Iraq's Corruption
People & Institutions

Person convicted over Sulaimani electricity bill payments (unnamed)

شخص أُدين بشأن مبالغ فواتير الكهرباء في السليمانية (لم يُذكر اسمه)

This page sets out what the documents in this archive record about this person: the legal status on the date shown, the cases, the official registers and the sources.

Legal status as of 20 October 2026

Convicted (reported)

Reported convicted by credible media or an official statement; the judgment itself not seen.

What the documents say

The Integrity Commission of the Kurdistan Region said on 29 May 2018 that this person had been convicted by the Sulaimani Criminal Court of taking money from electricity bill payments of the Sulaimani electricity directorate. The sentence was not reported and the ruling was not seen.

Kind
Person
Roles
  • Took money paid by the public for electricity bills at the electricity directorate in Sulaimani

Cases

These are the cases in this archive that name this entry, with the status in each case on the date shown.
Cases
CaseRoleStatus in this caseDetailAs of
Contractor bonds and cheques in the Kurdistan Region: arrest of the head of the Central Bank's Erbil branch (2016) and a seven-year sentence for trading contractors' cheques at a discount (2018)Took money paid by the public for electricity bills at the electricity directorate in SulaimaniConvicted (reported)The Integrity Commission of the Kurdistan Region said on 29 May 2018 that this person had been convicted by the Sulaimani Criminal Court of taking money from electricity bill payments of the Sulaimani electricity directorate. The sentence was not reported and the ruling was not seen.19 October 2026

Dated events

Each recorded step in the legal record of this entry is listed here in order of date.
  1. 29 May 2018
    Convicted (reported)Integrity Commission statement

Documents

These are the documents behind this entry. Each quote is given in the language of the document.
  1. Kurdistan2429 May 2018Official statement reported by the mediaTier B

    Kurdistan's Integrity Commission fines two with $1.67M over corruption, fraud

    one of the accused had bought cheques from local contractors at lower prices and had used them in public banks for personal purposes.
    Original address
  2. Shafaq News29 May 2018Official statement reported by the mediaTier B

    Two fined $1.67M by Kurdistan's Commission of Integrity: report

    The man, in this case, was sentenced to seven years in prison and received a hefty fine of $1,662,000 which will be sent to the treasury.
    Original address