2)اسم من حصة المصرفSame customer or name repeated; The bank's whole share refused
14 February 2013$8.8m$8.3mلوجود زبون مخالف لتعليمات غسيل الاموالCustomer flagged under anti-money-laundering rules
25 August 2014$16.7m$8.1mاستبعاد ,!ت1)حسب كتاب المصرف المرقم 4223 و %(ت2و 3)لاغراض تدقيقيةHeld for audit; Penalty on, or suspension of, the bank

The reasons were read from scanned pages of the Central Bank's minutes, the reading may contain errors, and the scanned page is the authority. Each reason is given in Arabic. Where a reason is marked “punctuation adjusted”, only its punctuation was changed. The category is ours.

Source: Central Bank of Iraq, daily minutes of the committee that ran the dollar sale, from January 2013 to February 2015Tier A

All the refusals, day by day

Enforcement actions

  1. 13 January 2026Iraqi court (reported); Integrity Commission (asset recovery)
    Criminal conviction with a suspended sentence, as reported

    Against: Director (unnamed) of the National Bank of Iraq (المصرف الأهلي العراقي)

    Six-month suspended prison sentence over money-laundering and financial violations; Integrity Commission reportedly recovered more than IQD 1.3bn from a defendant linked to the National Bank of Iraq's currency-auction participation.

    Current position: Reported; the court's judgment is not in the record.

    Original

Sources

The documents behind this page, with the words quoted from each.
  1. Iraq Stock ExchangeAccessed 25 September 2026Tier B
    ISX company profiles (companyprofile.html) for 49 listed banks: establishing date, listing date, capital, managing director
    e.g. BHAM مصرف حمورابي: تاريخ التأسيس 26/08/2020؛ تاريخ الإدراج 04/08/2024 | BTRI مصرف عبر العراق للاستثمار: تاريخ التأسيس 21/05/2006 | BLAD مصرف العطاء الاسلامي: تاريخ التأسيس 06/07/2006 | BBAY مصرف بابل: المدير المفوض احمد عباس احمد / الوصي
  2. Iraq Securities CommissionAccessed 25 September 2026 (the page does not show the dates of disclosure)Tier B
    Iraq Securities Commission (هيأة الأوراق المالية) listed-company pages: 'النسب المؤثرة' (significant shareholdings) and 'أعضاء مجلس الإدارة' (board) for banks
    مصرف الاتحاد العراقي ... النسب المؤثرة: 1 عقيل مفتن خفيف البيضاني 13% ... 3 محمد مفتن خفيف البيضاني 13% | أعضاء مجلس الإدارة: عبد الكريم ابراهيم علي رئيس مجلس الادارة ...

    Translation: Union Bank of Iraq ... Significant holdings: Aqeel Meften Khafeef al-Baidhani 13%; Mohammed Meften Khafeef al-Baidhani 13% | Board: Abdul Kareem Ibrahim Ali, chairman ...

  3. Central Bank of IraqAccessed 25 September 2026Tier B
    المصارف الاهلية المحلية (Private local banks: licence numbers/dates, managers, status marks)
    الأقليم التجاري للاستثمار والتمويل ( اميرالد سابقا ) ... 408/3/9 2007/3/1 | الهدى ( ممنوع من التعامل بالدولار ) ... 136/3/9 2008/1/14 | مصرف بابل ( تصفية ) ( ممنوع من التعامل بالدولار ) ... المصفي، د.أحمد عباس أحمد | دار السلام للأستثمار ( حراسة قضائية ) | الشمال للتمويل والاستثمار ( وصاية ) | الطيف الإسلامي للإستثمار… Read the rest والتمويل ( وصاية )( ممنوع من التعامل بالدولار ) | المال الإسلامي للإستثمار ( ممنوع من التعامل بالدولار ) ... 845/3/9 في 2018/12/9
    (punctuation adjusted)

    Translation: Region Trade Bank for Investment & Finance (formerly Emerald) ... licence 408/3/9 of 1 Mar 2007 | Al-Huda (barred from USD dealing) ... licence 136/3/9 of 14 Jan 2008 | Babylon Bank (liquidation) (barred from USD) ... liquidator Dr Ahmed Abbas Ahmed | Dar Es Salaam (judicial receivership) | North Bank (guardianship) | Al-Taif Islamic (guardianship)(barred from USD) | Al-Mal Islamic (barred from USD) ... licence 845/3/9 of 9 Dec 2018

    Original
  4. Central Bank of Iraq23 October 2025Tier A
    النشرة الإحصائية السنوية / Annual Statistical Bulletin (2024 data; PDF created 23 Oct 2025), banks' establishment year, total assets, paid-up capital (pages 116 to 117) and ISX listing table (p.113)
    Region Trade Bank for Investment 2007 1,051,981 300,000 مصرف الاقليم التجاري( اميرالد) | AL-Huda Bank 2008 412,604 250,000 | Erbil Bank 2010 | International Development Bank 2011 | Hammurabi Commercial Bank 2020 | Ur Islamic Bank 2018 334,815 250,000
    Original
  5. Al Rabiaa TV13 January 2026Tier D
    الحكم على مدير المصرف الأهلي العراقي بالسجن 6 أشهر مع وقف التنفيذ
    أصدر القضاء العراقي، اليوم الثلاثاء، حكماً بالحبس لمدة ستة أشهر مع وقف التنفيذ بحق مدير المصرف الأهلي العراقي ... الحكم جاء على خلفية قضايا مختلفة تتعلق بغسيل الأموال ومخالفات مالية ... أعلنت هيئة النزاهة استعادة أكثر من 1.3 مليار دينار من متهم تسبب بهدر المال العام عبر المصرف الأهلي العراقي ... من خلال اشتراكه بمزاد [العملة]

    Translation: The Iraqi judiciary today (Tuesday) issued a six-month suspended prison sentence against the director of the National Bank of Iraq ... over money-laundering and financial violations ... The Integrity Commission earlier announced recovery of over IQD 1.3bn from a defendant who caused waste of public money through the National Bank of Iraq by participating in the [currency] auction

    Original