People & Institutions
Housing investment licences
An investment licence is the permit, issued by an investment commission, that allows a company or a person to carry out a project. This register records who received a licence for a housing project, where the project is, how much land and money it involves, and what official bodies such as the Board of Supreme Audit or the investment commissions later found. Where an entry rests on a press report, the entry says so. Coverage differs from one province to another, because some commissions publish their licences and others do not.
Province:
Showing entries 1 to 50 of 165.
| Licensee | Project | Province | Location | Area | Units | Value | Licence | Findings and reports | Legal status | Sources |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
Saya General Contracting Company شركة سايا للمقاولات العامة | Al-Kawthar Residential Complex Issued by: Babil Investment Commission | Babil | Babil | Not stated | Not stated | $10.1 million | In force 26 January 2009 | Babil Investment Commission, statement of late penalties (published 18 January 2026): late penalty of USD 784,830.35 for the period 29 January 2020 to 31 May 2022, completion 41.311 percent, start date 5 July 2012,… Read the restseven-year execution period: «المشروع لم ينجز (اقساط)»; the amount is marked as paid by instalments («سدد قسط»). 2025 statement: completion 62 percent; the 'years of follow-up fees' column reads «2023/9/13 مباشرتكم بعد إعادة الاجازة، 2025» (punctuation adjusted) (work restarted 13 September 2023 after the licence was re-issued); IQD 10,000,000 follow-up fee shown as paid by receipt No. 55 of 24 July 2025. Status: administrative penalty and fees imposed by the commission; not a finding of wrongdoing. | Not charged as of the date of writing | bic.gov.iq[1][2] |
Basra Modern Company for Contracting and General Trading Ltd شركة البصرة الحديثة للمقاولات والتجارة العامة محدودة المسؤولية | Modern Basra City (New Basrah City) Issued by: Basra Investment Commission | Basra | land owner not printed | 190 دونم (2016 list of the commission) | Not stated | $220 million | Not known 26 October 2010 | Not stated | Not charged as of the date of writing | investbasrah.com[1][2] |
Heeran for Trading and Contracting شركة هيران للتجارة والمقاولات | Abu Al-Fadl Residential Complex Issued by: Baghdad Investment Commission (according to NIRIJ) | Baghdad | Baghdad (Ministry of Finance land) | 200 dunums | Not stated | $150 million | Withdrawn 2011 | NIRIJ (30 April 2025): a Baghdad Investment Commission document of 20 September 2023 put actual completion at no more than 28 percent; the commission withdrew the licence from Heeran on 11 August 2024: «إلا أن الإجراء… Read the restالوحيد الذي اتخذته كان سحب الإجازة الاستثمارية من شركة هيران، وكان ذلك في 11 آب/ أغسطس 2024، من دون فرض أي عقوبات مالية أو قانونية أو إلزامها بإكمال المشروع أو تعويض المشترين». Status: licence withdrawal (as reported by NIRIJ from official documents); no court ruling reported. | Not charged as of the date of writing | nirij.orgmawazin.net |
Not named in the NIRIJ paragraph | Al-Zuhur Residential Complex Issued by: Baghdad Investment Commission (it announced the withdrawal, Mawazin 11 August 2024; NIRIJ gives the licence as No. 94 of 2011) | Baghdad | Baghdad | Not stated | Not stated | $243 million | Withdrawn 2011 | 11 August 2024 (Mawazin News): Baghdad Investment Commission announced withdrawal of three housing licences, among them this complex: «وكشف عن سحب إجازة الاستثمار لمشروع مجمع أبو الفضل السكني الواقع في منطقة الحسينية… Read the restوكذلك مجمع الزهور السكني وأيضاً مجمع المحبة». The source described the action as part of following up stalled housing projects on the Prime Minister's direction. Status: licence withdrawal announced by the commission. | Not stated | nirij.orgmawazin.net |
Hanwha Engineering & Construction (Hanwha E&C), South Korea شركة هانوا للهندسة والإنشاءات (هانوا الكورية الجنوبية) | Bismayah New City (Bismayah Residential Complex) Issued by: National Investment Commission (NIC); Council of Ministers authorisation of 15 May 2012 | Baghdad | Bismayah, about 10 km south-east of Baghdad | 1,830 hectares (18,300 dunums) | 100,000 planned; 30,000 built when Hanwha halted work (September 2020); 21,480 handed over (KED, December 2024); December 2024 addendum covers 70,560 more | $7.8 billion | In force 30 May 2012 | (1) February 2022, NIC (with Council of Ministers approval): appointed an international law firm and an international auditing firm to 'propose a financial model, and to audit the project's financial issues' on the… Read the restearlier contracts (IBN 13 February 2022; Global Construction Review 4 February 2022). Status: review commissioned by NIC; no published result is in the record. (2) FBSA report No. 644 of 9 January 2025 on Rafidain Bank (2023 accounts): Bismayah housing-loan balance IQD 183,728,935,000 at 28 November 2024, 4,506 borrowers; FBSA noted borrowers had not lodged mortgage bonds for the units: «عدم قيام المقترضين بتقديم سندات مداينة تثبت رهن الوحدة السكنية لصالح المصرف على الرغم من مرور مدة طويلة على منح القروض خلافاً للفقرة (6) من تعليمات منح قروض الوحدات السكنية لمشروع بسماية السكني المرقمة (170) في 13/3/2017». Status: audit finding on the bank's loans, not on the licence. (3) 20 February 2025 (Shafaq News): the Parliamentary Integrity Committee said NIC chairman Haider Makiya had 'not given clear answers' on violations relating to some investment licences and to the Bismayah committee, worth billions of dinars, concerning depreciation and compensation for the Bismayah warehouses: «لم يقدم إجابات واضحة بشأن المخالفات المتعلقة ببعض اجازات الاستثمار ولجنة بسماية التي تقدر بمليارات الدنانير تتعلق بالاندثار والتعويضات الخاصة بمخازن مشروع بسماية»; it announced it would summon him to an open questioning session. Status: parliamentary oversight statement; no finding of wrongdoing reported. | Not charged as of the date of writing | hanwha.comglobalconstructionreview.comkedglobal.comalsumaria.tvaljazeera.netmawazin.netbaghdadtoday.newsshafaq.comiraq-businessnews.com[1][2][3][4]storage.fbsa.gov.iq |
Not named in the list (nationality printed: Iraqi) | Al-Zahraa Residential Complex (Basra) Issued by: Basra Investment Commission | Basra | Not stated | 15 دونم و24 اولك و83 م2 | Not stated | $6.2 million | Not known 8 August 2012 | Not stated | Not stated | investbasrah.com |
Not named in the list (nationality printed: Chinese) | Chinese Golden City Issued by: Basra Investment Commission | Basra | Not stated | 239 دونم و19 اولك و50 م2 | Not stated | $249.3 million | Not known 8 August 2012 | Not stated | Not stated | investbasrah.com |
Not named in the list (nationality printed: Emirati-Iraqi) | Al-Andalus Residential City Issued by: Basra Investment Commission | Basra | Not stated | 83 دونم و1951 م2 | Not stated | $124.3 million | Not known 11 September 2012 | Not stated | Not stated | investbasrah.com |
Not named in the list (nationality printed: Iraqi) | Saafat Al-Basra City Issued by: Basra Investment Commission | Basra | Not stated | 227 دونم | Not stated | $249.7 million | Not known 11 September 2012 | Not stated | Not stated | investbasrah.com |
Ahmed Shakir Hammood Lazim (individual) احمد شاكر حمود لازم | Al-Farah Residential Complex (2016 list: 'Shanashil Al-Basra residential city', licence 48, IQD/USD 200,000,000, 189 dunums 397 m2) Issued by: Basra Investment Commission | Basra | 2393/3 و6 الرباط الكبير; land owner not printed | 265 دونم 591 م2 | Not stated | $233.8 million | Not known 4 December 2012 | Not stated | Not charged as of the date of writing | investbasrah.com |
Bloom Properties (UAE) | Thifaf Karbala housing complex (40,000 houses) Issued by: National Investment Commission (NIC), chairman Sami al-Araji; Karbala local government | Karbala | Karbala | Not stated | 40,000 | Not stated | Not known 21 February 2013 | Not stated | Not charged as of the date of writing | iraq-businessnews.com |
Not named in the list (nationality printed: Iraqi) | Al-Rehab Residential Complex (Basra) Issued by: Basra Investment Commission | Basra | Not stated | 17 دونم و214 اولك و89 م2 (as printed) | Not stated | $6 million | Not known 6 August 2013 | Not stated | Not stated | investbasrah.com |
Bloom Properties (property arm of National Holding, UAE; CEO Simon Azzam signed) | City of the Future (Madinat Al-Mustaqbal), Baghdad Issued by: National Investment Commission (NIC), chairman Sami al-Araji (contract signatory); Prime Minister Nouri al-Maliki attended | Baghdad | About 14.5 km from the city centre | About 2.5 million m2 | 15,000 (including 2,500 townhouses and villas) | Not stated | Not known 16 September 2013 | Not stated | Not charged as of the date of writing | iraq-businessnews.com |
Kaan Real Estate Investments Company شركة كان للاستثمارات العقارية | Al-Firdaws Residential Investment Complex Issued by: Issuing body not stated (NIRIJ: licence No. 46 of 2014; the delay is handled by the Karbala governor) | Karbala | Karbala | Not stated | 1,360 | Not stated | Disputed 2014 | 24 May 2026 (Karbala governorate): governor Nasif Jassim al-Khattabi ordered 'radical solutions' to the delay of the complex, which the governor's statement says was approved as an investment licence 'more than 12 years… Read the restago'; no withdrawal or sanction mentioned; he promised 'holding accountable the negligent parties'. Status: administrative direction, no finding. NIRIJ (30 April 2025): units sold in 2021 at IQD 65m cash were re-contracted in 2022 at IQD 130m (IQD 30m down, rest via the Real Estate Bank); this is NIRIJ's account of the contracts, not an official finding. | Not charged as of the date of writing | nirij.orgkarbala.gov.iq |
Not named in the list (nationality printed: Iraqi) | New Kut City (as listed under the Basra commission) Issued by: Basra Investment Commission | Basra | Not stated | 61 دونم | Not stated | $44.6 million | Not known 18 March 2014 | Not stated | Not stated | investbasrah.com |
Pakistani company (name not given; the list prints only the nationality 'باكستانية') | Shatt Al-Arab Residential Complex Issued by: Basra Investment Commission | Basra | Not stated | 401 دونم | 1,600 (Alsumaria, 18 December 2016) | $248.7 million | Withdrawn 18 March 2014 | 18 December 2016 (Alsumaria, headline «استثمار البصرة تسحب ثلاث اجازات استثمارية احدها من شركة باكستانية»): the commission decided 'after issuing final warnings according to Investment Law No. 13 of 2006' to withdraw… Read the restthree licences for non-implementation; one was a residential complex of a Pakistani company valued at USD 248 million with 1,600 units. Status: licence withdrawal by the provincial commission. | Not stated | investbasrah.comalsumaria.tv |
Not named in the list (nationality printed: Lebanese) | Al-Afaq Residential City Issued by: Basra Investment Commission | Basra | Not stated | 160,5 دونم | Not stated | $220 million | Not known 22 April 2014 | Not stated | Not stated | investbasrah.com |
Anwar Al-Ebtsama for Contracting, General Trading and Real Estate Investments Co. Ltd شركة انوار الابتسامة للمقاولات والتجارة العامة والاستثمارات العقارية المحدودة | Al-Amal Residential Complex (Anwar Al-Ebtsama) Issued by: Basra Investment Commission | Basra | 1/16275 م62 أراضي الصبخ; land owner: مديرية بلدية البصرة | 210 دونم و 2104 م2 | Not stated | $245.5 million | Not known 23 April 2014 | Not stated | Not charged as of the date of writing | investbasrah.com |
Amjad Mahd Al-Rafidain شركة أمجاد مهد الرافدين | Residential Complex in Shat Al-Arab County Issued by: Basra Investment Commission | Basra | القطعة المرقمة 10/7 م 28 البيبان قضاء شط العرب; land owner: مديرية بلدية شط العرب | 300 دونم و 1625 م2 | Not stated | $235.8 million | Not known 29 September 2014 | Not stated | Not charged as of the date of writing | investbasrah.com |
A local company (not named) | Residential and commercial buildings project, Ibrahim al-Khalil Street, Nasiriyah Issued by: Dhi Qar governorate (first deputy governor Adel al-Dakhili) and Dhi Qar Investment Commission | Dhi Qar | Ibrahim al-Khalil Street, centre of Nasiriyah | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated | Disputed 8 October 2015 | 8 October 2015 (Alsumaria): the governorate threatened to withdraw the investment licence: «هددت محافظة ذي قار ... بسحب الرخصة الاستثمارية من الشركة المنفذة لمشروع انشاء عمارات سكنية وتجارية بالمحافظة بسبب مخالفتها… Read the restالضوابط القانونية والصحية»; the first deputy governor criticised the investment commission for granting licences to companies 'not at the level of ambition'; a final warning was ordered. Status: threat of withdrawal and final warning; no withdrawal reported. | Not stated | alsumaria.tv |
Haider Ahmed Abd Ali and Talib Khraibet Hassan (individuals) حيدر احمد عبد علي وطالب خريبط حسن | Luluat Al-Basra Residential Complex Issued by: Basra Investment Commission | Basra | 794/1 القبلة; land owner: مديرية بلدية البصرة | دونم 14 اولك و50 م2 | Not stated | IQD 73.8 billion | Not known 29 January 2017 | Not stated | Not charged as of the date of writing | investbasrah.com |
Not printed on the commission page | Al-Mokhtar Residential Complex, Kufa Issued by: Najaf Investment Commission | Najaf | Al-Kreishat area, Kufa | Not stated | 755 (units of 200 m2 at price 130 and 250 m2 at price 150, by instalments) | Not stated | In force 2018 | Not stated | Not stated | najafinvestmentcommission.gov.iq |
Al-Bu'd Al-Rabi' (Fourth Dimension) Iraqi Company / Fourth Dimension group for general contracting شركة البعد الرابع العراقية (مجموعة شركات البعد الرابع للمقاولات العامة) | Al-Ghadeer 2 Residential Village Issued by: Najaf Investment Commission | Najaf | Al-Nida district, north of Najaf, plot 3/88269, sector 4 | 160 dunums | 1,280 in 49 sectors (164 of 345 m2; 400 of 200 m2; 716 of 150 m2) | $151.2 million | In force 24 May 2018 | Not stated | Not charged as of the date of writing | najafinvestmentcommission.gov.iq[1][2][3] |
Khairat Al-Durr (spelled Khayrat Al-Dar by 964media) شركة خيرات الدر (964media: خيرات الدار) | Al-Mahabba Residential Complex 1 and 2, Al-Saydiya Issued by: Baghdad Investment Commission (according to NIRIJ and 964media) | Baghdad | Al-Saydiya, Baghdad | Not stated | Al-Mahabba 2: 9 towers planned (964media) | Not stated | Withdrawn 2019 | 964media (11 January 2024): buyers of Al-Mahabba 2 protest that delivery is over a year late and ask for refunds; the article says the company's chairman faces court judgments (no case numbers or court named). NIRIJ (30… Read the restApril 2025) names the owner as investor Nizar Abdul Wahid and quotes a buyer's complaint about Al-Mahabba 1 (purchase in 2019). 11 August 2024 (Mawazin News): Baghdad Investment Commission announced withdrawal of the licence of 'Al-Mahabba complex' together with Abu Al-Fadl and Al-Zuhur: «وكشف عن سحب إجازة الاستثمار لمشروع مجمع أبو الفضل السكني الواقع في منطقة الحسينية وكذلك مجمع الزهور السكني وأيضاً مجمع المحبة». Status: licence withdrawal announced by the commission (the notice does not say whether Al-Mahabba 1, 2 or both); buyer complaints and reported court judgments against the chairman (964media, no case details). | Not charged as of the date of writing | 964media.commawazin.netnirij.org |
Muhannad Hasan Atiya and Hussein Badr Karim مهند حسن عطية وحسين بدر كريم | Residential complex (name not stated), licence of 26 Mar 2019 Issued by: Babil Investment Commission | Babil | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated | In force 26 March 2019 | Babil Investment Commission 2025 statement: 65 percent complete; work started 18 March 2022; follow-up fee for 2025 IQD 3,000,000, shown paid by receipt No. 35 of 14 July 2025. Status: administrative listing; no violation stated. | Not charged as of the date of writing | bic.gov.iq[1][2] |
Muhannad Hasan Atiya and Hussein Badr Karim مهند حسن عطية وحسين بدر كريم | Residential complex (name not stated), licence of 8 Apr 2019 Issued by: Babil Investment Commission | Babil | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated | In force 8 April 2019 | Babil Investment Commission 2025 statement: 63 percent complete; work started 25 March 2022; follow-up fee for 2025 IQD 3,000,000, shown paid by receipt No. 36 of 14 July 2025. Status: administrative listing; no violation stated. | Not charged as of the date of writing | bic.gov.iq[1][2] |
Al-Narges Company for Contracts, General Trading, Design and Project Administration Ltd شركة النرجس للمقاولات والتجارة العامة والتصميم وإدارة المشاريع المحدودة | Al-Narges Residential Complex Issued by: Basra Investment Commission | Basra | 37/2715 مقاطعة 27 الاكوات; land owner: مديرية بلدية شط العرب | 338 دونم و518 م2 | Not stated | IQD 325.6 billion | Not known 7 August 2019 | Not stated | Not charged as of the date of writing | investbasrah.com |
Anwar Al-Ebtsama for Contracting, General Trading and Real Estate Investments Co. Ltd شركة انوار الابتسامة للمقاولات والتجارة العامة والاستثمارات العقارية المحدودة | Al-Amal Residential Complex 3 Issued by: Basra Investment Commission | Basra | (1/16506 و 16507 م62 أراضي الصبخ); land owner: مديرية بلدية البصرة | 226 دونم و1851,25م2 | Not stated | $165.7 million | Not known 6 October 2019 | Not stated | Not charged as of the date of writing | investbasrah.com |
Aswar Fadak General Contracting Ltd and Al-Jouf General Contracting Ltd شركة اسوار فدك للمقاولات العامة المحدودة وشركة الجوف للمقاولات العامة المحدودة | Residential complex (name not stated), licence of 6 Oct 2019 Issued by: Babil Investment Commission | Babil | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated | In force 6 October 2019 | Babil Investment Commission 2025 statement: 16 percent complete; work started 1 March 2025; follow-up fee for 2025 IQD 3,000,000, shown paid by receipt No. 369 of 15 December 2025. Status: administrative listing; no violation stated. | Not charged as of the date of writing | bic.gov.iq[1][2] |
Najm Al-Hidayah Contracting and General Trade Co. Ltd شركة نجم الهداية للمقاولات والتجارة العامة المحدودة | Al-Amal Residential Complex (Najm Al-Hidayah) Issued by: Basra Investment Commission | Basra | (1/16274 م62 أراضي الصبخ); land owner: مديرية بلدية البصرة | 191 دونم و2414م2 | Not stated | $150.9 million | Not known 8 October 2019 | Not stated | Not charged as of the date of writing | investbasrah.com |
Not named in the NIRIJ paragraph | Al-Salam Residential Complex, Al-Mawhiya, Nasiriyah Issued by: Dhi Qar Investment Commission (according to NIRIJ) | Dhi Qar | Al-Mawhiya area, Nasiriyah | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated | Not known 2020 | No official finding on this complex. NIRIJ quotes a buyer who says he paid IQD 120m for a house that the feasibility study priced at IQD 74m (a buyer's statement, unverified). | Not stated | nirij.org |
Al-Narges Company for Contracts, General Trading, Design and Project Administration Ltd شركة النرجس للمقاولات والتجارة العامة والتصميم وإدارة المشاريع المحدودة | Al-Narges Residential Complex 2 Issued by: Basra Investment Commission | Basra | 37/2389 مقاطعة 27 الاكوات; land owner: مديرية بلدية شط العرب | 49 دونم و20اولك و47م2 | Not stated | IQD 83.7 billion | Not known 15 March 2021 | Not stated | Not charged as of the date of writing | investbasrah.com |
Not named in the published sources | Baghdad Star (Najmat Baghdad) residential project Issued by: Baghdad Investment Commission / NIC (licences in Baghdad; issuing body not named in the court statement) | Baghdad | Abu Ghraib | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated | Not known 30 March 2021 | Conviction (first-instance court ruling reported by the Supreme Judicial Council, 30 March 2021): Central Anti-Corruption Court at Baghdad/Karkh Federal Court of Appeals sentenced the project's manager to two years'… Read the reststrict imprisonment and IQD 10 million «عن جريمة اعطاء مبالغ مالية لموظف بغية الحصول على اجازات استثمارية في بغداد», under Article 308 with Article 310 of the Penal Code. Separate statement of 23 March 2021 (Alsumaria): the Central Felony Court for Combating Corruption sentenced the investor Yasser Jasim Ali al-Saadi to two years and IQD 10m in case No. ق132/2021 («بحق المدان ياسر جاسم علي الساعدي المستثمر في القضية»); the two statements do not say whether they concern one person. | The reported conviction concerns the project's manager or investor (see Findings and reports). | shafaq.comalsumaria.tviraq-businessnews.com |
Majid Sumaisim (investor named on the commission page) ماجد سميسم | Judges Residential Complex Issued by: Najaf Investment Commission (chairman Dr Durgham Gigo visited) | Najaf | Najaf Governorate | Not stated | more than 100 units of at least 300 m2 | Not stated | In force 31 March 2021 | Not stated | Not charged as of the date of writing | najafinvestmentcommission.gov.iq |
Borsiba General Contracting Company شركة بورسيبا للمقاولات العامة | Ashur 2 horizontal residential complex Issued by: Babil Investment Commission | Babil | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated | In force 5 May 2021 | Babil Investment Commission 2025 statement: 50 percent complete; work started 4 May 2025; follow-up fee for 2025 IQD 3,000,000, shown paid by receipt No. 37 of 14 July 2025. Status: administrative listing; no violation stated. | Not charged as of the date of writing | bic.gov.iq[1][2] |
Al-Tatweer Al-Mutaqaddim (Advanced Development) Contracting, Trading and Oil Services Ltd شركة التطوير المتقدم للمقاولات والتجارة والخدمات النفطية محدودة المسؤولية | Al-Faisal Residential Complex Issued by: Basra Investment Commission | Basra | 3/639 مقاطعة 28 البيبان; land owner: مديرية بلدية شط العرب | 45 دونم و200 م2 | Not stated | IQD 50.6 billion | Not known 16 December 2021 | Not stated | Not charged as of the date of writing | investbasrah.com |
Al-Narges Company for Contracts, General Trading, Design and Project Administration Ltd شركة النرجس للمقاولات والتجارة العامة والتصميم وإدارة المشاريع المحدودة | Basra Gate Residential Complex Issued by: Basra Investment Commission | Basra | 2280 الرباط الكبير; land owner: الشركة العامة لتجارة المواد الانشائية | 160 دونم | Not stated | IQD 328.7 billion | Not known 16 December 2021 | Not stated | Not charged as of the date of writing | investbasrah.com |
Dhifaf Al-Nahrain Al-Sharqiya for Trading and General Contracting Ltd (as printed; spelling uncertain) شركة ضفاف النهرين الشرقية للتجارة والمقاولات العامة المحدودة | Jawahir Al-Furat residential, recreational and commercial complex Issued by: Babil Investment Commission | Babil | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated | In force 20 December 2021 | Babil Investment Commission 2025 statement: 79 percent complete; work started 12 June 2022; follow-up fee for 2025 IQD 3,000,000, shown paid by receipt No. 39 of 15 July 2025. Status: administrative listing; no violation stated. | Not charged as of the date of writing | bic.gov.iq[1][2][3] |
Maharat Al-Emar for Contracting and General Trading Company Ltd شركة مهارة الاعمار للمقاولات والتجارة العامة محدودة المسؤولية | Al-Safa Residential Complex Issued by: Basra Investment Commission | Basra | 10/25365 مقاطعة 28 البيبان; land owner: مديرية بلدية شط العرب | 207 دونم 510 م2 | Not stated | IQD 330 billion | Not known 18 April 2022 | Not stated | Not charged as of the date of writing | investbasrah.com |
Sama Al-Qamar for General Contracting and Real Estate Investments شركة سما القمر للمقاولات العامة والاستثمارات العقارية | Al-Masah Residential Investment Complex Issued by: Karbala Investment Commission (chairman Ahmad Mahel al-Maliki) | Karbala | Karbala Governorate | Not stated | 160 horizontal two-storey houses (400 m2 plot, 354 m2 built each); total construction area 107,811 m2 | $37.6 million | Not known 2 June 2022 | Not stated | Not charged as of the date of writing | karbala.gov.iq |
Rawaat Aswar Al-Basra Trading and General Contracting Ltd شركة روعة اسوار البصرة للتجارة والمقاولات العامة المحدودة | Aswar Al-Basra Residential Complex Issued by: Basra Investment Commission | Basra | 10/25376 مقاطعة 28 البيبان; land owner: مديرية بلدية شط العرب | 46 دونم و 590 متر مربع | Not stated | IQD 25.6 billion | Not known 14 June 2022 | Not stated | Not charged as of the date of writing | investbasrah.com |
Al-Izza Contracting Company شركة العزة للمقاولات | Al-Izza Residential Project Issued by: Amara Municipality Directorate (land owner), offered as an investment opportunity; Maysan | Maysan | Amara, Maysan | Not stated | Not stated | IQD 2.5 billion | Disputed 16 August 2022 | FBSA report No. 33098 of 17 December 2025 (audit of the Al-Izza residential project), annual report 2025 p.595: a site visit on 19 March 2025 found «وجود تجاوزات بحدود (160) دار سكن» and four electricity lines crossing… Read the restthe project. Status: audit finding (encroachments on the project land); no action against the investor reported. | Not charged as of the date of writing | storage.fbsa.gov.iq |
Investor named in the FBSA text as Muhammad Ali Muslim (محمد علي مسلم) | Al-Hussein Residential Investment Complex Issued by: Muthanna Investment Commission (according to the context of the FBSA item) | Muthanna | Plot 8/1, district 23 (Al-Gharbi and Al-Barboti orchards), Samawah area | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated | Disputed 31 October 2022 | FBSA report No. 11728 of 5 May 2025 (annual report 2025 p.581; the heading as printed refers to municipalities in Dhi Qar, but the item names the Muthanna Investment Commission and the Muthanna governor): the same… Read the restinvestor asked the governor of Muthanna to change an adjoining plot from green area to residential so that it could be merged with the Al-Hussein complex; approved by the governor's margin note of 30 September 2024 'without a legal basis for cancelling' the investment contract for parks and gardens: «قدم المستثمر المذكور ... لتغيير استعمال قطعة الارض اعلاه من منطقة خضراء الى سكنية لغرض دمجها مع (مجمع الحسين السكني الاستثماري) العائد لنفس المستثمر بالإجازة الاستثمارية المرقمة (430) في 31/10/2022 وتمت الموافقة على الطلب بهامش المحافظ المؤرخ 30/9/2024 دون وجود سند قانوني لإلغاء العقد الاستثماري». Status: audit finding on the governor's approval and the land-use change; licence 430 itself is not said to be withdrawn. | Not charged as of the date of writing | storage.fbsa.gov.iq |
Not stated | Residential complex in the centre of Karbala (name and licensee not stated) Issued by: Karbala Investment Commission (chairman Ahmad Mahel al-Maliki) | Karbala | Centre of Karbala Governorate | 118,219 m2 | 185 horizontal houses | $34.2 million | Not known 15 November 2022 | Not stated | Not stated | karbala.gov.iq |
Al-Narges Company for Contracts, General Trading, Design and Project Administration Ltd شركة النرجس للمقاولات والتجارة العامة والتصميم وإدارة المشاريع المحدودة | Al-Narges Residential Complex 3 Issued by: Basra Investment Commission | Basra | 114/2304 الرباط الكبير; land owner: مديرية بلدية البصرة | 82 دونم و 3 اولك و 50 متر مربع | Not stated | IQD 100 billion | Not known 25 January 2023 | Not stated | Not charged as of the date of writing | investbasrah.com |
Ard Al-Maidan Company for Engineering Services and General Contracting Ltd شركة ارض الميدان للخدمات الهندسية والمقاولات العامة المحدودة | Al-Naseem Residential Compound Issued by: Basra Investment Commission | Basra | 2/2393 الرباط الكبير; land owner: مديرية بلدية البصرة | 239 دونم و 1950 متر مربع | Not stated | IQD 209.5 billion | Not known 25 January 2023 | Not stated | Not charged as of the date of writing | investbasrah.com |
Najm Al-Hidayah Contracting and General Trade Co. Ltd شركة نجم الهداية للمقاولات والتجارة العامة المحدودة | Al-Shorouk Residential Compound Issued by: Basra Investment Commission | Basra | 16509/1 مقاطعة 62 أراضي الصبخ; land owner: مديرية بلدية البصرة | 46 دونم و 8 اولك و 3 متر مربع | Not stated | IQD 184.2 billion | Not known 25 January 2023 | Not stated | Not charged as of the date of writing | investbasrah.com |
Al-Narges Company for Contracts, General Trading, Design and Project Administration Ltd شركة النرجس للمقاولات والتجارة العامة والتصميم وإدارة المشاريع المحدودة | Al-Narges Residential Complex 5 Issued by: Basra Investment Commission | Basra | 1/23672 مقاطعة 62 أراضي الصبخ; land owner: مديرية بلدية البصرة | 176 دونم و2000 م2 | Not stated | IQD 150 billion | Not known 13 February 2023 | Not stated | Not charged as of the date of writing | investbasrah.com |
Anwar Al-Ebtsama for Contracting, General Trading and Real Estate Investments Co. Ltd شركة انوار الابتسامة للمقاولات والتجارة العامة والاستثمارات العقارية المحدودة | Al-Rafah Residential Complex Issued by: Basra Investment Commission | Basra | 16282/1 مقاطعة 62 أراضي الصبخ; land owner: مديرية بلدية البصرة | 1092 دونم و1820م2 | Not stated | IQD 323.9 billion | Not known 13 February 2023 | Not stated | Not charged as of the date of writing | investbasrah.com |
Sichuan Road and Bridge Group (China); designs by CH2M Hill (Jacobs) | Al-Rafeel (Rafael) City, near Baghdad International Airport Issued by: National Investment Commission (NIC); Prime Minister's order | Baghdad | Near Baghdad International Airport | 10,600 acres | Not stated | Not stated | Withdrawn 1 March 2023 | 1 March 2023 (IBN): the Prime Minister 'stopped the granting of investment licenses for the Al Rafeel City project until inventory, inspection, survey, and land identification actions are completed'; NIC chairman Haider… Read the restMakiya to head a committee studying existing projects. Status: suspension of licensing by the PM (not a finding of wrongdoing). | Not charged as of the date of writing | iraq-businessnews.com[1][2] |
Page 1 of 4