People & Institutions
Owners and managers of the banks
This register lists the chairmen, vice-chairmen, managing directors, board members and shareholders of the banks that could buy dollars at the Central Bank's window, the daily sale at which the Central Bank of Iraq sells dollars to banks. The names come from the pages of the Iraq Securities Commission, from the Central Bank of Iraq's lists of banks, from the banks' own reports and websites, and from press reports. The action that regulators took against a bank is shown under the bank's name. It is not the legal status of the person.
Showing entries 1 to 50 of 616.
| Name | Role | Share | As of | Legal status | Sources |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
Al-Huda Bankمصرف الهدى Regulatory measures against the bank: Subject to a FinCEN Section 311 special measure (2024); its owner was designated by OFAC; barred from dollar dealing by the Central Bank (January 2024) | |||||
| Chairman | Not stated | Not stated | Under sanctions | U.S. Department of the TreasuryFinCEN / Federal RegisterOCCRPCentral Bank of Iraq[1][2] | |
| Reported beneficial owner US Treasury 29 January 2024 | Not stated | Not stated | Under sanctions | U.S. Department of the TreasuryFinCEN / Federal RegisterOCCRPCentral Bank of Iraq[1][2] | |
Investment Bank of Iraqمصرف الاستثمار العراقي Regulatory measures against the bank: Barred from dollar dealing by the Central Bank (January 2024); named in July 2026 among banks allowed back into non-dollar business (reported) | |||||
| Chairman | Not stated | Not stated | Not charged as of the date of writing | Iraq Stock ExchangeIraq Securities CommissionCentral Bank of Iraq[1][2] | |
| Shareholder | 10% | Not stated | Not charged as of the date of writing | Iraq Stock ExchangeIraq Securities CommissionCentral Bank of Iraq[1][2] | |
| Shareholder | 10% | Not stated | Not charged as of the date of writing | Iraq Stock ExchangeIraq Securities CommissionCentral Bank of Iraq[1][2] | |
Sumer Commercial Bankمصرف سومر التجاري Regulatory measures against the bank: Barred from dollar dealing by the Central Bank (July 2023) | |||||
| Chairman | Not stated | Not stated | Not charged as of the date of writing | Iraq Stock ExchangeIraq Securities CommissionCentral Bank of Iraq[1][2] | |
Erbil Bank for Investment & Financeمصرف أربيل للاستثمار والتمويل Regulatory measures against the bank: Barred from dollar dealing by the Central Bank (July 2023) | |||||
| Chairman | Not stated | Not stated | Not charged as of the date of writing | Iraq Stock ExchangeIraq Securities CommissionCentral Bank of Iraq[1][2] | |
| Shareholder | 10% | Not stated | Not charged as of the date of writing | Iraq Stock ExchangeIraq Securities CommissionCentral Bank of Iraq[1][2] | |
National Islamic Bankالمصرف الوطني الإسلامي Regulatory measures against the bank: No sanction, ban or fine recorded as of the date of writing | |||||
| Chairman | Not stated | Not stated | Not charged as of the date of writing | Iraq Stock ExchangeIraq Securities CommissionCentral Bank of Iraq[1][2] | |
| Shareholder | 10% | Not stated | Not charged as of the date of writing | Iraq Stock ExchangeIraq Securities CommissionCentral Bank of Iraq[1][2] | |
International Development Bank for Investment & Financeمصرف التنمية الدولي للاستثمار والتمويل Regulatory measures against the bank: Restricted from dollar dealing by the Central Bank (reported, September 2025); named in July 2026 among banks allowed back into non-dollar business (reported) | |||||
| Chairman | Not stated | Not stated | Not charged as of the date of writing | The Arab WeeklyIraq Stock ExchangeIraq Securities CommissionCentral Bank of Iraq[1][2] | |
| Shareholder | 33% | Not stated | Not charged as of the date of writing | The Arab WeeklyIraq Stock ExchangeIraq Securities CommissionCentral Bank of Iraq[1][2] | |
Gulf Commercial Bankمصرف الخليج التجاري Regulatory measures against the bank: No sanction, ban or fine recorded as of the date of writing | |||||
| Chairman | Not stated | Not stated | Not charged as of the date of writing | Iraq Stock ExchangeIraq Securities CommissionCentral Bank of Iraq[1][2] | |
Iraqi Middle East Investment Bankمصرف الشرق الأوسط العراقي للاستثمار Regulatory measures against the bank: Barred from dollar dealing by the Central Bank (November 2022) | |||||
| Chairman | Not stated | Not stated | Not charged as of the date of writing | Iraq Stock ExchangeIraq Securities CommissionIran Watch (Wisconsin Project) summarising the Wall Street JournalThe NationalCentral Bank of Iraq[1][2]Shafaq NewsIraqi Middle East Investment Bank | |
مصرف القابض الاسلامي للتمويل والاستثمار(company) | Shareholder | 25.73% | Not stated | Not charged as of the date of writing | Iraq Stock ExchangeIraq Securities CommissionIran Watch (Wisconsin Project) summarising the Wall Street JournalThe NationalCentral Bank of Iraq[1][2]Shafaq NewsIraqi Middle East Investment Bank |
مصرف الانصاري الاسلامي للإستثمار والتمويل(company) | Shareholder | 25.73% | Not stated | Not charged as of the date of writing | Iraq Stock ExchangeIraq Securities CommissionIran Watch (Wisconsin Project) summarising the Wall Street JournalThe NationalCentral Bank of Iraq[1][2]Shafaq NewsIraqi Middle East Investment Bank |
مجيد حميد علي الحافظ | Shareholder | 4.35% | Not stated | Not charged as of the date of writing | Iraq Stock ExchangeIraq Securities CommissionIran Watch (Wisconsin Project) summarising the Wall Street JournalThe NationalCentral Bank of Iraq[1][2]Shafaq NewsIraqi Middle East Investment Bank |
ابراهيم محمد محمد خليل المزلاوي | Shareholder | 3.0% | Not stated | Not charged as of the date of writing | Iraq Stock ExchangeIraq Securities CommissionIran Watch (Wisconsin Project) summarising the Wall Street JournalThe NationalCentral Bank of Iraq[1][2]Shafaq NewsIraqi Middle East Investment Bank |
هاني حميد علي الحافظ | Shareholder | 2.05% | Not stated | Not charged as of the date of writing | Iraq Stock ExchangeIraq Securities CommissionIran Watch (Wisconsin Project) summarising the Wall Street JournalThe NationalCentral Bank of Iraq[1][2]Shafaq NewsIraqi Middle East Investment Bank |
شركة مصرف عبر العراق للإستثمار(company) | Shareholder | 1.98% | Not stated | Not charged as of the date of writing | Iraq Stock ExchangeIraq Securities CommissionIran Watch (Wisconsin Project) summarising the Wall Street JournalThe NationalCentral Bank of Iraq[1][2]Shafaq NewsIraqi Middle East Investment Bank |
وليد حميد علي الحافظ | Shareholder | 1.71% | Not stated | Not charged as of the date of writing | Iraq Stock ExchangeIraq Securities CommissionIran Watch (Wisconsin Project) summarising the Wall Street JournalThe NationalCentral Bank of Iraq[1][2]Shafaq NewsIraqi Middle East Investment Bank |
عباس علي ناجي الربيعي | Shareholder | 1.45% | Not stated | Not charged as of the date of writing | Iraq Stock ExchangeIraq Securities CommissionIran Watch (Wisconsin Project) summarising the Wall Street JournalThe NationalCentral Bank of Iraq[1][2]Shafaq NewsIraqi Middle East Investment Bank |
اكرم فرج هرمز كريم | Shareholder | 1.16% | Not stated | Not charged as of the date of writing | Iraq Stock ExchangeIraq Securities CommissionIran Watch (Wisconsin Project) summarising the Wall Street JournalThe NationalCentral Bank of Iraq[1][2]Shafaq NewsIraqi Middle East Investment Bank |
| Reported beneficial owner The National (5 December 2025); WSJ 8 September 2024 via Iran Watch; Shafaq 19 November 2022 ("director of three banks") | Not stated | Not stated | Under sanctions | Iraq Stock ExchangeIraq Securities CommissionIran Watch (Wisconsin Project) summarising the Wall Street JournalThe NationalCentral Bank of Iraq[1][2]Shafaq NewsIraqi Middle East Investment Bank | |
Ashur International Bank for Investmentمصرف آشور الدولي للاستثمار Regulatory measures against the bank: Barred from dollar dealing by the Central Bank (January 2024) | |||||
| Chairman | Not stated | Not stated | Not charged as of the date of writing | Iraq Stock ExchangeIraq Securities CommissionCentral Bank of Iraq[1][2] | |
شركة مصرف الرافدين(company) | Shareholder | 13% | Not stated | Not charged as of the date of writing | Iraq Stock ExchangeIraq Securities CommissionCentral Bank of Iraq[1][2] |
Region Trade Bank for Investment & Finance (formerly Emerald Bank)مصرف تجارة الإقليم للاستثمار والتمويل Regulatory measures against the bank: No sanction, ban or fine recorded as of the date of writing | |||||
| Chairman | Not stated | Not stated | Not charged as of the date of writing | Iraq Stock ExchangeIraq Securities CommissionCentral Bank of Iraq[1][2]Rudaw | |
Trans Iraq Bank for Investmentمصرف عبر العراق للاستثمار والتمويل Regulatory measures against the bank: Barred from dollar dealing by the Central Bank (July 2023) | |||||
| Chairman | Not stated | Not stated | Not charged as of the date of writing | Iraq Stock ExchangeIraq Securities CommissionCentral Bank of Iraq[1][2] | |
Cihan Bank for Islamic Investment & Financeمصرف جيهان للاستثمار والتمويل الإسلامي Regulatory measures against the bank: No sanction, ban or fine recorded as of the date of writing | |||||
| Chairman | Not stated | Not stated | Not charged as of the date of writing | Iraq Stock ExchangeIraq Securities CommissionCentral Bank of Iraq[1][2] | |
| Shareholder | 10% | Not stated | Not charged as of the date of writing | Iraq Stock ExchangeIraq Securities CommissionCentral Bank of Iraq[1][2] | |
Iraqi Islamic Bank for Investment & Developmentالمصرف العراقي الإسلامي للاستثمار والتنمية Regulatory measures against the bank: No sanction, ban or fine recorded as of the date of writing | |||||
| Chairman | Not stated | Not stated | Not charged as of the date of writing | Iraq Stock ExchangeIraq Securities CommissionCentral Bank of Iraq[1][2] | |
| Shareholder | 10% | Not stated | Not charged as of the date of writing | Iraq Stock ExchangeIraq Securities CommissionCentral Bank of Iraq[1][2] | |
شركة بنك الصفوة الاسلامي(company) | Shareholder | 10% | Not stated | Not charged as of the date of writing | Iraq Stock ExchangeIraq Securities CommissionCentral Bank of Iraq[1][2] |
United Bank for Investmentالمصرف المتحد للاستثمار Regulatory measures against the bank: Reported barred from dollar dealing (February 2025); the Central Bank denied it and no document confirms it | |||||
هيثم جاسم محمد، خيري محمد بندر | Chairman | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated | Iraq Stock ExchangeIraq Securities CommissionOCCRPCentral Bank of Iraq[1][2] |
Al-Bilad Islamic Bank for Investment & Financeمصرف البلاد الإسلامي للاستثمار والتمويل Legal status of the bank: Under sanctions Regulatory measures against the bank: Barred from dollar dealing by the Central Bank (May 2018) | |||||
| Chairman | Not stated | Not stated | Not charged as of the date of writing | U.S. Department of the TreasuryIraq Stock ExchangeIraq Securities CommissionCentral Bank of Iraq[1][2] | |
| Shareholder | 10% | Not stated | Not charged as of the date of writing | U.S. Department of the TreasuryIraq Stock ExchangeIraq Securities CommissionCentral Bank of Iraq[1][2] | |
| Reported beneficial owner OFAC 15 May 2018 | Not stated | Not stated | Under sanctions | U.S. Department of the TreasuryIraq Stock ExchangeIraq Securities CommissionCentral Bank of Iraq[1][2] | |
North Bank for Finance & Investmentمصرف الشمال للتمويل والاستثمار Regulatory measures against the bank: Under Central Bank guardianship | |||||
| Shareholder | 10% | Not stated | Not charged as of the date of writing | Iraq Stock ExchangeIraq Securities CommissionCentral Bank of Iraq[1][2] | |
Union Bank of Iraqمصرف اتحاد العراق Regulatory measures against the bank: Barred from dollar dealing by the Central Bank (January 2024) | |||||
| Chairman | Not stated | Not stated | Not charged as of the date of writing | U.S. Department of the TreasuryThe Arab WeeklyIraq Stock ExchangeIraq Securities CommissionInfoPlusCentral Bank of Iraq[1][2] | |
| Shareholder | 13% | Not stated | Under sanctions | U.S. Department of the TreasuryThe Arab WeeklyIraq Stock ExchangeIraq Securities CommissionInfoPlusCentral Bank of Iraq[1][2] | |
| Shareholder | 13% | Not stated | Not charged as of the date of writing | U.S. Department of the TreasuryThe Arab WeeklyIraq Stock ExchangeIraq Securities CommissionInfoPlusCentral Bank of Iraq[1][2] | |
Kurdistan International Islamic Bankالمصرف الدولي الإسلامي الكردستاني للاستثمار والتنمية Regulatory measures against the bank: Barred from dollar dealing by the Central Bank (January 2024); named in July 2026 among banks allowed back into non-dollar business (reported) | |||||
| Chairman | Not stated | Not stated | Not charged as of the date of writing | Iraq Stock ExchangeIraq Securities CommissionCentral Bank of Iraq[1][2] | |
| Shareholder | 15% | Not stated | Not charged as of the date of writing | Iraq Stock ExchangeIraq Securities CommissionCentral Bank of Iraq[1][2] | |
National Bank of Iraqالمصرف الأهلي العراقي Regulatory measures against the bank: No sanction, ban or fine recorded as of the date of writing | |||||
| Chairman | Not stated | Not stated | Not charged as of the date of writing | Iraq Stock ExchangeIraq Securities CommissionCentral Bank of Iraq[1][2]Al Rabiaa TV | |
شركة بنك المال الاردني(company) | Shareholder | 62% | Not stated | Not charged as of the date of writing | Iraq Stock ExchangeIraq Securities CommissionCentral Bank of Iraq[1][2]Al Rabiaa TV |
Elaf Islamic Bankمصرف إيلاف الإسلامي Regulatory measures against the bank: Barred from dollar dealing by the Central Bank (July 2023); earlier US Treasury sanction (July 2012, lifted May 2013) | |||||
| Chairman | Not stated | Not stated | Not charged as of the date of writing | The Arab WeeklyIraq Stock ExchangeIraq Securities CommissionCentral Bank of Iraq[1][2] | |
Mosul Bank for Development & Investmentمصرف الموصل للتنمية والاستثمار Regulatory measures against the bank: Barred from dollar dealing by the Central Bank (July 2023); named in July 2026 among banks allowed back into non-dollar business (reported) | |||||
| Chairman | Not stated | Not stated | Not charged as of the date of writing | Iraq Stock ExchangeIraq Securities CommissionCentral Bank of Iraq[1][2] | |
| Shareholder | 10% | Not stated | Not charged as of the date of writing | Iraq Stock ExchangeIraq Securities CommissionCentral Bank of Iraq[1][2] | |
Babylon Bankمصرف بابل Regulatory measures against the bank: Barred from dollar dealing by the Central Bank (December 2020); in liquidation (Central Bank list) | |||||
شركة الباتك للتامين واعادة التامين(company) | Chairman | Not stated | Not stated | Not charged as of the date of writing | Iraq Stock ExchangeIraq Securities CommissionCentral Bank of Iraq[1][2] |
Economy Bank for Investment & Financeمصرف الاقتصاد للاستثمار والتمويل Regulatory measures against the bank: No sanction, ban or fine recorded as of the date of writing | |||||
| Chairman | Not stated | Not stated | Not charged as of the date of writing | Iraq Stock ExchangeIraq Securities CommissionCentral Bank of Iraq[1][2] | |
Page 1 of 13